Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
30
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£3.20+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 June 2007
"Major Payne" is one of the funniest movies that I enjoy to watch over and over again. I thought that Damon Wayans delivered a knockout performance as the loud-mouthed, gold-toothed, trash talking, squeaky voiced Major Benson Winifred Payne. He was so funny that I nearly had a heart attack while laughing at the same time.

After a major drug bust goes extremely well in South America, Major Payne (Damon Wayans) returns to Parris Island, South Carolina and finds out that the U.S. Marine Corps is throwing him out of the military back into civilian life. After two weeks of civilian life, Payne is let back into the military under one condition: go to Virginia and train a group of delinquents for an ROTC program at Madison Academy. Payne regretfully accepts the job and puts each of the boys into 8 weeks of living hell! It becomes a fight because the boys do what they can to put Major Payne out of their lives!

I have so many favorites scene through out this movie but the one that shines the brightest is when Wayans had a dance sequence at a club where he performs a series of moves (including a very nice "robot"), and with the help of music from 2 Live Crew. Many of the gags are side-splitting funny, and the vocal tones and mannerisms of Major Payne are just spot-on hilarious. And the kids in the film do a remarkable job in their supporting roles. The kids in fact steal the show (especially the younger ones). Lots of absurdity in the movie, but still here and there peeks through a poignant maturity on the deeper symbolism of what boot camp is all about

Of course, it is a feel good movie so you know everything will work out in the end. Base on some of the lower reviews you can see that this movie is not for everyone, but at the same time is worth seeing. If you don't like it by the time Payne does his "Failure to communicate!" line then maybe it isn't for you. As for me it's utterly brilliant.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 December 2003
This is the funniest wayons film ive ever seen and ive seen them all!Major paynes attitude with the children is so out of touch,which is what makes this so funny.If you like Damon Wayons you will love this.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2005
When Major Benson Payne (played by Damon Wayans), a one-man-army in a Marine uniform, is discharged, he needs to find a new life. Given command of the Madison Academy Junior ROTC, he sets out to whip the gang of misfit youths into shape. Used to the toughest discipline and the hardest life, Payne is the children's worst nightmare, and there is nothing they won't do to get rid of him. Along the way, though, Payne and his command all learn a few lessons.
This movie is a laugh-riot! Wayans' Payne is hilarious, being just the right mixture of homicidal maniac and tender father figure, while the ROTC cadets make a perfect foil for the Major. My family have never laughed so hard at a movie as we did at this one, with my son being quite pleased with how the Major deals with a "monster" in a young lad's closet - "If he's still in there, he's not happy!"
This is a great movie, the one caveat being that there are quite a few colorful words tossed around by the Major and the cadets. That said, though, this was a hilarious movie that you and your family will like watching again and again!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2013
Haven't actually watched this item as it was a gift for my parents & they have thoroughly enjoyed it... So though I can't speak for it myself, it has been an awesome treat & a great laugh out loud belly laugh for my parents... And indeed a good purchase for me to have bought them...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 December 2012
I rated it like that because they good.The people have one of the best Quality product, & I will show & tell my friends, how very very Good they are & they will also order for it too.
Thanks for the good product.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 July 2006
People often seem to sneer at things just because they have Damon Wayans in them, but I really don't understand why: he's a good comic actor & I really like this film!

It's a difficult film to pigeon-hole, but try to imagine a cross between the first Police Academy movie for its premise, and Churchill: The Hollywood Years for it's caricature of an absurdly butch US Marine.

It has to be said though that it does lose its way toward the end (which is pure cheese), & some people may find it a bit hit and miss. But don't let that deter you, as the funny bits are hysterically funny. There are also several in-gags for people who have been in the armed forces.

Let's put it this way: if you think that excessively PC American comedies like Friends or Will & Grace are the very epitome of funny - this film is probably not for you. If you prefer a more juvenile type of comedy which involves punching and farting, it may be worth a look.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 March 2007
i must admit im biased as i find damon wayans movies enjoyable and genreally funny, this was a movie that fulfilled this objective. It was basically a comical movie about a war vetern whose life was his job and then it gets taken away from him.the only way he can stay in the army is to take over a ROTC program with a school that hasnt made a notable achievement in the cadet field. it is fun watching the major tame the kids and the kids soften the major. At the same time the movie loses direction near the end and tries to finish in a hurry.this doesnt mean that it isnt a good movie to watch and enjoy the gags and the cameo performances from people like Bambam bigglo of wwf and witly,i think it is from cosby's.this film is as good as Blankman is , which is another early damon wayans movie
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 June 2005
THIS IS THE BEST WAYANS MOVIE EVER, PERIOD!.IF YOU THINK MY WIFE AND KIDS IS FUNNY WELL YOU'LL HAVE TO SEE THIS THEN THINK AGAIN.I'VE BEEN LOOKING FOR THIS FILM FOR YEARS NOT EVEN HMV OR BLOCKBUSTERS STILL HAVE IT.BUT GUESS WHERE I FIND IT IN OUR BELOVED AMAZON. BUY THIS AND ENJOY DONT EAT / DRINK ANYTHING WHILE WATCHING IT MIGHT PROVE DANGEROUS.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2015
it's a fun DVD
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 May 2011
Seen this when I was a kid an I loved then my mother taped over it :-( seen it on here and had to get it on DVD and it's still funny now as it was then, wot an epic film if u want a laugh then get this!!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£5.35

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)