Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
11
4.4 out of 5 stars
5 star
7
4 star
3
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
1
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 April 2007
I first saw this film 20 years ago on a wet afternoon in winter. I'd never heard of it before despite being a huge James Stewart fan and wondered why it had passed me by. After watching it I was even more baffled as it is a wonderful film dominated by the indominatable spirit of a mother's undying love and faith in her son. He was accused of murder and despite all the evidence against him is facing the death sentence. His elderly mother works all the hours possible, even taking a job cleaning floors to earn all the money she can to help pay for a reward clearing her son. A journalist played by James Stewart takes up the case and despite his early misgivings is slowly drawn into believing the man is innocent. It is a long journey but the film doesn't drag and builds to a tense climax which leads to the man's innocence being proven as the chief witness against him is found out to have lied under oath. Based on a true story, this is a film that will sit proudly in anyone's collection.
22 comments| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 24 August 2014
When a patrol cop is shot and killed, small time crook Frank Wiecek is tried for the crime and promptly sentenced to life imprisonment. Some 11 years on, tough cookie reporter P.J. McNeal gets involved with the case, the further he delves, the more he believes that Wiecek is innocent, but can he find evidence to back up his belief?

Filmed in semi-documentary style by director Henry Hathaway, this James Stewart led noir thriller oozes realism from start to finish. It's actually the lack of gloss and glamour that is the film's trump card. Based on the real story of the Joe Majczek case in 1933, it's filmed perfectly on location in Chicago {where the actual events happened}, gloriously mood emphasised by Joe MacDonald's superb black & white cinematography, and scored with tonal adroitness by Alfred Newman. As intrepid Chicago Times reporter McNeal (based on real reporter Jim McGuire who was a Pulitzer Prize winner for his investigative efforts on this case), James Stewart lays down a marker for the more edgier character roles that would follow for him in the 50s. Here he plays it perfect as McNeal shifts from mere cynical newsman to an outright crusader of justice; and it's riding along with McNeal that this human interest piece lifts itself to great crime thriller heights. Along the way we find problems are encountered and police procedural techniques are scrutinised. All may not be as it first seemed, and this mysterious element ices what was already a delightful docu-drama based cake.

There is not much else to say, it's a film I personally highly recommend, a fascinating story that is given top care and attention from all involved, mean, moody and yes, magnificent. 8/10
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 July 2012
Such a great film!
Film Noir at it's best. Convincing performances all round in this true story.
The dreadful news is you can't buy it in the UK encoded in PAL.
SHAME ON YOU FOX / 20th CENTURY FOX.
Anybody wanting to put this into their collection is forced to buy the NTSC US Version.
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 November 2009
Oldish B & W film that I remembered seeing a long time ago, only because of how the 'evidence' that proves a mscarriage of justice, is attained. Its one man's belief in another's innocence and his dogged determination to get to the truth. The 'little man' fights the 'state', and wins. It also stars a young Jimmy Stewart who I regard as one of Hollywood's finest.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 May 2009
Stewart gives a great performance as the reporter racing to clear the name of what he comes to believe is a wrongfully convicted man. Keeps you on the edge of your seat as it thunders to the finale.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2013
I know it was an old film but I thought it was one James Stewarts best performances.

I rated it 10/10
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 November 2013
VERY good and gripping film, based on a true story. you will probably want to watch this more than once!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 September 2012
I got the product good in condition. It is somehow blocked from playing on DVD players in the European region and therefore the product is useless to me or anyone else who whished to buy it in Europe.Very dissapointing as this was a gift for my father in law. I placed it into the DVD player as normal and then I got a message telling me the disc cannot be played in this region, I should have been advised of this risk before the purchase.
22 comments| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 May 2015
A miscarriage of justice is investigated by Jimmy Stewart a thoroughly entertaining two hours
based on a true story well directed by Henry Hathaway
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 August 2015
Perfect. Very happy Speedy delivery and highly recommended seller. Many Thanks
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)