Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

  • Want
  • Customer Reviews

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
22
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
20
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£14.31+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 December 2005
Always intended as a double album, this is final form of Rufus' two magnificent albums Want One and Want Two. More polished than the self-titled work and more varied and adventerous than Poses: Want is his finest offering to date.
This album is an effortless (yet meticulous) fusion of the classical and contemporary in a way I didn't think was possible. All this is delivered with a (melo)drama and even humour that suits perfectly.
He's been compared as a more colourful James Blunt, but I disagree. Owing to his practically veteran musical status I'd say James Blunt is a duller version of Rufus Wainwright.
I've never given an album 5 stars before with so much confidence.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2006
i came across these two albums as an amazon recommendation, and jumped in without thinking, not knowing rufus' work, but reliant on loudon's lineage.
played both cd's through end-to-end in the car and hated them! horrid pop music! horrible amazon!
then...
got caught in traffic and want two played again... and suddenly it switched me and i can't get rid of the sounds, the strings, the lyrics. been playing it ever since.
ignore these albums at your loss.
this week's highlights include: the one you love; oh what a world; waiting for a dream; and my absolute fave - go or go ahead. but you'll find more and more depth if you look.
blends of pop, roots, folk, baroque, sex, religion, politics with the lush strings are sublime.
"and an ogre in the oval office"
buy this.
now.
11 comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 December 2005
I can't believe the 2 best best albums of recent years by a long mile are available on 1 disc. If you don't buy this you are mad or have exceptionally poor taste. Rufus Wainwright has resurrected the art of songwriting single handedly, while effortlessly throwing together the most beautiful arrangements and bucket loads of integrity.
I am Still listening to these recordings daily since they were released.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 January 2006
After listening to these albums, I can now say that I am a full blown Rufus Wainwright fanatic! These albums are amazing. I recommend them to everyone, as you need to hear them in order to understand Wainwright's lyrical genius. Only he could get away with the lyrics..."better pray for your sins.... 'cos the gay messiah's coming" GENIUS!
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 January 2006
In response to the music 'fan' from Australia's review of Want 1 & 2 I would like to say that not only is Rufus the best songwriting talent of the 21st century he also pushes music to it's boundaries and fulfils expectation with all that he does.
Want is a work of art and soon enough Rufus will be recognised as the genius that he is.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 May 2006
These two albums are definitely 'growers'. At first they may sound overblown and self-involved, but let them get under your skin and what you'll find are well-crafted songs and a musicianship that is hardly ever seen into today's pop music.

Just a note: this edition of Want does not include the Want One bonus tracks which remain exclusive to the UK/European Want One standalone disc.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2006
I'm so besotted with this album right now I don't think I can write a coherent review after all, so I'll just say this: It's wonderful. Buy it.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2006
I know it was posted a while ago but please for gods sake don't listen to that guy from Australia!, these albums are both of the highest quality from one of the greatest signer songwriters in recent times.
If you get the chance to see this guy live take it from me move heaven and earth to do so!
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 September 2006
Any artist who can boast of a celebrity fanbase including Elton John, Sting, Neil Tennant, the Scissor Sisters (I could go on), is surely a curiousity in the eyes of any self-respecting music lover. These figures, just like millions worldwide, are fans of Rufus Wainwright, one of most individual, profound, and utterly unique musicians of the modern era. As well as being a skilled guitarist and intricate pianist, Wainwright's voice can be soaring, fragile, and beautiful. He is also one of the most charismatic and charming characters in music. Rufus's first two music were a complex blend of folk and americana, tinged with moments of pop and real emotion, both his eponymous debut and it's follow up "Poses" are select additions to any collection. Yet it's his third and fourth efforts that are truly magical, and essential for any lover of music.

"Want One" and "Want Two" were recorded simultaneously, and both were subsequently produced by Marius de Vries. Both works are grand, majestic pieces, though are different from one another in certain ways. "Want One" is slightly poppier, whilst Two is deeper and more mysterious, though both are blatantly born of Wainwright's imagination and talent. There are moments that are reminiscent of musicals ("Oh What A World", "14th Street") with layers of instruments creating grand and heroic ballads, whilst there are others that are darker and evocative ("Dinner At Eight", "Agnus Dei", "The Art Teacher"), songs which really draw attention to Rufus's fragility, as well as underlining his utterly wonderful voice. There are also of course, moments of pure pop brilliance ("Beautiful Child", "The One You Love", "I Don't Know What It Is"), extravagant and gorgeous, there are so many highlights on these two albums that it's hard to decide which songs to mention in this review without neglecting yet another opus!

"Want One" and "Want Two" are two of the finest albums of the 21st century, musically diverse, superbly produced, wonderfully performed, both works are pieces of magical song-writing and flawless grandeur. Although his first two albums are brilliant, Wainwright has truly excelled himself with these beautiful efforts. Essential.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 November 2005
If you like music and have not heard of Rufus then what planet are you from? This 2 cd set is a give away. If your preference is for well crafted music coupled with intelligent, thoughtful lyrics then you probably own 'Want One' and 'Want Two' already. If you don't know about Rufus then shame on you! 'Want' serves as a wonderful introduction to a refreshing and unique talent.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£4.75
£4.35
£5.46

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)