Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Pre-order now Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£2.89+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 November 2009
You do not have to be a baseball fan to enjoy this movie (even though I am) Every body has heard of "Babe Ruth" It's the big names that stand out like "Don Bradman" in cricket, "David Beckham" in soccer etc. It's the admiration of the person's greatness that draws you to their story and this one does not disappoint.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 October 2008
For those that are put off by the fact that this is a baseball film I would like to make one thing clear: I am not a baseball fan at all, I have watched half a game in my life and I did not enjoy it.

This film is about the life of Herman Edward (Babe) Ruth. The film covers the boy's sad life in an orphanage being brought up by Priests after his mother dies and his father doesn't want anything to do with him. After growing up in the orphanage he is then noticed by a scout at the Baltimore Oriels and thus began his illustrious baseball career.

The film then goes on to show his life off the park. His trades, his lifestyle, his lovers, relationships with other players etc. This is an incredibly well written and acted film. It shows us that our superstars are real people with real problems, how they are built up in their prime and then thrown out at the end of their careers.

This film essentially is a rags to riches but shows the real effects of having nothing and gaining everything and how it almost cost the Babe everything he had.

Do not buy this if you want a high paced sports movie, this is not Any Given Sunday. This is about the life of a person, it may be more suited to the female viewers, but this is a great family film.

Ps I don't know how accurate this film is, I am reviewing it purely as a film, I don't know very much about Babe Ruth's life myself.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2012
A Biographical film charting the life, loves and losses of, legendary baseball player, George Herman "Babe" Ruth.

The Babe begins with Ruth's days in a Baltimore boys' school where Brother Mathias takes Babe under his wing and teaches him to play baseball. The film then follows him through his phenomenal career and chaotic personal life.
From start to finish its a eye opening account of ruths' life and career he is the greatest that there's ever been this is a must for any baseball fans.
EVEN if you are not a baseball fan you will love this movie. John Goodman is amazing! he brings the legendary Baby Ruth to life in this triumphant film with this phenomenal story -- from his hard knock beginnings at a Baltimore orphanage, to his meteoric rise to baseball super stardom and his poignant retirement from the game.

His amazing life and career included seven American League pennants, four World Series championships, two tempestuous marriages and a wild lifestyle that earned him numerous suspensions.
John Goodman outstanding. The rest of the cast played their parts believably with Kelly McGillis, Bruce Boxleitner, Trini Alvarado, James Cromwell, Joseph Ragno and Michael McGrady all the cast give a great performances.
This movie explains a lot about the ups and downs of baseball in which you cannot see in the players faces in the dugout. It would be very difficult to be on top, but as this film shows its even harder to stay there.
The Babe is the definitive story of one of sport's most fascinating figures, capturing all the drama and excitement of the greatest player in baseball history.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 July 2014
Follows the story of George Herman (Babe) Ruth (John Goodman) as a troubled youth in Baltimore to his pitching stint in Boston, to being traded to the New York Yankees where he became the most famous baseball player in the world. But, he could not take care of himself and at the end he does not get to manage a baseball team. fun.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2014
this is a good film about the life of babe ruth I've watched it before but it was a while ago so watching it again still gave me the same enjoyment good easy watching film
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2014
The quality of the disc came across as a bit grainy, but i guess as we are so used to HD, a disc from many years ago could never live up to HD quality
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2011
I think this is a very good story and very entertainig well worth a look at this price. arrived very quickly.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 August 2012
John Goodman puts in a really good performance as Babe Ruth, this film is a must for sports fans even if you don't like baseball.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 June 2013
no problems, film was fantastic just what i had wanted and the delivery was prompt and no issues, i would recommend.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 November 2009
It is one of life's ironies that one of the crappiest games ever invented (it is just restyled rounders after all) manages to produce some stonking films. Has there ever been a good football or cricket film?

This is about the "legendary" Babe Ruth who was a bit of a monster really. A storming central performance by John Goodman who really seems to capture all the nuances of the Babe.

Bargain price and well worth watching even for those who can't stand baseball - which is everyone but the Americans.
44 comments| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)