Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Noel Gallagher Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
58
4.4 out of 5 stars


on 10 November 2010
There is not a lot more I can add to the other 19, 5-Star reviews. But I've added some comments to the lone-star dissenter's review!
I will mention the soundtrack as it adds so much to the tension; the harp/cello are incessant, relentless, and insistent - just like Johnny as he journeys through London's lower reaches.
This film really does benefit from repeated viewing, and at least once with The commentary on. Mike Leigh, David Thewlis and Katrin Cartlidge add some interesting background to the making of the film; there was a protest demonstration outside the house during filming!!?? With some insights into the actors own thoughts around the pre-filming improvisations.
I bought this particular DVD recently because I saw David Thewlis in a BBC4 documentary about sculpture and he was talking about realistic representations.
Long ago I bought the Dutch import, which you might find of interest, it is the version shown at the Cannes Film Festival and a very slightly longer cut but with no additional material unless you speak Dutch! - Naked [DVD]
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 March 2000
One mans journey into the unknown following a violent assault on a woman we are introduced to londons desolute and disenfranchised.Through the powerful characters in this dark,morbid and also very funny film we are given a horrific portrait of modern britain and a existential universe.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 July 2004
No sentimentalising the proles here a la 'Secrets and Lies.' Thewlis is incredible: a bitter, ranting Mancunian autodidactic seer, like a nastier Mark E. Smith. But, why - oh - why has this amazing film not been released on DVD yet?
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 May 2011
The film stars David Thewlis, as a cocky, clever drop-out loner Manc who visits London. As he roams the streets he meets several varyingly odd people. Thewlis's character (Johnny) is an intriguing one, with great one-liners and intellectual insights. The acting is impressive, as is the idea and execution (of isolation and hatred for modern society), creating a grimey English film.

This low budget drama is an enjoyable watch, with no real obvious points, but it's intelligent wit and dialogue are what make this a unique, cult wonder. Beautifully British, this film strips 80's London to a naked state with a play-like insight into the lonely wandering of a disillusioned intellectual.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 March 2010
That was the first question to pop into my head even before the end credits roll! David Thewlis is simply awesome! You can't help but feel his state of mind and body as you follow his drift from one person to another. You can sense that his survival and his ability to hold on to life is a result of his wittiness and self assured intelligence. This is a film totally void of any special effects or stunts. There is no plot and action to speak of and in that sense, its naked, and yet in my opinion, deserved to be in my top 10 of all movies I have watched. A film that holds you to the screen by its dialogue alone. For those who are not British like me, be sure to watch with subtitles on.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2012
No matter how many times I've watched this film Johnny still gets away with wearing a disgusting rodenty little tash all the way through without anyone ripping it right off. He also gets loads of sympathy and sex from just about everyone he meets until that is SPOILER ALERT

he gets a good kicking which he richly deserves.

Don't watch this movie if you're feeling a bit low else you might just jump out of the window. But if you're smug and happy in your little life then watching this will just make you smugger and happier.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2013
From the start to the end i was totally gripped its possibly one of the best films ever made if not the best. Dont let the theme of rape put you of this product it has nothing to do with the it being a masterpiece in fact you could be watching a documentary on human nature. The acting goes with the story believable in such away that you feel like you are partaking in the film yourself and the actors are extras. You need to see this for yourself and watch it at least twice before judging it properly.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 December 2003
"Don't waste your life" A security guard advises the nihilistic anti hero Johnny. This film is macabre, raw, and with dialogue as sharp as anything ever witnessed on celluloid. Mike leigh created a dark brooding magnum opus with this portrait of early 90's london. His partnership with David Thewlis, who creates a fascinating and ribald character is simply astonishing. It is a performance that explores our very humanity. This film investigates the existential angst as portrayed by the protagonist Johnny of what is to survive, the main character literally reveals himself before us stripped of pretense and standing "naked" . Johnny's diatribes tinged with apocalyptic tones upon the nature of the universe and beyond are breath taking. Sex and violence under pin the narrative of this film, and with Jonny adhering to no personal boundaries he embarks upon a journey that takes the viewer upon an uneasy and ultimately rewarding journey . This film is important as it show the true power of the medium , and as a cultural reference to the pap produced by hollywood, exposing the neutered offerings mainstream cinema is plagued with. This film shows Mike Leigh as a master of his art, expressed by the unique performances he elicits from his cast. This work of art will be stumbled across in years to come and will be celebrated by later generations for its language, its mood, and its effect which makes us engage. A true testament to a magnificent achievement.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 October 2015
A work of genius in a body of work that is magnificent. Oh, and Criterion have done it again.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 March 2011
I adore this film...one of Mike Leigh's finest hours. Seller delivered promptly (and was courteous enough to send an email asking me if it had arrived & requesting I leave feedback) - not bothered that it's an import (so all the blurb on the insert is in Dutch), just pleased to finally own what I consider to be a modern classic on DVD.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)