Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
56
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£8.74+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 May 2006
The animation of this Appleseed re-make is nothing short of breathtaking. The mecha scenes, and all the battle scenes are epic, with every single piece of this feature choreographed to perfection. My only gripe is that some of the human animations seem to be a bit choppy. Here and there I notice certain movements, (which would be the hardest to produce using CG), have been cut, or are traded for more economical movements, and shots, or just look plain wooden. These are in the vast minority though, and often I can see where choices to economise certain shots pay huge dividends in other pieces where the additional detail, or the extra frames now available resulted in some of the most fluid, breathtakingly, beautiful animation I've ever witnessed.

Additionally, the features on the DVD are great! Time has been put into producing quality extras, which are second only to the main feature in watchability.

As an aside, I'd recommend to anyone who hasn't seen the original appleseed; watch that too!
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 May 2017
Lovely film really enjoyable then again as a fan what can i say more :)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 September 2005
quite simply, this film is a stunning visual feast. The use of 3d computer generated animation, coupled with a traditional anime shading on the characters, has produced a completely unique look to this film, quite unlike anything else on the animation scene, and i'd be surprised if more studios don't take a leaf out of Geneons book and make use of a similair technique. however, unlike a lot of reviews, i was actually impressed by the quality of the story telling in the film, as it remains fairly faithful to the original manga, which as a fan i was greatly impressed by. even the characterisation was more or less spot on, deunan and briareos as deadly warriors on the battlefield, but less sure when dealing with people outside of conflict, and athena as a leader trying to do what is right for two species of humanity, to name but a few.
and the action sequences, oh the action sequences! from a blistering fire fight in the opening minutes, the momentum builds from one sequence to the next, each doing something a little different each time, culminating in the spectacular running battle at the very end, where the gradual escalation of the equipment used reaches completely insane levels, as does the amount of firepower expended...
it is not however perfect. whilst the production is slick, the music superb (making use of acts from around the world, unusual for anime) and the action at times draining in its intensity, it does lag in places, espeacially in the few places where the plot relies on some quite fantastic coincidences to move events along. it might also have benefitted from a little more explanation of the backstory, espeacially in the subplot with deunan and hades.
these are small quibbles however, and despite this i still would recommend most fans of a) animation, b) intelligent action movies and c) those interested in the evolution of film technology to watch it at least once, and be amazed. i personally cannot wait to be able to watch this alongside Final Fantasy Advent Children, to witness the dawn of a new era in japanese animation..
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2006
First of all, this movie looks stunning. The animation is near flawless to my eyes beautifully blending hand-drawn, motion capture, CGI and 3D images. The music was good but could have been better given the talent that worked on the film.

As for the story, even though the premise of a post-WWIII world isn't new, this film adds to the genre nicely with plenty of plot twists and intriguing back-stories.

Action scenes are nice, nothing too over-the-top gory but with enough impacts to keep the action-hungry viewer entertained.

Overall and excellent film which definitely requires a couple viewing to fully appreciate it.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 February 2007
Visually this movie is absolutely top drawer. Wether you like 3D animated movies or not this will have your yaw heading for the floor in minutes. The semi-cell-shaded appearance allows it to keep it's traditional Anime theme but the slickness and pure quality of the 3D animations is breathtaking. Unlike the likes of Final Fantasy, it doesn't try to look real, it tries to look like Anime. In the context of a movie composed from a previous Anime OVA that makes it more fraithful to its roots.

That much being said I found the plot was a little shallow in places. I don't know if the story didn't translate 100% to animation or wether simply compressing the serialized story into one movie left it a little light on detail. It could just be that having cut my teeth on EVA and GiTS/SAC this doesn't quite push all the buttons. Either way it was an extremely entertaining watch, and will keep most Anime enthusiasts entertained, just don't expect any deep thinking or mega-mind-melting psychology. 4 stars - mostly for the visual experience.
0Comment| 38 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 September 2013
It seems mankind (no emphasis on kind) has done it again and destroyed much of the world. There is a paradise city called Olympus which is run by a group of bioroids who get advice from a computer named Gia. Bioroids are cloned humans who cannot reproduce and have limited emotion. They live among the humans and keep them under control so they don't hurt themselves or each other. Meanwhile there are brutish humans in the military who want to destroy the bioroids.

Deunan is a female human who lives outside the city in a wild zone where humans are fighting humans and they don't know why. She is taken captive by the bioroids and is enlisted to help them. The twist of this movie is that we are tricked into rooting for 1984ish Brave New World. Clean English translation.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2006
I'm not a Manga aficionado but I really Ghost In The Shell, Spirited Away, Akira and Princess Monoke. I thoroughly enjoyed Appleseed, as it's right up my street of futuristic weaponry and plenty of action.

I wasn't surprised to see that the creator of GITS had something to do with this film as that was the one film I would say it compares to. The animation is excellent and the soundtrack really fits the film. Definitely a film I'll watch a number of times.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2006
I have just started to get into anime and this is one of the best films ive seen.The animation is 3d so its not just anime its like watching a cut scene from a video game.The action is great the characters are good and the story has depth a perfect action flick its kinda like the matrix meets metal gear meets final fantasy .So if you like anime get it
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2009
I love to see beautiful visuals in anime films. While there may be some yearning for those classic days of all hand drawn animation, I have been really impressed by some of the films that have incorporated CG - such as Sky Blue.

Appleseed looks amazing, if you really appreciate visuals in anime I think you will love those in Appleseed. I also really like the mecha designs, the back drops and the combat sequences.

The plot is a bit derivative - it will not move you or make you think too hard, but it's a great action film and looks and sounds beautiful.

Now that a bit of careful shopping will net you a 2 disk special edition for about a fiver, there really is no excuse not to add this to your collection.

Recommended.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2009
When I bought this I was more than a bit skeptical of just how good it would be considering that I was sorely disappointed by the Manga video release of te first Appleseed animation.

My fears of the quality were, I'm pleased to say completely washed away inside of the first 5 minutes.

This is a truely stellar entry in the Appleseed saga as a stand alone story and I'm sure that Shirow-san would be most pleased with this.

I can honestly say that as a fan of the Appleseed universe I first encountered in the graphic novels that this CG movie really does have what it takes to match the graphic novel stories o the Appleseed world, now we just need Shirow to release more Appleseed comic book stories and I'll be even happier
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse