Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
17
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£9.48+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 28 December 2008
I totally agree with the other review. Why this band were never "discovered" is one of the biggest mysteries in the history of music. Every track on the album is powerful and inspired. The reworking of the house of the rising sun is perfect for any budding air guitarist ! You get a lot for very litte money, their music has obvious influences including led zeppelin, cream and the yardbirds.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 May 2011
This album (the one with the bonus tracks)contains two versions -the album and single- of their hit of Feb. 1970- The House of the Rising Sun (unbelievably while I am typing this the Animals' version is playing on the radio). While everyone is familiar with the latter, as one of the great stand-out songs of the '60s most people are unaware of Frijid Pink's version. One of the key elements of the Animals' song was the keyboard playing by Alan Price, this has been replaced by guitar-work on FJ's version and what a brilliant sound it is too. While I love the Animals' song, I have to say that I think FJ's offering is better, which is a rare thing indeed as I usually prefer the original versins of songs.
The rest of the album has a really heavy guitar sound which in many ways is a forerunner of what was to come.
To my mind, if you disregard Motown (given their style of music, which is excellent in its own field) then I rate Frijid Pink as the best band to have come from Detroit at the end of the 60's.
Overall if you take a chance on this I believe that you will be pleasantly surprised and will want to find out what else you have been missing.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2013
I first heard Frijid Pink’s version of “House Of The Rising Sun” on the radio in 1970 and was immediately blown away. We were all familiar with the Animals amazing 1964 version of this old folk/blues tune but F.P's rendition took it to another level. This hard driving blues/rock album with influences from The Allman Brothers, Canned Heat etc. has much more to offer. Look out for a stomping version of Presley’s “Heartbreak Hotel” and a Canned Heat influenced “I’m On My Way” Other favourites of mine are “God Gave Me To You”, “Drivin’ Blues” and “End of the Line”. Of course the pièce de résistance of this album is “Rising Sun” and worth the asking price alone but, if it is the only track you know by this band then take a chance on this album, you will not be disappointed.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 November 2010
Could not believe how good it was.very ahead of its time.has to be listened to.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 December 2007
I've not heard the whole cd but I've ordered this on the strength of listening to a truly incredible version of the House of the Rising Sun. It's instantly become one of my all time favs. The Animals version is a classic but the Frijid Pink cover is something else entirely. The vocal is astonishing with the singer appearing almost to howl while guitars wail in the background. Why this song and band aren't better known is a complete mystery to me.
11 Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2002
God this takes me back! House of the Rising Sun - dare I say even better than The Animals (heresy I know) and as for Drivin Blues - this'll make you spill your beer. You must MUST try this. If you don't know of FP, don't leave it any later
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 September 2016
this is an album thats not padded with filler but its not crap either its bloody brilliant any muppet that thinks it is padded with filler
must be a donny osmand or miley cyrus fan every track has balls i brought this in 1970 when it first came out and still have that
lp although its worn out it was great to get it on cd and relive the days of my youth when bands played real music and werent
controlled by beancounters from record labels whose aim was to make a fast buck murray b new zealand
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 March 2011
this cd is very good better than i had hoped due to the fact i had only heard the version of "House of the rising sun" once on the radio
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 July 2016
Good but not brilliant. Brought back a few memories of the good old 70's but as they didn't make it big then you will understand that there are much better bands of the era you could spend your cash on.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 November 2015
I've waited 36 years and finally got this excellent album. It came in just a couple of days too great album and excellent service
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£14.50
£6.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)