Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
98
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£13.50+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 March 2017
I'm surprised this gets predominantly five star and four star reviews. As an HBO fan and an Apollo geek I was really looking forward to watching this, but I was extremely disappointed by the whole series. There are one or two good episodes hence my three stars, but I felt overall that the scripts were often poor and furthermore they sought to present peripheral stories rather than focusing on the core subject of the Apollo program. Examples: an episode about the press, an episode about the wives, an episode that was half about an early movie director in France (huh?). Its as if the writers/producers couldn't get engaged with the subject matter so went off at tangents at every opportunity. Or maybe the producers thought their audience would get bored by too much moon stuff, as the public did with the real Apollo program in the seventies. All in all, if you're an Apollo geek like me, you may well be disappointed by this dilute offering.
11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 April 2017
A really engaging telling of the US space quest. Moving and thrilling account through documentary footage and dramatic reconstruction/interpretation.

This set is long enough to include most of the necessary detail as well as the highlights of space travel and exploration. Also gives a broad view of the whole process and people concerned.

What a story.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2017
A must see for anyone interested in the Apollo mission
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 May 2017
Perfect
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 8 August 2013
Made in 1998 by HBO this is an attempt to recreate all the story of getting to the moon and walking upon its surface. It works really well using actors to play all the parts in the story with occasional footage from the time interlaced.

I have watched eight of the twelve one hour episodes. For me part 8 'We interrupt this program' is the most interesting. It depicts the changing nature of journalism. One mature, sensible and brilliant tv news anchor man is rattled to the point of extinction by a young, heartless journalist who is only concerned with cheap emotional affect. Tabloid media is born. It is a fascinating episode.

The story of Apollo 12 was also very interesting. Who remembers the mission that came after Neil Armstrong's landing? I had no memory of it. If the series has 'a problem' it is the lack of interviews with the real deal. That's why I loved In The Shadow Of The Moon [DVD] so much. It has much to savour as a historical document. A time when the USA was truly rich.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 March 2005
This mini series is one of the best made in the last ten years charting the space race with the key members of both the astronauhts and science team that put man on the moon. Each episode has it's own identity that brings to life that period of history with Tom Hank's as executive producer and Ron Howard who both bought us Appolo 13 this stands as a great companion peaice and for yonger members a historical doucument they can view and get a taste of our most recent history.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2007
The series follows NASA during the Apollo moon-landing programme; each episode focuses on a different aspect, designing the spacecraft, training and the missions themselves. There is also an episode that focuses on the wives of the astronauts, which I thought, was a good idea.

The missions are all well done in the same quality as Apollo 13 movie.

Apollo 12 is my favourite in the "Is that all there is" episode but all are very good.

The extra DVD is good with the documentary of the making of the series although I would have liked it to be longer.

In short, if you liked Apollo 13 you will like this.
0Comment| 50 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 October 2013
The whole story is here. The last of 5 discs explains that the advice of a former Apollo astronaut was heeded in order to produce an authentic reconstruction of this amazing story without giving it the "Hollywood" treatment. Fans of the NASA space programme will enjoy this immensely.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
When I was in the first grade in Orlando, Florida our class would go outside to watch the Mercury flights take off from Cape Canaveral, so the American space program made a big impression on me as a child. Of course, now I have a daughter who is surprised to learn that human beings have walked on the moon while I remember "Gomer Pyle, U.S.M.C." being interrupted by a news bulletin about the fatal fire that killed the crew of Apollo 1. My father was stationed in Japan for most of the Apollo flights, so except for Apollo 11 we did not get to see a lot of what everybody saw back home. Consequently, for me "From the Earth to the Moon" is a combination of vague memories and new information.
Having also watched "Band of Brothers," the other HBO documentary in which Tom Hanks had a significant hand, I am struck by how these two mini-series have essentially redefined the term more towards its original meaning. Unlike landmark mini-series such as "Shogun" and "Winds of War," where each episode picks up the main characters pretty much where they were left at the end of the previous episode, "From the Earth to the Moon" and "Band of Brothers" clearly offer up distinct episodes in telling the story of the Apollo space program. The only constant characters are really Eugene Cernan (Daniel Hugh Kelly), the one Mercury astronauts who never got to fly and ended up heading the program, and the fictional television anchorman Emmett Seaborn (Lane Smith), who represents an amalgam of all the newscasters who were big boosters of the space program.
Most of the episodes focus on a specific Apollo flight, but there are also episodes on different topics, like the development of the lunar module. There are episodes that of surprising comedy, such as when the crazy Pete Conrad (Paul McCrane) takes Al Bean (Dave Foley) and Apollo 12 to the moon, and one devoted to the pathos of the shattered lives of the wives of the third group of Astronauts. The episode on Apollo 13 is interesting in how it effectively avoids covering the same ground as the movie. We never see the astronauts, we only hear their voices, and since we all "know" the story now the focus of the episode is to show how the space program was confronted with the "new" brand of journalism that was not going to be spoon fed information and heroes by NASA. However, my favorite was the episode in which Lee Silver (David Clennon), a professor of geology, teaches the astronauts how to read the story of rocks as the test pilots being sent to the moon learn to be "scientists." There are lots of familiar faces in these episodes (the proverbial too many to name), but for those who remember the indelible bad boy characters created by McCrane and Clennon on "E.R." and "thirtysomething," there is a special joy in which them play good guys.
"From the Earth to the Moon" is not as informative as a documentary, but it certainly focus on the actual nuts and bolts of sending men to the moon. Actually it does this in a rather engaging manner, and the way in which it combines NASA technology with human drama is one of the strengths of the mini-series. Almost all of the astronauts come out of the series with their images as heroes intact (providing you do not ask their ex-wives), the exceptions being Buzz Aldrin (Bryan Cranston), who really wanted to get out on the moon before Neil Armstrong (Tony Goldwyn), and Alan Shepard (Ted Levine), who we always knew was the grand old S.O.B. of the space program. But even so both men merely come across as being decidedly human. Whether you actually were around at the time to go outside and look up at the moon knowing there were a couple of Americans walking around hitting a golf ball, picking up rocks, and dropping a hammer and a feather at the same time, or this is all just history come alive, you should find this an excellent series of adventures in and about outer space.
11 Comment| 36 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 25 July 2006
To my knowledge, this fantastic series was only shown once on British TV, and tucked away in a lunchtime slot on Saturdays. A shame, as From the Earth to the Moon really made the Apollo era come alive in a way that a straightforward documentary could not. Each episode - fronted by Tom Hanks - takes a different view on one aspect of the Apollo missions, and all of them are compelling viewing. Faultless, big-budget production values make this an attractive series to watch. A welcome release on DVD that won't disappoint.
11 Comment| 48 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)