Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
41
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 December 2005
Firstly, there are 3 covers on this album, not 4, my generation has nothing to do with the original.
This is a great album of all the hits Limp Bizkit has brought us over the years and signifies the end of their time as a mainstream band. It's packed with all the familiar hits such as Rollin, My Generation, Take A Look Around, Break Stuff, Nookie and My Way. Aswell as the fans favourites such as Counterfeit and Boiler. The album captures the energy of the music that made the Bizkit so dam good! I must also add that a standout of the album is bonus track "The Truth" which marks the start of a new era for the band.
Great album, buy it!
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 November 2005
The glory days of Nu-Metal may be over but Limp Bizkit have been one of the groups that have survived. OK their last album was not the most successful but they are now back with a greatest hits and it still sounds as good as ever. one of the pioneers of Nu-Metal Limp Bizkit had a habit of churning out song after song that was full of energy littered with infections energy and huge guitar riffs. All your old favourites are here, the smash hit rollin' and follow up my way, the hard and rough sounds of my generation, the older LB classics but equally hard Break Stuff and Nookie, Take a Look Around (made famous by Mission Impossible 2) and the ballad remix Behind Blue Eyes starring Halle Berry in the heart rendering video. Im no longer a big fan of rock but this is one album i will be purchasing for sheer energy the the great of amount of fun you can do jumping round your playing air guitar thinking your some kinda rockstar! for a LB greatest hits this is definately the set list i would have chosen, bit disappointed no new material but can live with that.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 March 2016
I'm nearing 50 and have fallen in love with Break Stuff. On one of the s**t days when the world is against you, there's nothing better than playing it very, very loud. My first LB cd but not the last.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 2 November 2007
Alongside KoRn, Limp Bizkit deserve either the credit or the blame for starting the nu-metal craze that dominated music in the late nineties and early noughties. Blending rap and metal in a much more clumsy way than KoRn did, they've gone multi-platinum many times and are mostly remembered for two things: Fred Durst and that album about the Hot Dogs.

But going on Greatest Hitz, Limp Bizkit weren't nearly as bad as people imply. Fred Durst, admittedly, is probably one of the worst frontmen of all time. If you can't ignore that, then you need to ignore this record and all of their other ones. However if you can get past his awful lyrics - although in the early days (and the latter days I'll get to later) he wasn't nearly as annoying as he now is - then there's a great deal of good stuff on Greatest Hitz, an album that for the most part is of a high standard.

It'd be easy to say the early material is the best, or that they have always been terrible, but that's simply not the case. There are three phases of Limp Bizkit which deserve separate analysis. The first phase is the early one, the first two albums - they contained what any fan would describe their best songs. The band behind Durst really shine, particularly the woefully underrated Wes Borland, backing their frontman with metal, rap beats, funky basslines, massive riffs and occasionally even near-psychedelic jams on the likes of 'Nookie' and 'Re-Arranged.' 'Break Stuff' isn't as good, a song that's great when you're a teenager but as soon as you get over that angst it's awful, while the cover of George Michael's 'Faith' is a love-it-or-hate-it song. This writer chooses to love it.

The second phase consists of what I'd refer to as the 'lost years,' starting with third album Chocolate Starfish And The Hot Dog Flavoured Water. An album ever bit as bad as its name implies, it was impossible to listen to all the way through. But its name, notoriety and 'Rollin' bely the couple of great songs it produced, namely 'My Way' and the underrated 'Boiler,' the latter of which saw little airplay due to its video. Fourth album Results May Vary was even worse, and barely saw the light of day. 'Eat You Alive' has a great riff - although the quiet middle section is Bizkit-by-numbers - but 'Behind Blue Eyes' is simply terrible, just like the rest of its home album. Left over from those sessions are a handful of spare tracks, like the decent 'Lean On Me' and the surprisingly convincing amalgamated cover of 'Home Sweet Home/Bittersweet Symphony'.

However, the third phase finds a new beginning to Limp Bizkit. Wes Borland quit after Chocolate Starfish, replaced by Mike Smith (formerly of Snot), who recorded Results May Vary. After this failed to gel, Borland - to the surprise of just about everyone - returned. Durst stopped gobbling up publicity. And holed up in a studio, with no promotion or singles, they created The Unquestionable Truth (Part One). Based on 'The Truth,' the only song from it that is included on this album, Limp Bizkit had, before Borland once again quit, entered a new phase of vitality where their mouth is no longer where their money is and Borland was finally able to stretch out.

All in all, Greatest Hitz shows that Limp Bizkit were never quite as bad as people say they were - although they were often awful. However, until Unquestionable Truth (Part Two), this is really all the Bizkit you'll ever need.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 October 2009
This Cd is a nice easy way to catch up with the most obvious hits from the now reformed Bizkit.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 November 2015
I bought this CD for my boyfriend last Christmas, I wanted to get him a collection of CD's from bands that were his favourites as a teenager. Its a great album, so many good hits!! Would deffo recommend.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 June 2012
This collection has all the songs by Limp Bizkit that I love. It also shows that there often is a reason why some songs become hits - they simply are the band's best songs, and to me all of these songs deserved to be hits.

