Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Noel Gallagher Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 24 May 2011
I found a broadcast of this concert whilst channel-hopping and enjoyed it so much that I just had to have the DVD. I had only seen the last part of the show, so the first part was going to be a surprise, the more so as there was no track listing on the product description.

The concert took place at De Efteling, a Dutch theme park designed more than 50 years ago by Anton Pieck, a Dutch artist famed for his Dickensian and fairy-tale style pictures. The park has very much a fairy-tale theme, and this was carried through into the concert, for instance with a Sleeping Beauty number.

The selection of music is excellent, including all sorts of music from "O Isis and Osiris" from The Magic Flute to a song from Porgy and Bess, both by an excellent American bass. There are lighter songs, including bits from Hansel and Gretel, and plenty of Viennese music and dancing.

Andre Rieu so obviously enjoys his music, and his enthusiasm is infectious. He is an excellent presenter of his program and has his audience roaring with laughter at times. It was good to see the live audience enjoying themselves, especially as there were plenty of children there of an age that one would expect to run away with their fingers (or earphones) in their ears.

This is a long DVD. I recommend viewing it as a live concert: give yourself a 15 or 20-minute "interval" in the middle to get your breath back and let your smile muscles relax a bit.
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2015
This was the first concert Of Andre's that I saw on tele. I was instantly hooked as a fan and have enjoyed watching a number of times since that first time. A great DVD and one that could be used to encourage children to appreciate proper music as it has several stories in it that most children will know of. Just wonderful!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 June 2017
very good as love this performers choice of music
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 December 2011
Has become one of my favourite DVDs, wonderful performance by Carla and Carmen with the two pieces from Hansel and Gretal. A couple of superb dance scenes. Great entertainment
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 November 2015
Excellent quality and content
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 August 2014
this dvd is absolutely wonderful, andre is such a genuine chap, you can feel the love between him, and all the singers, orchestra, and everyone involed. he has a great personality with his audience, i just love the man
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 February 2012
We very much enjoyed this dvd which contained lots of new material unlike some we have purchased recently which have just been repeats of earlier ones.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 May 2015
excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 September 2014
Love the orchestra and the singers in particular
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2015
A most entertaining DVD takes you back to your childhood you can almost feel you are in wonderland
suitable for all ages.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)