Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
75
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£3.51+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 31 December 2013
**THIS MAY CONTAIN SPOILERS**

18th century London is a filthy, teeming city - a haven for gin drinkers, harlots and cut-throats. In its heart, on the busy Fleet Street, is the barbershop of Sweeney Todd, the most notorious serial killer ever.
Living in the shadow of Newgate Prison, barber Sweeney Todd tries to carve out a quiet and simple life. But he has a past that comes back to haunt him and inner demons he is unable to quell.
When Mrs Lovett, a young lady who isn't too choosy about her men or the source of meat for her pie shop takes a shop next to Sweeney Todd's, the apir forge a complex and destructive partnership, and customers begin to disappear with alarming regularity.
As body parts are found in the Fleet River, the Bow Street Runners investigate; but even under the threat of capture, Sweeney Todd is unable to run away from the monster inside...

I originally saw this very entertaining drama about Sweeney Todd when it was first on the BBC in 2006 and thought it was great, so much so that I decided to buy it on DVD and when watching it on DVD it was just as good then as I remembered it from when it was first on the telly. Ray Winstone is absolutely superb as the Demon Barber of Fleet Street, who is very ably supported by the likes of David Warner and David Bradley. A truly compelling drama that is very highly recommended, in which the DVD of the show contains footage of a graphic nature that was not shown in the broadcast version.
11 comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2006
Ray Winstone at his best yet again, a faultless portrayal of the Demon Barber, BUT my one crititism and the reason that I bought the dvd was the Directors Cut description. However, The Directors Cut is EXACTLY as the transmitted version and I feel cheated. so if you saw the TV edition then the Directors Cut just does not deliver, there are NO extras what so ever, but if you like Ray Winstone as I do then buy it.
11 comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2006
Ray Winstone does another wonderful job at taking you into the life of his character. Set in 18th century London Sweeny Todd is a respected Barber, but little do the people around him know the real Mr Todd. The relationship that Todd forms with Mrs Lovett proves to be symbiotic. The constant need both Todd and Lovett rely upon, pulls them to their demise.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 March 2009
A great DVD, closer to the original story than Mr. Depps offering with far better characters and a superb performance from Ray Winston. I first saw this on TV and had to have a copy. Highly recommended. Meat Pies may never be the same again!
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 February 2006
this is one of the best dramas i`ve ever seen. Ray Winstone plays the deranged serial killer with a menace reminiscent of his character in scum. The 18th century setting is perfect as the gloomy surroundings provide a great backdrop for the murderous activities going on in sweeney todd`s barber shop. The journey sweeney todd takes from a man seemingly disgruntled at the injustices in society to someone who can`t stop killing his customers is entralling but not for the faint hearted.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2016
told my wife about this and she asked me to order it so she could watch it, well she watched it the very next night, she loved it and has watched it several times since. very quick delivery and very well packed, brilliant quality, delivery and over all great service.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 October 2008
Another telling of the famous story. Ray Winstone plays Sweeney Todd, a man rebuilding his life after serving a lengthly prison sentence for a crime carried out by his father (his younger brother was hanged for the same).

Now the owner of a respectable barbers, his inner demons are put to test when a Newgate Prison Gaoler comes in for a shave boasting how he mistreats children in the prison, and thus becomes Sweeney Todd's first victim. Worse follows, a short time later his father reappears demanding money on a regular basis. At this point it is easy to see Todd as a victim, as he saves the life of a local constable, gives money to the prison children and buys a pie shop for a girl he befriends.

However her regular flow of lovers soon regret their actions as they enter Todd's shop for a shave and finish up as pie fillers. His customers now disappear with alarming regularity and the Bow Street Runners are investigating.

As with all great films, time seems to fly past. Ray Winstone gives one of his greatest performances in this graphic adaptation.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 June 2014
a bit gruesome but Ray Winstone plays the lead role and that was why I bought it. The story is well told during the film. I really enjoyed it, I'm not really into films with bloody and guts but this was well acted and kept you on the edge of your seat throughout.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 July 2012
This was a really good DVD not for the feint hearted though as some scenes were a little bit gorey, although, the scenes were 'put over' in a more theatrical manner, rather than menacing. The filming was brilliant, very atmospheric, you felt like you were there! The acting was first class - a good evenings viewing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This is a truly haunting version of the Sweeney Todd tale, one that remains in the memory long after viewing.
There have been many versions of the story - and, of course - a musical. This is a BBC drama, which returns to the original 18th century setting with a credible re-creation of the London of that era, in all its squalor. Ray Winstone gives a quite marvellous understated performance, even inducing a level of sympathy for Todd in the viewer; when we first encounter him he is compassionate, giving money to the child-prisoners of Newgate, assisting a woman who faints in the street - whom we later learn is Mrs. Lovett. The violence - and of course we know its coming - is so at odds with the character we've been introduced to that it seems inexplicable; we never learn why he kills, only brief flashes - clues about his childhood that come out in the encounters with his loathsome father.
Aside from the Sondheim musical - which is a wholly different medium altogether - the only other version of the story readily available is the endearing old version from 1936 starring the aptly named Tod Slaughter - worth a watch, but I don`t know what anyone under the age of 40 will make of it!
This is a fine take on an enduring urban legend, atmospheric and with an excellent supporting cast. Grab it while it's still both affordable and available.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)