Now there are some songs that fans will miss, mostly album tracks like "Just Like This", "No Sex", "Hot Dog", "Getcha Groove On" and "Gimme the Mic". The single "Sour" isn't included either, but for me these tracks aren't big losses. I didn't even notice they were gone the first few times I played the disc, which just shows what a great compilation "Greatest Hitz" is.

I'm glad they included the minor hit "Boiler" and "Build a Bridge", because "Results May Vary" may have been a bad album, but "Build a Bridge" is a good song.

The new tracks aren't that great, but not bad either. I find them okay and a nice way to end the collection. Too bad "The Truth" isn't on my copy of the album!

For all but the most devoted rap-metal fan, this is pretty much all the Limp Bizkit you'll ever need.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2014
Had so many requests to play some of their hits on my radio show, and so glad i have added this to my collection. Not a massive fan of theirs, but regardless of this, it was a excellent quality album, as well as all services related to this purchase. So very many THANKS!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 May 2006
Firstly, understand this: I am in no way a fan of Fred Durst and I am not a great fan of his band, although I believe that Jon Otto, Wes Borland and Sam Rivers are fairly talented musicians, certainly above average.

Also I'd like to point out that it was Geffen who made the band produce this collection, as part of their contract, so it wasn't really an attempt to glorify themselves or make more money, as some people have tried to argue.

Limp Bizkit are now one of the rock world's most hated and ridiculed bands for many reasons, namely because of one man, vocalist, Fred Durst. Durst's trademark rap lyrics combined with the hard rocking hip-hop influenced music provided by his band has long since gone out of fashion, not making life any easier for them. Wes Borland has quit the band and returned recently and there was, course Durst's embarrassing infatuation with Britney Spears (Oh, why?)
My opinions of the songs are as follows -

1. Counterfeit ("Three Dollar Bill Y'all")- A good opener from their debut album, includes a funky bassline and some heavy guitaring for the chorus. Durst makes a valid point about fakes and fad-followers, though ironically this kind of music spawned exactly this kind of behaviour.

2. Faith ("Three Dollar Bill Y'all", George Michael cover)- As this song is so well-known from the George Michael original, it is a shock to hear a cover of it, especially from Limp Bizkit. Musically, I think the way Wes and co. heavied it up was good combined with some interesting turntable scratching after the second chorus. Fred's vocals however are pretty dire and the shouting really doesn't work.

3. Nookie ("Significant Other")- This song has a hip-hop beat combined with the usual heavy chrous formula. Durst's lyrics are pretty awful, but well combined for the verses, but the chorus is imature and simplistic.

4. Break Stuff ("Significant Other")- I personally think this is one of the better songs from this collection. There are very few silly background effects and the song is a good angry metaller with hip-hop lyrics, what the genre should be all about. There are some genuinely mosh-worthy parts to the song and the lyrics are quite well done, even if they are once again imature and arrogant.

5.Re-Arranged ("Significant Other")- At last, a more mature Fred Durst talks about "letting go" in this quieter song with much less heavy parts from Wes, who keeps the melody going steadily. However, this song doesn't really make you feel that interested in or sorry for Durst, as he goes into self-pity mode.

6. N 2 Gether Now ("Significant Other", featuring Method Man)- This is a hip-hop song. On a rock band's greatest hits. This is in my opinion, the worst song on the album by far. The music is non existant, just an irritating repetitve hip-hop tune and artificial drumming. Method Man outshines Durst at rapping but the chorus, samples of someone saying "Shut the f*ck up, just shut the f*ck up" is laughably stupid.

7. Take A Look Around ("Chocolate Starfish...")- This shows again that the band is capable of producing a musically talented song with few effects or gimmicks, creating metal version of the famous Mission Impossible soundtrack. This works really well on the quiet parts and the heavier. Durst's lyrics still leave something to be desired as he tries to be philosophical but comes out annoying and makes little sense with lines such as "life is a lesson, you learn it when you're through".

8. My Generation ("Chocolate Starfish...")- This song opens with a cringingly embarrassing line from Durst, but proceeds into some good drumming from Jon Otto and some good guitar and bass work. I find the lyrics ruin the song somewhat, with childish profanities fired regularly, but if you can look past this the song isn't bad.

9.Rollin(Air Raid Vehicle) ("Chocolate Starfish...")- This song is bouncy and fun but it really cannot be taken seriously. The drumming and bass are pretty impressive, it's just a shame the chorus is so infamously repetitive.

10. My Way ("Chocolate Starfish...")- This is another of the better songs from this album. Durst shows a slightly more mature attitude in this song (I say slightly). I think the bass is impressive and the only real bad thing I can say is that it drags on too long with the annoying sample repeated over and over again at the end.

11. Boiler ("Chocolate Starfish...")- I'm no expert on the "Chocolate Starfish..." album but I'm sure Bizkit fans could select a better song from it than this. For me, the heavy riff isn't constant enough and Durst raps like is is a kid trying to deal with adult problems, which does him no favours at all.

