Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
98
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£9.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 April 2017
Apparently the person I bought the cd for was thought that it was very good.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 June 2017
Arrived promptly and it was a good quality
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 January 2008
Although the very decent "softly with these songs: best of roberta flack" compilation was already in existence, this product is even better. The track listings are extremely similar, but there are enough subtle changes to make this a near-definitive selection of seventeen songs.

All the big hits feature, such as "Killing Me Softly...", "Feel Like Makin' Love", "The First Time Ever....", "The Closer I Get To You" and "Tonight, I Celebrate My Love". There are four tracks taken from the supreme "Roberta Flack featuring Donny Hathaway" album, including the full, magnificent seven plus minutes of "Don't Make Me Wait Too Long". "Back Together Again" is done as an edit, and does sound a little odd. The worthwhile "Oasis" album also yields a few selections and the set is brought to a close by the soulful "Trade Winds", which Rod Stewart would cover on "A Night On The Town".

All in all, a near-perfect collection. The sort of compilation which is guaranteed to hit the spot, whenever you give it a play. The one change i would make would be to find room for the great "Uh-Uh Ooh-Ooh Look Out" from "Oasis". (This track DOES feature on the "softly with these songs" compilation, but in an unsatisfactory remixed form.)
0Comment| 48 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2010
The duets featured with the equally smooth vocal tones of Donny Hathaway make for a perfect musical match as heard on a number of songs featured in this terrific collection. Equally in combination with Roberta singing solo so beautifully such powerful sentiments as expressed in the songs "Making Love" and "The First Time Ever I Saw Your Face" serve to make this selection a musical must to be added to anyone's musical collections.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 26 January 2010
A Rhino compilation that usually means class, and this is no exception great selection of tracks, well-engineered and good liner notes by David Nathan. All the hits here are including duets with Donny Hathaway.

Get the original Rhino compilation for sound quality.
5 stars
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 June 2013
Trying to find a good sounding CD of Roberta Flack has become an annoying obsession of mine I have to say. The vinyl sound quality was great. The CDs however vary from atrocious sounding to just okay.

A quick search and I discover I'm not the only one disappointed with the overall quality of these CDs. The last track on this album is especially bad...very, very bad transfer to CD. Distortion is very evident on the last track and it sounds very much like a compressed recording, or a 'rescued' recording.

Many 'Best of' albums, no matter which artist, suffer greatly from awful sound quality to be fair. If you're happy to listen to mp3s only though it may suit.

Oh well, there are a couple of tracks on the album that I particularity like and I can live with this CD until something better emerges.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 September 2014
I'm so sorry, but I can not give a positive opinion on this disc. Certainly not for artistic merit, which are not discussed, but for the poor sound of some tracks. RHINO, this time you have not maintained your usual high standard.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 June 2013
Roberta is a true icon from the 70's & 80's with a wonderful, wonderful voice. This album is worth getting just for `Killing Me Softly' & `The First Time Ever,' two of the best songs ever recorded.
`Tonight I Celebrate My Love `is also a wonderful love song. In fact, the first half of this album is unbelievably good, unfortunately, the second half has no hope of competing with material like that, even though there are a few of her chart entries in there. No one makes 17 classics do they? A fine album overall though. Incredibly neither `Killing Me `or `The First time Ever' got to number one here which is an absolute travesty. Roberta is in her 70's now but what a legacy to have sung two songs like that? Whilst the second half does lag a little the quality of the first half has to make this 5 stars.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 August 2009
vital and elusive - how does she manage that! There are lovely moments in this album and revive memories from years ago. not all tracks stand the test of time but the gems like 'Killing me softly' are still gems!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 2009
The content is excellent but if sound quality is important to you then you may be disappointed.My copy has a strong bias towards the right hand channel;the balance control helps but does not really cure the problem. A great pity.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)