Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle The Grand Tour Prize Draw Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
33
4.7 out of 5 stars
Sing-A-Longs & Lullabies For The Film Curious George
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£18.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 2 August 2017
Well worth it - happy and mellow, referred to as 'monkey music' by our little Curious George fan.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 May 2017
We all love this as a family!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 June 2006
I have been a Jack Johnson fan since he released Brushfire Fairytales, and so when I learnt that he was releasing a movie soundtrack I was intrigued. Johnson has made films before; he is well-regarded among surfers for his iconic film "Thicker than Water". I was assuming that the soundtrack would be for a surfing film or some such - I was therefore surprised to learn that it was for a children's film.

However, I was certainly not disappointed. For those of you unfamiliar with Johnson's work, he plays (usually) acoustic guitar with a strong blues-y baseline and simple rhythms. There is good variation in his work; it ranges from great happy summer tunes that are perfect to listen to whilst chilling on the beach; to wonderful blues; to soul searching ballads. His lyrics are fantastic and full of meaning, with plenty to relate to.

This album is wonderful. The first track, "Upside Down" is really uplifting and enjoyable to listen to. There is a great mix between "adult songs" and "children's songs", so there is something for everyone. The children's songs are great fun to listen to and will be loved by kids of all ages and the rest of the songs are Jack on the top of his form.

For those disappointed by the heavier, faster style of In Between Dreams, you will be pleased to know that Johnson makes a return to his more acoustic and blues-y past in a number of songs on this album, with the penultimate song, "Supposed To Be" One of the best on the album and one of the best of his career. You will find yourself addicted to the simple yet excellent piano in it.

I have not seen the film and I have no idea how the soundtrack works in context to it, but I can tell you that this is a great CD to buy whether you are a Jack fan or not, and you will not find yourself disappointed.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2017
Bought for son. he was very happy with it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2006
Ide never heard of Jack Johnnson until my hubby told me to buy his yellow cd which was actually the In Between Dreams one, and I bought this one instead it is brilliant. I had no idea it was songs from a childrens film, but does explain why my 8 year old son loves it so much, we play it over and over again, and the lyrics are fantastic. I have gone on to buy his other cd's as well and love them all.
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 March 2006
Ive been a fan of Jack's Music for a few years now and im constantly amused and inspired by his lyrical stylings. Through his label Brushire Records the folk/rock market has never been so vibrant producing excellent artists such as ALO and Donovan Frankenreiter to name but a few.
This album shows yet another facet to his songwriting capabilities; produced originally for his son and children who are fans of the Curious George cartoon I can safely say that there are gonna be scores of adults who cant remove this album from their CD player. unashamedly i count myself in this category.
This album uses collaborations a lot more than previous JJ albums but it is to good effect. G-Love and Matt Costa make excellent contributions to a very viable record. The outstanding tracks for me are "broken" and "wrong turn"...but again every track deserves some time and im sure this will prove to be an excellent taster for forthcominng albums.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 27 June 2006
I bought this disc on the strength of the single, Upside Down, which is a perfect way to start the album. The album is an upbeat, summery musical treat. Largely aimed at children due to the film it's been recorded for, the songs have real integrity that music lovers of any age can appreciate. The superb artwork that accompanies the disc makes the whole album a joy to behold.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2006
I think people who have given this album a bad review, dont realize that this album is intended for children. It's a soundtrack to play in your car or at home for the little ones. I really really love it, it's playful and fun and also educational.
Brushfire Fairytales will also reign supreme as Jack's best album, this album is really rather good. The songs get stuck in your head, esp. 3 R's which at the beginning was quite annoying is now rather hum-worthy.
If you love Jack and his awesome music, this is really worth it. Anything by Jack is worth buying. Go out and buy it!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 February 2006
This CD is a MUST for all parents and teachers! It has fabulous poetic lessons put to the most gorgeous Jack Johnson music.
It won't drive you mad like some kids music does - in fact you'll beg your kids to play it over and over and over and over again and again and again and again!
THANK YOU JACK JOHNSON!!
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 May 2006
It doesn't matter if you have kids or not - the songs are catchy and well-crafted to appeal to adults too ! From the new single "Upside Down" to "Three R's" there's enough here for devotees and new converts alike - our kids can't wait to see the film when released.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

To The Sea
£19.30

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)