Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
28
You See Colours
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£8.93+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


VINE VOICEon 15 November 2007
The stark a cappela vocal "To the bitter end..." at the beginning of You and Me comes as a surprise, even if the falsetto does not. Then the violins kick in and you know you're in a Delays album.

The pace continues with the stomping Valentine, before settling into a synth/guitar driven album full of soaring melodies, sweeping harmonies and toe tapping melodies.

This is a mature follow up to Faded Seaside Glamour, and dismisses the "difficult second album" tag within the first 2 minutes.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 February 2006
This is my first ever review, but if an album deserved it this is it. So many albums nowadays have a few memorable songs, some seem to get away with one hit single, but this is different. It's packed with powerful upbeat foot tapping tunes and yes it is different to Faded Seaside Glamour, but these guys have upped their game in a big way. Sod the Arctic Monkeys, this is the album everyone should be raving about. Every instrument plays a part on this album and in my opinion there are so few flatspots as to be inconsequential. Don't look for ballads either, Waste of Space is the closest there is! Buy it, play it loud...
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 31 May 2002
Del Amitri have put their classic hits from Change Everything onto video. This is short, but worth watching. With classic hits such as 'Always the last to know' and 'just like a man,' you can sit watching and reminising about lost love and mis-spent youth. This video is a good reminder of the music we all know and love.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 January 2014
Excelent CD only bought it after hearing the single Hideaway on my sons ipod while tidying up the garden and the rest of the songs were just as good.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 March 2016
great thanks
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 March 2006
Having completely surrendered to their superb debut album "Faded Seaside Glamour" after a friend played it to me, I have been looking forward to this CD for months...
From the beautiful, upbeat and yet mellow first track "You & Me" this band never disappoints - how do they manage to make such unique music (which sounds like no-one else), and yet keep it so commercial?!
Highlights are "Valentine", "You & Me" and "Waste of Space" but the album as a whole is consistently listenable...for a relatively 'new' band who are still pretty young, they have the world at their feet now their first two albums are available for the world to hear.
The only question is - how do they keep up with the impossibly high quality standards they've set themselves to date?!!! I've no doubt that somehow they'll manage it ;-)
Buy with complete confidence and enjoy...
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 March 2006
I've always liked Delays after hearing their great debut single 'nearer than heaven' which sounded suitably euphoric and blended pop with reminders of Cocteau Twins, Geneva, and Lush. Debut LP 'Faded Seaside Glamour' offered up a mixed selection of divine alt-pop - the jingly/jangly joys of 'Hey Girl', the 'Seventeen Seconds'-sounding 'Bedroom Scene', the advert jingle 'Long Time Coming', the Cocteau Twins gone dub 'Wanderlust' and the Charlatans-sounding 'On.' It was a pleasant alternative to the majority of indie/alt dullards dominating the scene at the time.
Following the one-off single 'Lost in a Melody', a more electronic direction has been pursued - primary single 'Valentine' showcases this approach, feeling quite Moroder/New Order (& reminding me of the early work of Associates and lost bands AR Kane & No Man). Greg Gilbert's vocals are certainly becoming stronger, reminding me of future cult god Billy Mackenzie and the songwriting partnership of the Gilbert brothers has developed - blending the ethereal and the electronic.
'This Town's Religion' is slightly harder and isn't that far from The Cure musically (certainly a lot more exciting than the anodyne Placebo)- while 'Disintegration'-style keyboards add to 'Winter's Memory of Summer', which would make a fantastic single and would fit in wonderfully on Geneva's classic debut LP 'Further' (I also thought of the Sundays debut, which means this isn't that far from the likes of The Like...). 'Too Much In Your Life' almost has a glam-beat like Magazine's 'The Light Pours Out of Me' (re-record/remix for a single...) before drifting off into the dream rock stratosphere - which makes me realise that Delays aren't that far from exponents of the second wave of Shoegazing: Jeniferever, Engineers, Sigur Ros etc. Though they have tunes and like pop too - seeming to have tapped into the parts of the 80s that people forget about on list-programmes and related post-millennial lazy TV...
'Hideaway' (...another classic single?...)has another drumbeat that recalls glam, fitting in alongside Belle & Sebastian's 'White Collar Boy', while 'Lillian' offers up territory not that far from Depeche Mode or Goldfrapp - hopefully directions the band will pursue other than the Byrds-LAs-jingly jangle angle.
'You See Colours' is a fine follow-up to Delays' fine debut - hopefully the third album will be the real masterpiece they were building to all along. A record and a band that don't really deserve the hard time they get - I always think folks who don't like the high vocals seem a bit insecure in the same way that Antony & the Johnstons seem to irk some. 'You See Colours' will start to sound even better now that spring is here, and like Delays' earlier work, these pop-songs sound like falling in love, or being far away from home. & look, a band who aren't a tribute act to Blur circa 1994 (Kaiser Chiefs), which has to be a great thing?
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 March 2006
Southampton's Delays hit the ground running in 2004 with their easy listening,sixties-pop jangle of a debut album...i wasnt very impressed, the only interesting thing was the angelic voice of Greg Gilbert and the lush harmonies.
Leap foward to 2006 and its like the lazy debut never happened....WICKED!.
Basing their sound around funky basslines,clipped guitars and sequencers, this is a bolder,brasher but still harmonius effort from the lads. The pace never lets up as a a primal scream of anguish from Gilbert pours out over the music, nothing too gloomy mind you,just a sense of fustration,small town living,lost love and noughties angst.
Whether this will set the vapid charts of 2006 alight or not isnt that important to me, good music is good music and Delays have created a great second album. The strings on "You and Me" are heavenly too, the sound bright and breezy but then the minor notes creep in and then the drums and guitar flood through the speakers and it gets better still after that!!.
Well worth investing in some Hampshire Highs.....and Lows...
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 April 2007
This album sounds like summertime. Carefree summertime. Rarer and rarer.

"You And Me" sounds like a dreamy peice of English pop music which charges along at pace with charm... and what a startling sounding voice.

"This Town's Religion" is a bit more jarring but comes good.

The standout on here is the near-perfect "Hideaway". Should have been number one all summer 2006.

Overlooked probably. A solid album containing treasures.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 February 2008
For whatever reason I kept putting off buying this album although I throughly enjoyed their first album Faded Seaside Glamour. Well if anyone out there is reading this in my prior situation, DON'T DELAY! This is a quality follow up album (no tricky second album problems here..)it more than matches the first. There a real talent these boy's and deserve far more recognition! The album start very strong the first 3 songs get right under your skin from the first listen and then there are the delights of Winter's Memory of Summer, Hideaway etc to come. It's good stuff, go buy if your tempted at the prices on Amazon, you really won't be let down with this.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)