Learn more Download now Shop now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

3.6 out of 5 stars
Football Manager 2006 (Xbox 360)
Price:£21.60+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

on 22 April 2015
The game's okay I guess. I got it for £2.33 or something like that and purely wanted it for the achievements and nothing else. It's a 2005/2006 game so obviously the layout and how the game plays is old and outdated but of you don't mind that then this will be a bargain for you! Achievements were relatively easy and mainly got it to fix an odd number gamerscore which it was able to do.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 March 2015
top class game
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 December 2006
The 'Football Manager' series was born out of the old 'Championship Manager' series from before Eidos took it over. These were widely regarded as the most realistic football management simulators on the market. I bought the 2005 version for the PC and played it for almost a year before getting a little tired of it. During that time I didn't play any other games because I was so hooked by it. Eventually I bought an Xbox 360 and thought I'd get 'Football Manager 2006' to play on it, expecting a quicker, larger and updated game.

It has been updated to include all of the most recent transfers (up to September 05), but that is the only part in which my expectations were met.

The game database seems a lot smaller. This could be due to only being able to have 10 leagues running at once. Thet's 10 DIVISIONS, not 10 countries' full league system. If you want to have all of the English leagues running you have taken up seven divisions, leaving you only three more.

The idea behind this was to keep the game processing speed up so that the people who only play it on a console don't get bored. However, it still seems slow at times.

The controlls are very fiddly. In the PC versions all of the options available to you are shown at the same time on screen, in the Xbox 360 version you are constantly pressing the shoulder buttons to get to the information you require. Even when doing this it is easy to miss the thing you were looking for, e.g. I couldn't work out how to make substitutions at half-time for ages. If you could just use a mouse it would be so much easier, but you can't. A cursor on screen would be easier and less time consuming than having to scroll through every line of text to reach the item you want.

Graphics and sound are minimal, but the simplicity is what made the games so appealing in the first place, so I won't knock them. For the part, they do their job well, unless you don't own a high definition screen. If you are playing on standard definition then text becomes difficult to make out, colours run into one another and it just becomes a horrible mess.

Online play is painstakingly slow paced and when I played online I met the most hostile group of people I ever have in an online game. They don't like it if you play your strongest team, but they don't like it when you do something a little experimental with your formation. You won't make any friends with this game.

Achievements reward loyalty and experience, with some only earning you a meagre 1 Gamerscore (Buy a Player). There are 50 Achievements in all.

If you have a decent PC then get this game for that. Manegement games rarely work as well on consoles and this one is no exception.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 April 2006
(Please note: This game requires the Xbox 360 Hard drive to play)

Football Manager 2006 for Xbox 360 is the first console conversion of a much beloved series that is without question the greatest management game in the business bar none. Developed by Sports Interactive (recently aquired by SEGA, this is the same development team who created the Championship Manager series) so you know that this will only be the very best.

Football Manager 2006 for Xbox 360 is exactly the same as its PC brother in terms of content and its completely realistic playability and transfer market systems. Some of you (myself included) were concerned that Sports Interactive would be unable to replicate the sheer depth and quality that the PC version contains, do not fear, everything is hear and more besides thanks to the sheer power of the Xbox 360 and making usage of the additional 20GB hard disk. The game is completely up to date from the January transfer window so all the latest transfer and managerial changes have been made.

The speed of the game (often a source of frustration for PC gamers) is lightening fast, you can run up to 10 leagues simultaneously and without a drop in game speed which means that its a far more fast paced yet still deeply engaging and challenging experience.

The objective of the game (for those that dont know) is to manage a team from over 50 leagues in world football and lead them to the very top, be it Manchester United, Reading, Real Madrid or even Accrington Stanley.

The user interface has been greatly overhauled in comparrison to the PC version, the lack of mouse can be a hindrance but to be fair to Sports Interactive the new system (which relies on the Xbox 360's shoulder buttons to navigate menus) will become second nature to you in time.

Multiplayer allows users (up to 8) to take part in a league or a cup competition over Xbox Live with achievement points and world leaderboard rankings up for grabs for the victors.

