Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
34
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£3.75+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 23 January 2007
The quick and simple answer is YES ! This is a great album with a fantastic sound.

I suppose the thing everyone focuses on are the vocals which may be off putting to some but are easily as much a part of the music as any of the instruments and the album simply wouldn't have worked as well without the unique sound that is generated by them.

In a summer where every album sounded the same this one was a welcome relief & having seen these guys perform live at the tail end of last year it was nice to hear that in these days of mass post production studio touch-up's they sound exactly the same on stage as they do on the album.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 October 2005
I'm surprised I'm the first person to review this album on Amazon considering the incredible hype it's received. Initially championed by Pitchfork, they have received the "next best thing" tag from almost everywhere. All this despite only recently signing a record deal (the band managed to sell in excess of 10,000 copies themselves through word of mouth) So is the hype legitimate? Are they the new Arcade Fire? Will they save rock and roll? Is the lead singers (Alec Ounsworth) voice crap? Well the latter question depends on personal taste I suppose. From the first track, a weird "roll up roll up" circus type announcement, you can tell that Alecs voice is definitely not conventional. There are the obvious shades of David Byrne throughout but by the time "The Skin of My Yellow Country Teeth" ends (and slides beautifully into "Is this Love?") you're singing into your hairbrush trying to replicate that tuneless wail. ."Details of the War" ,"In this Home of Ice" and "Upon This Tidal Wave of Young Blood" are the highlight tracks, the latter ending with a gorgeous 2 minute repetition of the words "child starts" It's definitely an album that gets better as it goes on, please don't give up after the first track ! And also an album that becomes even better when you spend time reading the lyrics on the inlay card. Is it worth the hype? I think so but buy it quick before the backlash.....
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 October 2005
The hype is true for once! The David Byrne influence is there but these guys are quite unique. Every tune is a catchy, tight and well layered with quality,interesting lyrics to match. These guys are touring the UK in November with tickets starting from a fiver, you need to see them!!!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2006
Clap Your Hands Say Yeah are a band that have not realised how good they actually are. Sure the album takes a couple of listens to get into and your first listen can often leave you wondering what is wrong with his voice. this being their first album you can still some shakiness in their playin, but this again works in their favour.
There are some elements of Hot Hot Heats first album present in this album, with the unique voices and keyboard use. These are definately up and coming stars. However, it is one of those bands which you either love or hate so my advice is to download some tracks first or infact go to their website and listen to some of the songs on there.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 March 2006
These days, every debut album is considered an immediate masterpiece... or at least they are according to the snobs at Pitchfork, Q and the NME. I don't normally buy it myself. I mean, how much faith can you have in a band if you honestly think they can do no better than that first naive clutch of four-chord energising and lyrical rumination?? Imagine the musical landscape today if acts like Radiohead, The Cure, Pulp, Beck, Anthony and the Johnsons, Björk, Cocteau Twins, Scott Walker, Talking Heads and Neutral Milk Hotel had all called it quits after their first albums, subsequently denying the world the pleasures of OK Computer, Disintegration, I am a Bird Now, Homogenic, Treasure, Tilt, Remain in Light and In The Aeroplane Over the Sea!! However, having said that, Clap Your Hands Say Yeah is one of those albums that - if the band do decide they want to call it a day in the next five months - is nothing to be ashamed of... standing alongside other great (recent) debuts like Turn on the Bright Lights, Fever to Tell, The Milk Eyed Mender, Castaways and Cutouts, and Faded Seaside Glamour.
Whatever it is that makes bands great, Clap Your Hands Say Yeah have got it!! The album unfolds perfectly, with great track following great track, and the record as a whole featuring a terrific sound and an absolutely wonderful production. Stylistically, Clap Your Hands... have pulled off the trick of managing to blend personal influences into a sound of their own, with that particular sound incorporating elements of Talking Heads, Arcade Fire and the Animal Collective (in the way the band use exotic percussion and elaborate rhythms to advance of the typical indie-rock template), whilst there's the lush dream-pop element of bands like The Shins, The Delays, My Bloody Valentine and, I suppose, the odd shard of The Olivia Tremor Control/Circulatory System, all tied together by a singer who sounds remarkably like a strange (though no less stunning) amalgamation of Greg Gilbert, David Byrne and Thom Yorke. You could probably add further stylistic parallels to the studio-based pop of XTC and the same jerky-80's style indie-dance/pop rhythms favoured by the likes of Franz Ferdinand, The Arctic Monkeys and Bloc Party... though again, with a more unique approach that sounds absolutely nothing like anyone else currently making music!!
The album opens with the bizarre stomp of Clap Your Hands - a song that could very well be an outtake from the Tom Waits' masterpiece Blood Money - which has had some listeners sadly reaching for the ear-plugs (or the stop-button). Then again, some listeners would rather have Jack Johnson and Corrine Bailey Rae over the sublime pop presented here... so it's their loss!! The rest of the songs establish a sound somewhat similar to the one I tried to describe above, with the guitarist going for a lush shoegazer-style shimmer made up of layers of different distortion, which becomes even more gorgeous when coupled with those vocals... with Alec Ounsworth here recalling a young Damo Suzuki, as he bends and distorts the shape and sound of the lyrics, in order to make them fit those lush musical melodies. Some songs employ a flourishing bombardment of guitar effects (like the excellent In This Home of Ice), whilst some bring in a touch of keyboards (Over and Over Again), a children's music-box (short instrumental Sunshine and Clouds) and even a tasteful touch of acoustic guitar (perhaps my favourite track here, Upon This Tidal Wave of Young Blood... which recalls the classic British indie-sound of early Stone Roses, The Field Mice and The Pastels, alongside those prevalent nods to the Talking Heads).
The whole album holds together exceedingly well, though the highlights are definitely Let the Cool Goddess Rust Away, Details of the War, Over and Over Again, The Skin of My Yellow Country Teeth, In This Home on Ice and that lovely abovementioned closing track, This Tidal Wave of Young Blood. Clap Your Hands Say Yeah is a magnificent album from a great new band, who unlike the Arctic Monkeys (who are OK, I guess), really deserve the hype. This is one of those debut albums that really could be considered a classic debut (in my opinion at least), and genuinely shows us a band who can take on board retro-elements and influences (like the ones listed throughout) and still sound interesting and unique. Clap Your Hands Say Yeah is a wildly inventive, perfectly performed and absolutely joyous album that is easily as much fun as recent releases by the Animal Collective and Tilly and the Wall, and probably presents another early highlight of the year thus far!!
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 December 2013
I really like this album. It skips along at a jolly old pace and is great music to run to. Some will find the vocals jarring that wheel around like a drunken ringmaster but for me they are part of the unique charm.

