Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
290
4.3 out of 5 stars
Price:£10.39+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 10 August 2010
Massive fan of the series, MGS1 and MGS3 are masterpieces. A fantastic end to a fantastic story? Absolutely. A fantastic end to a fantastic series of GAMES? Not so much. Gameplaywise it can be fun, the sneaking elements are spot on. Combat is a little clunky it seems to me, and CQC (which the game makes a big deal of) is pretty atrocious, I just couldn't get the hang of it. I'm only giving it 3 stars because its so much up its own arse, and it thinks of itself as being some poignant demonstration of superior story telling, which it isn't. Cut scenes last too long, and don't justify their length. Mission briefings are coma inducing and really break up the action too much.

I will say that the 4 beauty and the beast boss fights are some of the greatest gaming moments I can think of. And watching Raiden kick ass while you get microwaved to cinder is remarkably awesome. Metal Gear Ray vs Metal Gear Rex is pretty cool too. But all these memorable moments, don't disguise the ridiculous waiting around you have to do before you can pick up the controller again.

Only buy this game is you are a fan of the series, if you're not I wouldn't bother.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 December 2015
Really good!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 June 2008
i have been waiting for a game to really boast about to my xbox friends

i am happy to say that this game truly delivers this.

three people i know are now buying ps3's just for this game!!!
it is withought doubt; truly sensational

graphics, gameplay, enjoyment all superb

but i will admit i did have to go and make myself some nachos to get through the 90 minnute ending cutscene; which will entertain many mgs fans

overall even if it isnt your sort of game,(it wasnt mine at first) you should be sorry to say you own a ps3 but not this game!

*****
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 June 2008
seriously people, this is the the best computing experience your likley to encounter for the next 5 yrs. well worth the cash. do not read negitive reviews, they are written buy retards who who turn there ps3 on once every six months. this is a must have and you will be missing out if dont.
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 July 2008
First off as a ps3 exclusive you really cant go wrong anyway. Having finished the game Id just like to say that if you are having any doubts about buying this game you should get rid of them right now!
Graphics 5 star
game play 5 star
You really cant fault it. The landscape is breathtaking and the game play is and the gameplay is amazing what with the octocamo for stealth purposes as well as the close quarters combat. I did finish fairly quickly in a week but you can keep replaying as their different routes and hidden objects to find, the items you recover first time around also roll over to the next time. The cut scenes can at times drag on but if you are following the story they tie up all the loose ends.
I havent played much of the online but from what i have and the exandability with new maps, weapons etc. I can say it will provide entertainment for a long time.
All in all an amazing game that is definetly a must buy to play as snake for the last time!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 June 2008
So many people will complain about the cutscenes and the fact that it feels almost like an interactive movie rather than a game, but you should know your going to get that with any metal gear game. Yet the cutscenes have movie style excitment, interactivity and oppotunities for flashbacks, AND anyway you can skip any cut scene you want, so WHY the hell complain?

I have never played a story mode that after completing it, i started playing through again straight after. Since there is so many items, weapons and camos to unlock it will have you coming back many times. The incredible graphics, smooth controls and overall brilliantly fun gameplay this is without a doubt the best game i have ever played. Of course it really does help to know most of the story beforehand as i can imagine it would be very confusing to sit through. Yet the story is immersive with twists and shocks, and tops it off with the best ending EVER.

A perfect way to end a magical series.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 August 2015
Great game
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 August 2014
Great game
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2013
I won't lose any time reviewing a game that's been out for quite a while; everyone knows how complete and fulfilling it is.
As said in the title, I was baffled by the case, as it was the Essentials version, not quite the one I was looking for, but to be honest, I can't afford to send it back, that's the only reason I didn't give this product 5 stars, and it's something for the seller to consider.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 May 2009
Like i said this is and might even be the best PS3 game at the moment.
I have not played Metal Gear for a long time so was thing that i have lost touch in the game but i was wrong lol.
The game play is still very good and the graphics oh the graphics is the best. The only downer side to the game but in some way good is that there is to much cut-scene and some times very long like 10+ minutes and there is so much talking at times. I have also got a xbox 360 and any time i play a game one of my main aims is to complete the game and also get achievement points that is what would make me replay the game soon after i complete it but there is no trophy so it put me of a lil to re-play it for some time but apart from that this is the best movie i have played and i said movie because it is JUST LIKE A MOVIE!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See one answered question


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)