The game will be constantly updated through Xbox Live by Sports Interactive thanks to downloadable content or automatic updates, this could range from new signings during the transfer window or a complete new overhaul of the leagues (who won, who got promoted and who got relegated etc)

This game is absolutely fantastic and will be a sleeper hit for the Xbox 360, if you own it on the PC then I'd still recommend it for your Xbox 360, its as every bit as detailed but has more under its bonnet thanks to the power of the Xbox 360, if your a first time buyer its a must.

0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 September 2009
Football manager is a quality game i had endless hours of fun, i must buy for any football fan
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 25 January 2007
This is the first football management on the XBOX 360 and takes the successful Football Manager franchise off the PC straight onto your XBOX 360 console.

It takes a while getting used to the controls on this game with all the buttons having a function. This is unlike the PC version where the controls are easy to use.

Apart from that you have all the leagues in here [...] and you can choose who to manage to success. The huge database gives you the opportunity to learn about so many football players from all over the world and most of the players have a photograph with them.

There is also an online mode to this game which gives you a chance to play cups and leagues online with any team in the game. However after each cup or league is finished the lobby is split up and you are returned to the main menu making it difficult to build a rapport with your fellow players.

The XBOX 360 achievements are well-thought out with a few easier ones (like win a match) to more difficult ones for the most dedicated of gamers (complete 20 seasons with 1 club). This is a challenge which you want from a game.

However the game does drag on unlike the PC version. So in summary if you want this game you may want to consider getting it for the PC.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 April 2006
Let me start this review by saying if your television is not HD ready then do not attempt to watch the match on the 3D engine... truly looks awful...

Also the menu interfaces and controls don't quite feel right.

Also, last niggle is that only some of the recent Jan transfers have been updated, i.e. Sean Davis at Portsmouth although strangly no D'Alessandro. This is not the only case as there are quite a few more examples of this.

Maybe i'm being over critical though as i've too got the pc version which is without a doubt the greatest manager sim ever...

On the plus side however, the 360 version does seem to have all players and at the correct teams and theres no slow down when running various leagues at once (i've tried 5 during one game and it was no problem).

This is without a doubt still worthy of 3 stars but can't help but feel a little let down as the game designers (SI Games) promised a straight conversion of the pc game but hey... never mind...
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 July 2006
Once you get used to the gameplay differences between this and past champ man games and the dodgy control method the 360 employs, you realise what a good game this is.

Ultimately it's more realistic and therefore harder and more rewarding, though some of the new "improvements" seem pointless and I indeed play the game without using the team talk and media functions as they don't seem to have a constant effect.

A down side to the game is that when it comes to matches it just seems a little too random and the controls are fidly (I still can't find the top scorers page), though on the other hand, load times are fantastic and once you get set up you can fly through a season in no time.

A word of warning when starting the game, don't reinvent your whole squad, a settled team with high teamwork is vital to success!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 April 2006
The first release of Football Manager for the Xbox 360, this edition comes complete with all of the features from Football Manager on PC, including training, the 2d match engine, full rules for all leagues and player data for 250,000 players from 50 countries.

Negociate with the board of directors for better contracts, inproved player wage budgets, stadium expansions and more. Get into the heads of your teammates by talking them through half-time events to evaluate their performance, and also manage morale even further with a new Player Interaction feature. Training schedules and stat details have been made easier to read through, new referee profiles give you insight into who is watching your game, and player position indicators new feature preferred moves for watching trends to watch for in player performance.

Xbox Live is great .

5/5 Best football game out .
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 April 2006
I have played CM & FM for the last 6 years.

After being frustrated by how slow the PC vesions can be, I decided to purchase this version for my XBox 360.

I have to say, I have not been disapointed.

This is a great version of the game.

Load times are fantastic, compared to the PC.

It is truly a pleasure to sit in the comfort of your own satee and enjoy, at your leisure, The Greatest Football Managment Sim ever created.

I highly recommend this!!!


The only reason why I didn't give this 5 stars is?

I don't believe anything in this world is perfect.

(But this sure does come close)
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)