Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Worried Blues Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
22
4.0 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£16.75+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 1 December 2006
This film is a fantastic expose of Mozart, the historical period around his life, his family background and his musical career. It blows apart many myths created by the rather over commercialised Amadeus film and presents, I believe for the first time, a true picture of this great artist. Full of decent renditions of Mozart works (not just little snippets) it follows his life from fledgling composer aged 8 to mature symphonic genius and opera composer. It delves deep into his psyche exploring his relationship with his father, wife and sister, and the imputus behind his desire to succeed. A moving, enlightening and thoroughly enjoyable film for the connoisseur or novice alike narrated by the smooth charming voice of Julia Stevenson.
0Comment| 36 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 March 2007
This documentary is a fascinating expose of the real Mozart and is very different from other films claiming to document his life. Taking us through the composer's life through a journey that covers the richly cultural continent of Europe, this film looks at Mozart's passions, his motivations and struggles from a fresh angle.

The musical accompaniment to the imagery adds to our experience of watching the film as we are treated to scenes of classical music and mesmerising cinematography.

This is great watch whether you have a special interest in Mozart or even if you have no prior knowledge!
0Comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 May 2017
A lovely trip through Mozart's life. I still prefer John Suchet's book, but the huge plus of this DVD obviously is the music and vision. I had tears in my eyes when it had finished. Thoroughly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2016
Created to dispel the myth of Mozart, Grabsky reinforces beloved lies.

Please read Mozarts letters to gain insight into this genius, who was neither ugly nor pock-marked nor 1,50 meters tall (!) nor a gambler or a spendthrift.

Mozart was too talented and good for the evil world and people who rejected, black-balled, black-listed, stonewalled and murdered him due to inscrutable jealousy and envy. Mozart worked from a very young age and became a veritible locamotive who could not and would not be stopped. His formidable intellect and gifts frightened and threatened the foes that surrounded him from a very young age. Mozart would not bow down. What was to be done?

The murder of Mozart was a multi-purpose sacrifice. Mozart, who claimed and knew that he had been poisoned and forced into penury, was murdered to pave the way for the parasitic Beethoven, who copied his known true master. Beethoven bowed and scraped before his keepers, which Mozart did not. Mozart was all about beauty, honor and loyalty. He was a bright light shining in the darkness, which neither knew it but wanted it extinguished.

For in-depth understanding read the book entitled den Goettern gegeben by Guenther Duda.
11 Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 July 2006
I just read this review in Time Out and couldn't agree more:... "For a superb survey of what the composer means to a wide range of articulate people, Phil Grabsky's In Search of Mozart can't be bettered. Famous bands play and the great and the good are interviewed, inlcuding Thomas Allen, Renee Fleming, Imogen Cooper, Angelika Kirchschlager, Magdalena Kozena...Gush-free, serious, but with an exciting sense of occasion." I love this documentary. I watched part of it purely by chance on TV in January and then realised it was on DVD too. Just brilliant!
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2006
'In Search of Mozart' is extraordinary not only in its breadth (from the first K number to the last, interviews with experts such as Jonathan Miller and Stanley Sadie, as well as top performers such as Renee Fleming, Magdalena Kozena, Julian Rachlin, Leif Ove Andnes...), but also its depth. Director Phil Grabsky tackles his complex subject with enormous gusto (and some subtlety), exploring what made Mozart the man tick, his relationship with his dad, his wife and his children, the historical context of 18th century Europe, the music scene of the time, and the modern relevance of those great operas. This is a film for Mozart experts and Mozart novices alike; it's never patronising, it's always entertaining, and it's full of some of the world's loveliest music. Highlights include Jonathan Miller damning Glyndebourne, Renee Fleming talking about how Mozart understood women, and Lang Lang saying something very odd about how Mozart's music changes from a 'nice lady' to a 'little girl lost in the forest'... And not a powdered wig in sight. Absolutely top notch stuff.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2007
I thought I knew it all from Amadeus but this film - which is beautifully shot by the way - shocked me by revealing how much of Shaffer's film was myth & legend. Needless to say, the music is divine and I don't know how they could afford to get so many artists. A perfect introduction to anyone even barely interested in Mozart. Like another reviewer I wasn't sure at first about the modern city shots but grew to like them - and it's certainly better than just paintings - and much much better than reconstructions. Excellent - and it made my sons get back to the piano so thats not bad either.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 February 2009
In Search Of Mozart [2005]

This beautiful video is historically accurate, and gives a realistic picture of his genius and his trials.
A brilliant view of life in the 18th c.
The accompanying music is lovely particularly the forte-piano playing of Ronald Brautigam.
Do see this video ... it's a perfect counter-weight to the schmalzy, saccharine view of Mozart that has been the norm. World-wide contributors reflect his universal appeal ...
We are in Phil Grabsky's debt ...
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 January 2006
I was lucky enough to see this film at The Barbican earlier this month and I can't wait to get my DVD copy. I was thrilled to see some of the most famous musicians and opera singers in the world talk directly about how they feel about Mozart's music, how difficult it is to play, even at the height of their profession, but how sublime it is to them (and of course for us to listen to). This film tells the story of Mozart in a factual but entertaining way, always illustrating with relevant excerpts of his music and putting his life and work in context to the period in which he lived - amazing that he travelled over 250,000 miles in his lifetime - his coach and four was the original tour bus!
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2006
This documentary is great - it's a brilliant look at Mozart's life, very well paced, with lots of interesting descriptions of his family. But even better than that, it captures the amazing enthusiasm and enjoyment that musicians themselves have for Mozart. Listening to them talk about what the music means is really inspiring, and I've never seen another programme tap into that. Some moments to make you giggle too, and of course, beautiful music.
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)