Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Edition - Sgt. Pepper Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
31
4.4 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 March 2017
loved it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 24 November 2006
The Broken Sword saga kicks off with the best you can get in point 'n' click adventure. You play George Stobbart, an American tourist who's visiting Europe. After a stop off for a coffee at a French cafe, George finds himself chasing after an international assassin dressed as a clown, gets dragged into a global conspiracy with roots going back to the 11th century, travels the world in trying to find pieces of a puzzle to a mysterious document and to top it all off he gets continuously heckled by a French journalist.

Although this sounds like something Dave Gorman would end up doing by accident after getting drunk, the game itself is a supurb piece of entertainment. The puzzles take you in gradually - there's nothing here that is so quirky and so abstract you'll hurt yourself thinking about it -and the first half an hour is probably the most fun I've had on a computer game. Revolution had a go at the adventure genre with Lure of the Temptress, improved upon it with Beneath the Steel Sky and ended up with creating one of the most likeable characters to grace a computer screen, with no small thanks to Rolf Saxon who plays him.

BS 2 goes off on a tangent with more quirky humour and slightly harder puzzles. Indeed, at one point George himself states that "I scare myself sometimes" when trying to work out one in a particular. This makes out that the creators are self-aware and know how other games can very nearly be impossible to work out unless you use the old "try everything with everything else" technique which gives no sense of enjoyment - just relief that you can get on with your life. The second - and the rest of them - are enjoyable, but the first will never be beaten.

American hero, French heroine, British humour. Supurb.
0Comment| 41 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 August 2007
I bought Broken Sword The sleeping Dragon first and enjoyed it so much I looked for more of the same and discovered Broken Sword 1 and 2 on Amazon.Other reviewers have given these games a glowing report so all I shall do is endorse every good thing they,ve said. At this giveaway price you will be getting a real bargain. Go ahead and buy in case supplies dry up.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2006
This is perhaps the greatest point and click saga ever made and in my opinion the greatest games period. The humour, action,puzzles and voice work is superb. Believe me when I say YOU MUST OWN THIS GAME!!!! You wont regret it.
p.s I'd advise buying this with the third game Sleeping Dragon, the best of the series.
p.p.s A new game will be arriving soon called the Angel of Death.
0Comment| 45 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 November 2007
I happened to play Broken Sword 3 before I got hold of these, but I got stuck and did not complete it. Playing these two inspired me to dash back to finish it, (and run out to buy Angel of Death), they were so entertaining. Harking back to the days where everything was 2D and game designers apparently had a sense of humour, both games are brilliant, although I feel the original is slightly better. George, the American goofball hero, is an endearing character prompted by circumstances, pretty journalists and blatant curiosity, to get involved in a whirlwind plot of murder, secret societies and exploding accordions. Hilarious.
Broken Sword 2 I found to be a slightly less thrilling fill in between 1 and 3. The major flaw was the lack of excitement at the end. In the other Broken Sword installments you have to think and act quickly to prevent the villains bumping you off sharpish. Here all you had to do was solve Nico and George's separate puzzles, walk a few steps and settle back to watch the final cutscene.
Nonetheless, I loved these two games and they have successfully hooked me on all present and future volumes of the Broken Sword series.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 October 2006
The whole Broken Sword series is excellent. Lot of puzzles to keep your brain going. The earlier ones are slightly easier than the newer series so you may wish to try these first before progressing but I would certainly recommend them
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 August 2006
paris: a brilliant setting for a game its colourful backgrounds and fantastic theme tunes really do make this game. The story line has so much depth and is really long. There are so many different places to go and lots of individual characters with their own voices and attitudes.after you finish the first game you are desperate to play the second, buy this game ¬!!!!! a bargain at only 5 pounds alot of credit to amazon on the price and delivery too
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2010
When I was younger, my brother used to own the first game of the Broken Sword franchise and I would have a go on it, completing a few levels. But then I got stuck on a certain level and I never got to finish the game. Years later, when I discovered that they were still selling these games on Amazon, I just had to get my hands on them again.

The Shadow of the Templars and the Smoking Mirror are great point and click adventure games that involve solving puzzles and interacting with other characters. Set in several locations around the world, George Stobbart, an American tourist and his love interest, a French journalist named Nico Collard, solve mysteries connected with parts of history including the Knights Templars.

These two Broken Sword games are really fun to play; the highlights for me are that the stories are well written and the chemistry between the two characters, George and Nico, is fantastic. I recommend these games to anyone whose interested in buying a good old game that involves adventure. But I must also say that the game is very addictive. Once you start, you can't stop until it ends.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 October 2007
I wish i could go back through time to when games like this where still made..the 90's was the golden age for playstation 1 and games in general...timeless games like this and discworld fill me with such a happy feeling i can not describe which i havent felt since super nintendo days..i can still play these timeless games as it being cartoon 2D and it will not ever age...EVER...and still be lost in a timeless world..i wish i could get amnesia and forget what to do in these games as these games have crap replay value for a person with a extremely good memory,(><)i aint even going to start with a review and wreck these games for you..just get them along with discworld 1 and 2 and get lost in a whole different dimension..truly awsome games that are not made anymore which is such a shame..
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 July 2008
if you havent got this you have to buy it ive played each one at least three times it a classic point and click and for this price you cant go wrong so BUY IT!!!!!!!!!!!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See one answered question


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)