Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
74
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£8.12+ £1.26 shipping


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 February 2006
In the early days Neil Diamond wrote certifiable pop/rock classics such as Cherry Cherry, Girl You'll Be a Woman Soon, I'm a Believer and Solitary Man. Unfortunately, as his success grew in the seventies, so did the production values on his records and the quality of the writing (still there for those who cared to see and hear) became lost in the syrup in which they were immersed by unsympathetic producers.
Now, Neil has finally turned again to a producer who understands the craft, Rick Rubin. These songs have, for the most part, minimal production interference. The songs and the voice are front and centre. They are masterful
Oh Mary is as beautiful a ballad as one could ever hear, with Diamond's inimitable baritone coating it in velvet. Evermore is powerful and emotionally draining. Man of God is inspirational.
Hell Yeah is Diamond's affirmation of a life well lived. Face Me is soul destroyingly painful. Create Me is almost hymn like. Delirious Love is evocative of the best of Diamond's 'thumping' uptempo songs.
I'm On to You is jazzy and a perfect kiss off song. Save Me a Saturday Night and Captain of a Shipwreck are wonderful love songs. What's it Gonna Be is a confident seduction. We is funny and simple and unbelievably catchy and Men are So Easy is an effective plea for understanding.
A mature, thoughtful, intelligent Diamond has delivered, along with Rubin, one of the records of this or any other year.
0Comment| 36 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 February 2006
Once in a very blue moon I will encounter an album that is pretty near perfect, with every single track a winner. This latest offering from Neil Diamond certainly hits that spot full on.
I've always had mixed feelings about this guy, occasionally squirming at his more MOR offerings and at other times being blown away by the beauty of some his more lyrical songs such as "Stones" and "I am I said" This album is quite simply packed with songs composed and performed from the heart, with a exquisite maturity of voice that is unmistakably Diamond, but a Diamond that has seen life - all the blood, sweat and tears of it.
The only tiny fly in the ointment is the fact that the track with the chorus line "Love is all about we" has my 2 children in stitches as they hear it as "love is all about wee" - an unfortunate choice of lyric!
Apart from that...
Tremendous songs, tremendous production . A winner. Buy it.
0Comment| 39 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 May 2017
Wonderful album from the multi-talented Neil Diamond. What a great musician, singer and songwriter. Love all the tracks. I am delighted with my purchase and would buy again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 June 2017
great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 January 2017
A good album
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 April 2017
very good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 January 2006
Have we had to wait so long for this masterpiece !!!!!
The songs the voice the talent wasted for 30 years on karoke and spangly shirts .
This is without doubt the best Neil Diamond album for nearly 30 years beautiful songs beautifully written and sung as only a talent like Neil Diamond can sing it's a beautiful noise.
Got this album from the states early in Jan and just cannot stop listening to it, believe the hype, the reviews and every other superlative there is out about this album it is sheer quality , one man his guitar quality songwriting fantastic production .Oh have I said I like this album a lot !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
0Comment| 42 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 February 2006
for me the songs are written brilliantly, and diamonds voice is perfect for the songs, but im more impressed with the production of rick rubin, the man is a genius . to take an out of fashion artist, strip him back to his roots and make a great album like this amazes me, he did it with johnny cash now neil diamond i cant wait to see whos next
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 February 2006
I bought this album when it came out in the states a few months ago and have been listening to it almost constantly! It is a beautiful, haunting collection of songs. God given talent always shines through when the artist is stipped back to just the voice and a guitar, and Diamond certainly shines on this disc. A triumphant return to form. Pure gold.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 February 2006
Neil Diamond has always written great popular songs and he has a pretty good voice as well.He has been a constant in the recording industry for 40 years but unlike most of his contemporaries he has not rested on his laurels and just relied on his past songbook.
This C.D. is a revelation.Stripped of all superfluous tinkering we have a man,his guitar,his voice and his songs showing the new breed of singer/songwriter how to touch perfection.
Like all great albums there is no weak track and it is almost impossible to choose a favourite but I go for 'Hell Yeah' and Save me a saturday night'
Please don't be swayed by pre-conceptions which involve sequined jackets and cuban heels and listen to a genius at work.
Producer Rick Rubin deserves great credit for showing us another side of the incomparable Neil Diamond.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£15.29

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)