Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
16
4.6 out of 5 stars
Toy Story Original Soundtrack
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 21 August 2016
Being a young boy who loved watching movies, 1995 was a magical time. Disney was red hot with some of their best releases ever, an array of great block buster movies had just been released or were on their way and we had the surprise hit Toy Story. A movie that has went on twenty years, has a fourth movie in development and has captured the imagination and stolen the hearts of every generation of kids since.

If you have never watched Toy Story you need to give yourself a slap and go give it a shot. In terms of great nostalgic movies, it is easily one of or my favourite movie (the sequels are great too). The simple plot of toys who come alive and go by their day to day lives is just a thing of genius, something every child wishes were true. Looking back on it as an adult though, there are plenty of innuendo jokes and even more dark humour then you'd get in a modern children's movie. Ah, to go back to the days when people were not complacent censored cowards.

The score was composed by Randy Newman and it really holds up as a musical album without any visual elements. The album features the majority of the music cues as well as three songs including the timeless You've Got A Friend In Me, Strange Things and I Will Go Sailing No More (poor Buzz!). Of course it probably helps that I have seen the movie so many times that I could likely quote every line in the film. But those familiar with Toy Story will recognise every track, they could very easily pin point which song goes where and that to me is a sign of a great soundtrack. It features all the up beat exciting moments and plenty of the much darker sombre moments. It is a great mixed bag.

Toy Story is an excellent accompanying album to the movie. Don't go buying this for your kids unless they enjoy classical music and big movie scores. There is only three songs on here that they can sing a long too. Aladdin or Lion King might be more their cup of tea. But if they like this kind of music then by all means, buy it. If you're an adult who enjoys this kind of thing (or the movie), I would also recommend it. I have had a great time with this album and I certainly have no hesitations putting it in with my ultimate Jungle Book CD.

Published by Steven Lornie
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 September 2005
The original score for Toy Story is probably the best music Randy Newman has ever written. The Score contains dozens of original themes all of which are interesting and instantly memorable. As well as the score Newman also wrote 3 songs for the movie all of which are performed by himself and have heartfelt meaning and a certain honesty that only Newman can create. Newman joins the select group of composers who have been successful at Disney Scoring including George Bruns & The Sherman Brothers, and the legends that are Alan Menken & Howard Ashman. Newman went on to score the sequel as well as other Disney Pixar movies, although very good and worth checking out none of them match his original score for Toy Story.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 January 2001
This is a album that any true toy story fan must have.Its full of the joyfull music by randy newman,that helped make the film a joy to watch.The best tracks are 'you've got a friend in me' and the unforgetable 'strange things'.Topped off with 'i will go sailing no more' it makes this a joy to listen to,time and time again.the final song is a wonderfull duet with Lyle Lovett of 'you've got a friend in me'.The album helps every person listening to relive the wonderful adventure of Woody and Buzz.The soundtrack is one of my most listened to albums,but dont just belive me,buy it and relive the adventures again and again.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 January 2011
Not a lot you can put in a soundtrack review as it's pretty obvious what you are getting. The only reason I posted this review is to counter the idiotic reviewer who gave the Amazon downloader 1 star via his album review. The album itself is teriffic and deserves 5 stars.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 November 2000
Randy Newman has written the most beautiful song, "When she loved me" wich is on this CD. It's sang by Sarah MClauchlan, who is really popular in the states. This song is really sad, but makes you want to hear it over and over. i recomend it to everyone.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 August 2002
This soundtrack is very good because of the freindly songs on it written by Randy Newman and the orchestral pieces which take you through the film once more- without having to watch it. The tracks 4-15 are purely instrumental and create suspense, sadness and all sorts of emotions due to the build up of separate instruments and the volume of the music. My favorite song is the third on the cd 'I will go sailing no more'. This is because it is quite sad and emotional. You will recognise the music throughout this CD from scenes in the film. Randy Newman has a fantastic voice and it is apsolutely perfect for these songs. I would definately reccomend this to anyone who enjoyed the film.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 15 February 2015
I'm a huge Disney fan and I always love having both the film and the soundtrack.

This is such a lovely CD to have, there are some beautiful songs for this film. The songs are composed by Randy Newman which he also sung and he's done an excellent job. They include the Disney classics " You've Got A Friend in Me" and "Strange Things".

The original score which you hear throughout the film is by Randy Newman.

I can highly recommend this for any Disney fan. :-)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 December 2012
Overall excellent music by Randy Newman. There are 3 excellent full tracks available and some instrumental hard-to-listen from the movie. Not suggested for listening many times the whole CD (all over from start to finish).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 August 2013
Item arrived promptly, love the music - was a real flash of nostalgia. Many good tracks by Randy Newman and the opening notes were wonderfully familiar. Great purchase.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 August 2014
Disney classics on cd. My son loves this cd and plays it a lot and sings along. I love the fact that it includes the lyrics too. Would recommend to any Toy Story fan!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Frozen
£7.98
Coraline
£15.83

Need customer service? Click here