Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Tom Chaplin Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars
119
3.9 out of 5 stars
The 40-Year-Old Virgin (XXL Version) [DVD] [2005]
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£2.90+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 28 March 2016
Very funny film.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 October 2016
It's ok. Steve Carell is funny as ever but not really my type of story
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 May 2016
fantastic film
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2017
Very good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 February 2017
good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 February 2016
keeps freezing
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 September 2016
very good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 July 2016
The disc I received was faulty. Not happ at all.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 5 July 2014
WARNING: If you do decide to watch 'The 40-Year-Old Virgin', your sides will hurt, and you'll just have to watch it again - and again - and again, so be sure to buy the DVD. I am not exaggerating when I say that this tonic is one of the best comedy movies in my collection, and it never fails to crease me up.

Starring a cast of amazing comedy talent, the film centres around the childlike 40 year old Andy (portrayed brilliantly by Steve Carroll), a loner who, despite his age is still a virgin. His eccentric and characterful workmates (including Paul Rudd and Seth Rogan) find out and decide to teach him the art of seduction, and aim to help him loose his virginity. After a series of disastrous, and hilarious attempts, he does find eventually a love interest in Trish (played by the wonderful Catherine Keener), who runs an unusual EBay shop across the road from the store he works at.

What you have is two straight hours of non-stop laughs, despite the crude moments, the film has plenty of charm. On the surface it may seem like a rude, trashy movie, but it is essentially a very smart, often sweet love story, and Andy's complex predicament is handled sensitively. In short, it's hilarious, with so many classic one liners that you won't be able to remember them all in one conversation. American comedies can be terrible, but 'The 40 Year-Old Virgin' is quite simply the funniest thing I'd seen in a long time after my first viewing, and it's remained my favourite comedy ever since.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 April 2011
Set in a US electronics store with amusingly dysfunctional staff, with the focus, of course, on the trials and tribulations of a 40-year-old virgin played by Steve Carell, and an even more bizarre, always entertaining manager, played by the ever-versatile Jane Lynch, this is a fun, engaging film, most notable for its sharp, snappy, low-down dialogue - the script, interestingly, is co-written by Steve Carell, along with Judd Apatow, the director (nowadays regarded as the king of comedy films in Hollywood) - and the seamless, pitch-perfect way in which all the talented actors engage in their roles and relationships together.

It is by far Steve Carell's best performance to date - as most fans of his will already know, he often over does it (e.g., by lots of shouting of dialogue and OTT facial expressions); likewise Seth Rogen hasn't bettered himself than in his role here. Recommended for a lighthearted, good natured romantic comedy with a definite quirky difference from the usual mainstream romcoms, and some absolutely terrific, genuinely laugh-out-loud funny extra features, gag reels, etc., many of which are even better than some of the scenes in the film.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)