Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle New Album - Pink Shop now Shop Now



on 31 May 2016
I am a fan of Vincent Cassel. Not a bad story plot but - flash back confusing, all over the place. Make up from flashback laughable. Some production and architectural designs are interesting, but the apartment itself so obviously stuido setting - unreal. I ran out of patience in the last half hour, just want it to end. The ending? what a load of X@*&#!! This film is very out of date, in particular with its moral value.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 December 2009
You do not need to be French to appreciate this beautiful film which will keep you on the edge of your seat with suspense. You will witness a wonderful performance by Vincent Cassel, long before his mesmerising, commanding and Oscar winning performance in Mesrine.

The plot focuses around Max (Cassel), who misses his business trip to Tokyo and embarks on a search for his ex girlfriend Lisa, played by his real life wife Moinca Bellucci, after over hearing a conversation and assuming that it was Lisa. From then on the scene is set, while Max goes in search for Lisa, will he find her or not?

A wonderful film, with great performances from all the actors involved. So if you are tired of all the crap coming from America, then you deserve to watch this heart-warming film.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 June 2007
Don't be put off by previous reviews that the movie is sleep inducing - the guy probably was tired or bored with life. This is a beautiful, sweeping movie about coincidences in life (a bit like in Sliding Doors) and how they affect people's lives. It's about love, passion, jealousy and set in Paris - beautifully acted by Bellucci and Bohringer (it helps if you speak French so you understand their acting better) with a beautiful haunting soundtrack. Although it's not always easy to follow, it's actually good that some films make you use your brain. For those who haven't got one, just go back to sleep.
11 Comment| 100 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 December 2015
The picture quality of this DVD makes it look like VHS. Images are blurry. There is no intensity of colour. And at times the colour fluctuates badly across a shot. L'appartement is a hugely visual film and this DVD does it no justice whatsoever.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2012
A story about misunderstandings and lost opportunities, the movie is presented in different time frames and packaged into a taut storyline. Engaging from the start to the end, the film stays in the mind long after it is finished. Gorgeous set design, and the actors aren't hard to look at either.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2015
Bizarrely-engrossing, Hitchcock-influenced sort of thriller about romantic obsession and its consequences for those willingly trapped within its limitations. You find yourself compelled to watch even though it is hard to know what is going on in the first half. The film wilfully manoeuvres itself from first- to third-person – quite skilfully – and just when you thought you have got it, throws a googly at you.

A movie about sexual stereotyping, sexual obsession and a critique of the inability of many men to see women as individuals - and of not letting go of the past when sexual relationships end. Nevertheless the female characters come across very well here and are ultimately partners in romantic crime.

Fascinating, but confusing, tale of a man who cannot stop chasing women and settle down with one.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2013
Good film with a good story line. Has lots of twists and turns in it.

Good value for money and would recommend to a friend
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2008
This is quite simply wonderful.

Suspend your disbelief for a couple of hours, transport yourself back a few years to a simpler time before we lived in age of mobile phones, email, blackberries and instant communication, and enjoy.

A must for anyone who enjoys beautiful camera work, audacious plots, Paris and Hitchcock. And watching Cassel and Bellcui slowly falling in love in real life as well as in the film adds to its undeniable style and glamour.

I've probably seen better, worthier films, but this remains my favourite all time movie. It may have its faults (although I've never found any), but it certainly isn't boring.

I have persuaded many people to watch this film, several of whom usually eschew subtitles. At the very least, all of them have enjoyed it and most of them have actually ended up buying it.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 June 2015
Arrived on time, perfect condition. Now film- yes sexy, yes stylish, yet it wasn't believable enough for me, the story background wasn't developed sufficiently to make it a great film. Also, I couldn't help thinking about couple of rather similar rom-coms I've seen before. I'm afraid French connection didn't happen for me this time round.:)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 October 2015
One of my favourite films of all time. It seems it will remain the director's only work, but if you're only to make one film, then it may as well be a masterpiece. Incorporating the dream-like atmosphere of Hitchcock's Vertigo, it feels very original and very French. It's the sort of film that will always haunt you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Malena [DVD]
£5.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)