Aside from track 1, which sound like steam organ music, the tracks are quite samey and I can't really tell one from another but they throw in a couple of acoustic numbers which is just enough variation to keep me absolutely hooked as I sing along to the mostly indecipherable lyrics.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 July 2011
I bought this on the strength of hearing one track "details of the war" and it remains my favourite on the album. The rest though is a delightful diversion from what gets promoted and played on the airwaves. Simple songs, well written and played. One to sit back and enjoy with on a warm evening.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 June 2006
I bought the album and listend....and listened and couldn't stop litening to it. Talk about an album getting under your skin. There are so many uplifting catchy hooks that it's hard to pick a favourite song. Yes the singing is strange (at first) but it actually grows on you and becomes an important element of the music. I have had this from it's release date and it's lost no appeal at all. The must have record of the summer.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 March 2009
Quite simply the best album I've bought for a long time. I first downloaded it, then bought it, and now I can't stop playing it, and smiling when I do.

I'm a clap happy chappy, all thanks to CYHSY!

Jo
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 October 2005
I love this album, it has shades of Talking heads mixed with early Television in a 2005 way. Track 1 is kinda an intro, im sure this would not be part of the live set but tracks 2 and 3, Let the Cool (with a plodding doves like bass line coupled with quirkly David Bryne type vocal) and over and Over (must be the single) set the tone, other memorable tracks are The Skin of my yellow country teeth and Is this Love..one of those albums you will just love, order it.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£3.95
£13.78
£9.99
£3.08

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)