Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
35
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£7.98+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 12 December 2011
For anyone loving dance, ballet in particular, this film is a pleasurable experience and the story of rivalries within the ballet world provide a storybook backdrop to a film full of wonderful examples of great ballet dancing.

Anne Bancroft and Shirley Maclaine, stalwarts of the film acting world, add vigour and depth to what is, essentially, a family film for matinee viewing. Bancroft plays the fading, but still dedicated, ballerina who has given up everything, especially family and children, for The Dance. Maclaine is her opposite who did give up her dancing for her family. But her daughter, played with exquisite loveliness by Lesley Browne of the American Ballet Theatre, is to prove that her sacrifice was not in vain.

Mikhail Baryshnikov in his film debut enhances the film to heights of wonder with his magnificent dancing and he proves he can act a little in his delightful scenes with the ingenue but ambitious young fledgling dancer.

The best parts of the film are, obviously, the fabulous dancing, the best of which is the pas de deux from Don Quixote with Baryshnikov's leaps simply stunning.

Recommended for both Maclaine and Bancroft in fine style and for Baryshnikov's and Browne's beautiful dancing.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 19 February 2012
Years after she quit the ballet to marry and raise a family, Deedee (Shirley MacLaine) is reunited with her her old company and old friend/ rival Emma (Anne Bancroft). Deedee always wondered if settling down was the right decision and now that her daughter is a ballerina, the old doubts flood back.

If you love ballet, this is the movie for you and if you don't love it, maybe you will after watching it. The dance scenes are simply magnificent; Leslie Browne, who plays Deedee's daughter, is a lovely dancer (though not a strong actress) and she is paired with the stunning Mikhail Baryshnikov who is charisma personified. MacLaine and Bancroft are old pros and play well off each other. The regal Bancroft doesn't actually dance but looks like a dancer and always owns the screen. MacLaine's character is whiny and at first doesn't appreciate how good her life is. The two ladies are well-matched and fun to watch; all four lead actors received Oscar nods (and the movie was nominated 11 times in total).

This is a movie that will surely inspire many little ballerinas. The mix of classical ballet and sudsy soap opera is a good one. Recommended.
11 Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 December 2010
This is a lovely ballet film, where you can see how the "inworld" of this activity works, and the competitiveness that exists in it.
The main actress acts pretty awfully from my point of view, but dances peacefully and nice, the we have marvellous Baryshnikov who never disappoints. This is one of his first moves if not the first. In all its a nice film to watch, and to inspire you.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 September 2009
I saw this many years ago and always watched it every time it came on television. Now I want to help inspire a love of ballet in my daughter this is the perfect film. I also noted things on the reviews of this DVD that I had forgotten: like that Shirley Maclaine was in it - she and Ann Bancroft give very good performances, but the real star is the dancing and I've never forgotten Leslie Browne's joyful dancing to Chopin (I think tho' it may be Liszt) at the end.
11 Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 October 2010
i was very happy to finally get this movie as it doesnt seem to be available in any shops! i have to admit that the only reason it was of interest was because of shirley maclaine,not for the dance aspect.while i did enjoy the film i found it to be rather long & very ballet focused which is to be expected seeing as that is the basis of the movie!other than that i think it would be an enjoyable film for any shirley or anne bancroft fans & anyone interested in dance!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 December 2016
The storyline is based on two good friends who look back on their different choices, each with some envy on the other. They knew each other as ballerinas and both were tipped to be principals, but Shirley's character took the path of marriage and family, whist the other became the ballet star that both had aspired to be. There is much more to the storyline, which makes fascinating viewing with some sad and poignant scenes as well as some very funny moments. Ballet fans will enjoy the second half, which does have some snippets of truly outstanding ballet. After seeing this film I readily recommended as key viewing to friends and relatives with an interest in ballet as it reflects the passion and commitment of the dancing profession as well as the sorrow behind sacrifices made to succeed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 July 2010
A fun view of the ballet world-the story is secondary to the valuable footage of stars past doing their party pieces!Valuable to have Antoinette Sibley's only acting role as far as I am aware.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 August 2010
I bought this film partly because of the story and title, which aroused my curiosity, partly because I wanted to see Mihail Baryshnikov in it. However, Anne Browns performance was a very pleasant surprise - in fact quite stunning, primarily as a dancer,but good and believable acting too. Anne Bancroft especially and and Shirley MacLaine were good too, but then one expects them to be, so this was less surprising.
A very satisfactory film, which I have seen several times. I even bought a second copy as agift to a good friend.
Heartily recommended.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 October 2016
The one star is not for the film as having seen it many years ago I was looking forward to watching it again but is for the quality of the DVD. Unfortunately as I received it at the beginning of September but have only just viewed it and found it to be faulty I am too late to return it for exchange or refund. It starts off OK but about 10 to 15 minutes in, the picture just disappears and there is nothing more. Very disappointing and this will make me very wary of buying more DVD's asI usually choose a few at a time but do not watch them straight away. In fact from this batch I still have at least 6 more to watch. Worrying! I hope I have not paid good money for nothing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2016
Many are unable to grasp the two very different lives of dancers. First the hard work, frustrations and sheer pain of the non-performing bit. Then the sheer ecstasy of performance - like a caged bird being set free. A young Mikhail Baryshnikov and Leslie Browne illustrate this superbly as they entangle human emotions with artistic disciplines. If you like this film - you will definitely like "Dancers". It's a rare film, published by Kulture and I think only obtainable on video. However, an older Leslie Browne's performance takes on a new meaning as she again encounters that (now) supreme artist of dance Baryshnikov.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here