Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle George Michael - MTV Replugged Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
24
4.9 out of 5 stars
Under Attack
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£11.72+ £1.26 shipping

on 22 February 2006
I am writing this review as not only a long time fan of THE ALARM & thier frontman MIKE PETERS, but also as a supporter of new music and new bands. Although The Alarm are not a new band, having already rocked thier way through two decades, I would urge any youngsters who dismiss any music thier peers listen to as drivel to take a listen to this QUALITY piece of work.
Unlike thier last album, the equally great 'IN THE POPPY FIELDS' Peters has let his fellow bandmates have some considerable input into the album, and it shows. From the opening notes of the #24 hit single 'Superchannel' through the highly charged almost biographical 'Without A Fight', The Jam inspired 'My Town', The Clash like 'Cease & Desist' this album never lets up in a way that U2 albums have always faded.
I hate to compare The Alarm to U2 (because they always have been), but the fact is that if Bono & Co. had recorded an album as good as this it would be hailed as a classic and a return to form!!!
Mike Peters has never been off form (check out his solo material for further proof), since the original line-up of The Alarm split in '91 to this present line-up. The man and his music have always deserved more respect than has been given by the media and the negative so called critics.
I would urge anyone who loves a good blast, a good slice of rock n'roll or just great meaningful music to give this album a chance. You won't be disappointed. It deserves to be heard by far more people than just us Alarm fans.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2006
Under Attack goes back to the roots of the very elements that made the original Alarm such a great band. Anthemic passionate songs delivered with powerful heartfelt vocals and searing guitar riffs. What a way to start 2006. The single 'Superchannel' is better than anything in the charts at the moment. It's hard to choose a favourite track when they are all so good but after several listens I would probably go for 'Cease And Desist' and 'This Is The Way We Are' at this juncture; the latter could almost be a sequel to the apocryphal ‘Sprit of 76'. With the return of real rock bands into the 21st Century, The Alarm are back and they rule supreme.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2006
If you like you music hard and heavy, if you like you drums fast, if you like you guitarist to be able to play the guitar, if you like a bass player with a bit of attitude and lyrics that actually mean something give this a listen.
This is The Alarm but this is the Alarm in the 21st Century. This is a real band playing real music and this Album rocks. Buy it.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 February 2006
Mike Peters and The Alarm have done it again, only better this time. Under Attack grabs you by the seat of your pants and takes you on a ride of excellent guitar, bass and drums all the way through. Excellent vocals and mixing allow for you to hear the incomperable punk rock sound that made them famous in the 80's, but they do it with a 21st Century twist. Buy it today, you won't be disappointed.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 February 2006
Mike Peters and The Alarm have hit a new high with Under Attack. Hard killer punk rock drums bass & guitar drive the entire album with Mike's vocals hitting every note the way it should be. Not many albums can have 10 great tracks on it, but this one does. The videos are exceptional. Buy it today, you won't be disappointed.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 February 2006
WOW - this is like no Alarm album I have ever heard.
I used to have some interest in The Alarm, liking their rock anthems such as The Chant Has Just Began, Absolute Reality, Strength and the melodic The Deceiver, but I found their albums to always be a disappointment .... UNTIL NOW.
This album rocks from start to end, with none of the soft-metal/folk/country nonsense that plagued their previous albums.
The lyrics are amongst the best Mike Peters has ever written and the music seems to be influenced by Steve Grantley's years spent with Stiff Little Fingers. If it were not for Mike's vocals, you'd be forgiven for thinking you'd put on SLF's Guitar & Drum cd by mistake.
All the tracks are very good, but I think the stand-out tracks are:
Superchannel [9/10]
It's alright / It's OK [8/10]
Without a fight [8/10]
My town [8/10]
Zero [7.5/10]
Cease and desist (quite like "45rpm" in style) [7.5/10]
Something's got to give [7/10]
I never left, I only went away [7/10]
This is life, get used to it [7/10]
Few and far between [7/10]
OK, I seem to have almost listed the entire album. In fact, there is not a weak track on the album and the few tracks not listed would probably all get a [6/10] rating from me.
I really hope this album is a taster of things to come from The Alarm. Keep up the good work guys.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2006
Don't buy this copy, spend the extra and get the bonus DVD package which has a video for each track on the album.
Most of all, put aside your prejudice and listen to the music. It rocks and it has meaning. If this doesn't float your boat then get your pulse checked.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 March 2006
There have been many great Welsh bands over the years but in my opinion the greatest has to be the ALARM. They have continually produced quality albums and in Mike Peters have a singer/songwriter of the highest order. Whether he is singing folk songs or welsh ballards this guy rocks. On this album the alarm explore what they do best the rock/punk aspect. Every song on the album is amazing from the opening track superchannel it will have you bouncing around the living room, Mike explores some more traditional aspects on a few songs with lovley acoustic guitar strumming complimenting the more upbeat feel of the album. They have been compared to U2 over the decades and Mikes voice I feel is up there with Bono. The biggest praise is Mike is fighting a serious illness at present and its testiment to him that he was able to produce an album of highest order. If you love the sound of the clash you will love this album. GO ON BUY IT NOW and TURN UP THE SOUNDS and become an Alarm fan. PS If you get the chance the cd with a DVD included if far better as you get videos for each song and they are amazing especially on zero where Mike and the boys sound like Nirvana
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2006
On first play Under Attack is fast, exciting, catchy, and lyrically amazing, in a nut shell....F@@@@@G ROCKS!
The album kicks off with the grinding trudge of Superchannel, followed by the punk sing'along rock'a'billy chant of Without a fight. Following then are potential single after single in My Town, Its alright, and the amazing Rain down. What's different with this beauty of an album is that there are no fillers whatsoever! Its just epic tunes time and time again! Towards the end of the alum we are greeted with the bliss sound of I never left, This is the way we are, Cease and Desease, and Zero, CLASSIC STUFF!!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 February 2006
The Alarm are definetely back. Straight from their #1 hit on the UK Rock chart with the hard-hitting "Superchannel", from the album "Under Attack", the band is tighter and more cohesive than ever.
Lyrically the songs are in-your-face, poignant, anthemic and ring of the optimism that is the hallmark of Mike Peters incredible song-writing talent.
The influence of punk-inspiration is clearly evident & In a music world full of one-hit wonders, it is refreshing to see the Alarm's continuity as fresh and innovative as ever in a long 25 year career run.
Required listening for any Alarm fan and beyond.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse



Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)