Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more



on 28 June 2014
*Spoiler alert!* This film has stayed with me though I watched it months ago. I bought it because it was on the IMDb top 250 movies, and this has been one of my best 'finds' yet from that list. :) The plight of the father and son is so well observed in this social realist film. Increasingly, I felt for the poor boy, yet the urgency of the father whose bike was stolen is so sad and understandable. We're compelled to follow him through to an ending that appears inevitable as we see how society creates the moral demise of this family man honestly trying to make the most of his lot; oh how far he falls in his son's eyes! Painful. The everyday surroundings of Italy in the economic aftermath of WWII serve as an intriguing backdrop for the modern viewer. It's true that there are parts that are uncannily like Life is Beautiful, but having seen that most excellent film, it does not detract from this one which differs in style, nor (in my mind) from Life is Beautiful. They're both outstanding films in their own right. The only part of the story I was really unsure of was that surely he has lost his job anyway even if he finds his bike again?? All in all, a heart-tugging story that is equally thought-provoking and interesting to watch. The Bicycle Thieves is probably the oldest film that I will keep to watch again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 July 2015
A timeless classic of how adversity can change your filter on life.

During the recession a man is struggling to get a job until he finally lands one. Putting up ad's on boards and his only accomplice being his trusted bike. The glimmer of hope is soon transformed into darkness, after his bike is stolen during a job.

This sets the backdrop for the movie as the man starts walking the streets with his son with the hope of finding his bike. Desperation and frustration is all but evident in the characters portrayal of a struggling father that is trying his best to provide for his family during a recession.

His relationship with his son grows throughout the film as his son tries to provide the much needed hope and encouragement he needs to pursue his search.

I love this film, i just wish i found it earlier!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 October 2016
For want of a bicycle, a job was lost. For want of a job, a lifeline was lost. For want of a lifeline, a family unit sank into despair.
The director keeps a commanding eye on the story, praiseworthy all the way to the end.
A post-war family on their knee's, whose reality based aspirations seek only the daily basics- food, togetherness and hope.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 August 2017
A totally convincing and heart rending account of the poverty and degradation suffered by ordinary Italians before the Second World War. Stellar performances from all the actors, old and young.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 August 2017
I purchased Rififi, which had English sub-titles, and really enjoyed this. I purchased The Bicycles Thieves thinking it would also have English sub-titles, which it did not. I even checked the TV's setting 'Italian Film with English sub-titles', but nothing.

There are a number of films which look good and I would purchase them if I knew they had the sub-titles.
11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 March 2014
If you want a film to make you mad, reflective and then angry; this is the one. This film really pulls at your emotions and your loyalties to the characters. I am still debating whether he was a victim of the situation or a victim of his own laziness. Definitely, one to watch in a film group for an excellent debate, but it does have subtitles.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 June 2012
The Italians produced a series of 'social realist' films in the immediate post war period. Today they would be called docu dramas. This is an outstanding example. Subtly revealing the poverty inequalies and sadness of those on the knife edge between survival and penury. The acting is extremely natural seemingly unrehearsed and many of the cast are clearly non-actors. The plot involves an unemployed man on the brink of destitution who is given a job on the basis that he has a bicycle, which is promptly stolen on the first morning of the new job. He and his son (brilliantly played) with increasing desperation try to get the bike back. Extremely sad, without tipping into over sentimentality (US film makes please note) or pathos.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 January 2015
I was disappointed not to receive the DVD of this wonderful film but am pretty sure it was the fault of Royal Mail.

The distributor (not Amazon) replied swiftly, helpfully and courteously to an earlier review, which simply asked where was the DVD.

It would have counted as negative feedback for a small, good firm, so I'm correcting that.

Of course Amazon's clumsy system will not, it seems, let me simply send round this message, so have had to rate the item as though it
had arrived.

Best,

Gill
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 November 2013
Wonderful heart rending film. There are no film makers around theses days to match this kind of unsentimental and hard hitting story of a good man pushed to the brink of despair.
11 Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 December 2014
I think this is a known as a film-buff's film but that's not me. I watched it more out of an interest in bicycles. This film certainly brings it home how important the bicycle was in that time and place.

Story wise, I was a bit bored to begin with but then really got into it. This is no spoiler but the final scene in the marketplace (the father and son walking together) is very moving. Incredible acting in that scene.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Bicycle Thieves [DVD]
£13.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)