Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Morrissey Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
33
4.4 out of 5 stars
Tales Of The Unexpected - The Complete First Series [DVD]
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£10.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


I brought this set plus series 2, 3 and 4 as I have found TV today to be excruciating.
Tales Of The Unexpected is a interesting series with great stories and plots.
I enjoy the introductions by Dahl and find him to be a very intelligent man.
This is a very well produced series and hope 2, 3 & 4 will also live up to series 1 has as I play these DVDs for the first time.

I highly recommend this set if you enjoy short stories with a good plot and a few twists.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 September 2017
Unfortunately my husband is extremely deaf and there are no subtitles !!! meaning we can't watch together. I know I should have checked before buying , but I honestly expected there to be subtitles . Jan H
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 June 2017
ok
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 October 2017
good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2017
Brilliant
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2016
very happy
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 May 2017
This is an example of remembering something from your younger years being better than it was. The twist in the tale is still there but the dialogue, acting and production are very dated by today's standards. Obviously to be expected but somehow disappointing.
11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2006
Well worth the purchase, if you like thrillers, horror, suspense and a twist at the end this is well worth the purchase. Takes me back to a Sunday night at 10pm on ITV last thing I watched before going to bed and the weekend being over. On the episode the Landlady the episode has the old Anglia Knight logo and it will really take you back. Well packaged good information on the box.
33 Comments| 54 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2011
9 television plays in this first series; these series/compilations are always inevitably variable in quality but there are some solid episodes here which compensate for a couple of the less effective ones.

Man From The South - Often imitated and adapted this tale concerns a mysterious enigmatic stranger who strikes up a wager with a less financially well off younger man for a very unusual stake. Good story.

Mrs Bixby and the Colonel's Coat - Weak episode for me. A gentle romp concerning a woman in receipt of a mink coat from her ex-lover and how is she going to explain its presence? Flat and pointless.

William and Mary - Another good episode concerning a domineering husband and a exasperated wife. I wont say anymore other then it has a delightful resolution.

Lamb to the Slaughter - Not bad. A murdered husband, distraught wife, who why and how did he die?? Told in flashback form.

The Landlady - Nice episode. One B & B you wouldn't want to stay at. Wouldn't be out of place if situated in Royston Vasey.

Neck - Ok if unremarkable. Some mildly amusing parts but a bit unfulfilling. An over amourous Joan Collins gets herself into a fix.

Edward the Conqueror - A woman who believes a stray cat to be the reincarnation of Franz Liszt cue good music and a not bad tale. Nice cat as well.

A Dip in the Pool - Good. A desperate man who bets on the distance the liner he's on will travel over a set period of time. Desperate circumstances call for desperate measures.

The Way Up to Heaven - Ok. A woman driven to the edge by her fear of being late/missing appointments by those who revel in her anxieties.

The performances are of a high standard and I disagree that the production values were poor at all with good use of a variety of appropriate settings. Interestingly i saw these when they originally aired, a few decades ago now, and remembered very well all the episodes I rated this time around and not the ones which weren't so good which suggests either my tastes haven't changes at all or good is good and stands the test of time. Quality music score and opening credits and excellent intros by Roald Dahl as well who sets the scene and provides the odd interesting anecdote.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 16 February 2009
Disc 1 - Man from the South / Mrs. Bixby and the Colonel's Coat / William and Mary / Lamb to the Slaughter / The Landlady / Neck.
Disc 2 - Edward the Conqueror / A Dip in the Pool / The Way up to Heaven.

The main highlights for me were the last 3 stories of disc 1 and a Dip in the Pool from disc 2.
Things have changed a lot since 1979 and shock-endings are now expected in every story but a few of these televised tales of Roald Dahl still manage to raise a wry grin. They all have twists at the end, some like Mrs. Bixby and The Way up to Heaven knowingly telegraph the endings; the classic tale Lamb to the Slaughter is told in a series of flashbacks so we know what happened as the police search for the weapon.
A few tales like The Landlady and Neck still manage to build up the suspense quite well, the Landlady has a suitably creepy ending that is still quite effective.
Not all the tales hit the mark but Dahl's black humour is shown to good effect in most of these tales, I especially liked the dark ending of A Dip in the Pool.
Not the best collection any any means but it has some pretty good moments.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse