Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
14
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
11
4 star
3
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£12.61+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 4 March 2015
This is a rather wonderful and brilliant collection of solo piano pieces from an obviously extremely gifted composer / player who displays a unique style and highly personal musical vision . Even many of the titles of the 16 featured songs have inspired , interesting titles such as 'A Young Girl's Complaint' ,' The Last Tears of a Deceased' , 'Presentiment' and 'Tenkou ! Why Feel Sorry ? '.
It is difficult , if not impossible, for me to choose particular favourites but I have an affection for 'Evening Breeze' as this is the song that first alerted me to the need to check this album out after I heard this particular piece being played on a late night radio station ( IE Lyric FM's 'The Blue of the Night').
The music here is virtually impossible to accurately categorize which speaks volumes for the uniquely ,dare I say it, idiosyncratic nature that it possesses . At times the pieces remind me of Chopin's Nocturnes and sometimes the work of Debussy is evoked in my mind .However, there are other times were other strongly diverse and interestingly puzzling musical approaches have also been employed and adapted to great effect.
I have found this delightful and intriguing album to be a real 'grower' and I recommend it heartily to anyone who is interested in listening to something refreshingly different from the norm .
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 100 REVIEWERon 7 July 2017
Emahoy Tsegue-Maryam Guebrou(b. 1923) aka 'The honky tonk nun' was born into a noble Ethiopian family and became a nun in the nation's Orthodox Church.
I was bowled over by her solo piano piece 'The Homeless Wanderer' when I heard it on BBC Radio 3 and immediately ordered this CD.
The 16 memorable solo piano pieces were recorded in 1963(tracks 1-9), 1970(tracks 10-12) & 1996(tracks 13-16).
The 74 minutes of haunting, meditative music has jazz, blues & classical influences and deserves to be more widely known.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2016
J'ai découvert l'existence de cette interprète-compositeur en écoutant " Mother's love" à la radio.
L'écoute de l'album en entier a confirmé mes premières impressions : c'est une musique à nulle autre pareille, sortie de nulle-part (rythme, harmonies...), qui transporte celui qui l'écoute dans un monde extraordinaire en le berçant.
Je le recommande sans la moindre hésitation.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 July 2017
What a relaxing cd, I love it's bluesy rhythm.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 May 2017
lovely music
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2017
A1
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 August 2006
Why this Ethiopian pianist slipped over everyone's heads is beyond me. This batch of recordings from nun Tsegué-Maryam Guèbrou showcases some of the most touching instrumentals ever written. After the first few tracks, you will realise you have already been ushered closer into her life story and it is hard to finish listening to the CD without being at one point stunned into complete and utter silence, not even daring to move.
11 Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 February 2009
This collection of piano pieces by Tsegue-maryam Guebrou are quietly beautiful and sometimes haunting. While there is something discernably african in the melodies they transcend time and place and the 16 tracks flow effortlessly - great music for quiet contemplation and from a more shallow perspective great background dinner music that never fails to elicit a "who is this - it's beautiful" from your guests.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 May 2016
I heard a track from this album played on Classic FM on my way to work driving through the mad morning traffic. I immediately pulled over to make a note of the artist and searched online at work. How disappointing to realise Tsegué-Maryam Guèbrou’s music is so hard to get hold of. Her music is simply beautiful, mesmerising and haunting. If more reviews are written it will then encourage a record company to re-release this gem. (Hopefully on vinyl too). Let us all pray for such a miracle!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 2015
A distinctive piano album. Delightful in itself; some tracks are a little too similar.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse



Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)