Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 January 2007
For years I've looked for these films and then they come all at once! Not only are they outstanding musicals but an outstanding transfer - and you get bucketloads of extras!

The films are: 42nd Street, Gold Diggers of 1933, Dames, Gold Diggers of 1935, and Footlight Parade, all with extras. There's also a sixth DVD about Busby Berkley including highlights of his films, those here and also Fashions of 1934, Wonder Bar, In Caliente, and Gold Diggers of 1937!

Of course you'll need a Region 1 DVD player and a TV that can handle US TV format (NTSC) but with these films now on DVD, go and buy one!
0Comment| 64 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 May 2009
I always wanted to get copies of '42nd Street, 'Gold Diggers of 1933' & '1935', and then they all arrive together.

Lullaby of Broadway in 'Gold Diggers of 1935' still remains possibly the most impressive mass dance number ever seen on film.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2008
I've been looking for these films for years, they are just so wonderful, just the thing to O.D. on when you've had a hard day at work !
Escapism Rules !
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 June 2013
Refused to pay £12.40 odd to get it delivered , hadn't been made clear to me on ordering that £8 customs charge and £4 odd post office handling charge so would have made it toooooo expensive for what I wanted.
Looked in very small print in terms to find customs costs, would not have bothered if had this clearly pointed out before order
No doubt the dvds would have been fun but I am not that interested at that cost
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 January 2010
It is fantastic to see these old films again, particularly as the picture quality is so good. The sharpness and detail on some of them is amazing, especially as they are over 75 years old!! I especially enjoyed the compillation disc of some of the best musical numbers.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 November 2009
if your going to buy any busby berkely dvd's then this boxed set is the one to get.some of his best movies are in here and the bonus cd is almost worth the price alone as it shows most of his famous dance sequences (incl some from movies still hard to get) one after another (which is great in the background at parties with the volume off and your own music playing!!!)
.....nb although this is a zone 1 if you dont have a multi regional player there ARE sites on the internet that show you how to convert very easily.funnily enough the cheaper the dvd player the easier to do
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2016
Good-time musical extravaganzas from the hey-days of hollywood musicals. Can't but make you smile.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2015
thank you for your quick delivery and I loved the contents....juneanddon@iinet.net.au
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 October 2015
If Busby Berkeley had been in charge, the War would have been over in 1944
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 June 2015
Just as I remember
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)