12. Eat You Alive ("Results May Vary")- I think this is one of the best songs here.. There is a good main riff that lasts for two choruses before mellowing out slighlty before building up once more. It would have been better if new guitarist Mike Smith had provided tgis riff for more of the song but it still works well. Even Fred Durst has improved. Gone are the pointless background effects and irritating rap and now there is singing combined with a shout/screamed chorus. Lyrics are patchy but at least Durst has proven he has vocal credentials.

13. Behind Blue Eyes ("Results May Vary", The Who cover)- Another cover song? On a greatest hits? This is pushing it slightly. The song however is a good effort from Durst as he sings a lot better than in his other cover song "Faith". The song is the kind of self-pitying stuff we expect from Durst but it is done like he means it now, with real effort. The song is however, is mutilated by a pair of strange techno voice samples where a nice bit of guitar strumming would have been good. This aside, I don't know why fans make such a big deal out of this song. It seems good to me.

14. Build A Bridge("Results May Vary", featuring Brian "Head" Welch)- A good song with a mellow set of verses combined with a heavier but at the same time soft chorus with great backing vocals. One of my favourites out of this collection.

15. Why - A previously unreleased track from "Results May Vary", which was cut for the want of heavier material. It seems a shame to have cut it, though I have not heard all of RMV, this is a good song, albeit, very similar to "Build A Bridge" in strucure and vocals.

16. Lean On Me - Another song scrapped from RMV, Durst here shows a softer side yet and another mature performance. The acoustic guitar works well and makes this ong a quiet but thoughtful song about love. Has Fred grown up? What happened to nookie and breaking stuff? This is very impressive work from a man who was once making music about this sort of thing.

17. Home Sweet Home/Bittersweet Symphony (Motley Crue/The Verve cover) - Having so many cover songs on a greatest hits album doesn't do LimpBizkit's reputation any good but these 2 rolled into 1 are satisfying but nothing spectacular. The band does not add anything great to these classics from two rock giants, but it satisfies.

18. The Truth ("The Unquestionable Truth Pt. 1", UK Bonus Track)- This is the only song from LimpBizkit's latest release "The Unquestionable Truth Pt. 1" to be included and only as a bonus track for us lucky Britains (sarc.). This song marks the return of Wes Borland on guitar for the last album and his presence has clearlu givenb LB a boost creatively. However this song is not strong because it is suspiciously similar to a Rage Against The Machine song, as does a lot of "The Unquestionable Truth Pt. 1". Durst even tries to imitate Zach de la Rocha's voice and become philosophical, which really doesn't work and makes his voice very irritating. Wes's guitar riff is good but it is similar to the work of Tom Morello and I sense taht the style has been copied (Though badly).

Overall, I feel this CD was at it's strongest during the "Results May Vary" era of 2003, despite the lack of Wes Borland. Although Durst has matured, he is now more irritating than ever and I fear for teh band if Pt. 2 of the latest album is anything like the first. Fred Durst Just needs to grow up, ditch the cap, wear some clothes that suit him and get a reallity check. He CAN sing and shout pretty well, he just needs to keep from making an idiot of himself anymore to protect what is left of his shattered credibility.
11 Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 November 2013
I grew up with Limp Bizkit when I was younger, I got this album and I am surprised with the songs on the album.

So, here goes my song by song review, starting from the top.

Counterfeit and Faith are from 3 Dollar Bill Yall, LB's first album. Both songs are head-bangers and good to listen to.

From the album Significant Other, Nookie is a slower track, not slow slow, but enough so you can hear Durst's lyrics. Break stuff has a catchy beat and guitar stands out well. Re-Arranged is a slow track which doesn't have much guitar and is replaced by more, melodic beats. N 2 Gether Now is a hit or miss track, people who are hip-hop heads will hate Fred's rapping. It also has guest vocals by Method Man.

Chocolate Starfish and the Hot Dog Flavoured Water has 5 tracks extracted to the CD. Rollin and My Generation are more like the songs from 3DBY but the tracks don't have Durst screaming the vocals. Take A Look Around is melodic at parts and then aggressive at other parts. Boiler is a track that I don't listen to much and is another hit or miss.

Here come the songs from LB's infamous album, Results May Vary. Eat You Alive has a ear-scorching guitar intro and has Fred screaming down the mic at the chorus. This song I don't like that much. Build A Bridge reminds me of Linkin Park (which is another nu-metal band I like) and is quite nice to listen to. Behind Blue Eyes is another hit or miss, but I like this song than I like the original.

The songs from the RMV sessions which are Why and Lean On Me are not worth listening to and sound odd.

Home Sweet Home/Bittersweet Symphony is a good track. The part where the guitars come in is worth listening to.

Now the bonus track from the UK version, The Truth from LB's EP, The Unquestionable Truth, is energetic and nice to end the album.

If you are a LB fan, buy this album. If not, don't.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)