Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
24
4.6 out of 5 stars
Framed [1993] [DVD]
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£8.55+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 20 October 2014
Timothy Dalton is great here. Also othe actors do well. The film quality is pretty weak. Hopefully somebody pays attention to that.
it is like its copied from somebodys old vhs tape. The plot is good and serious. David Morrisey is cop with whom theys managed to capture Dalton played Eddie Meyers. In prison Dalton makes him think diifferently. Penélope Cruz brings her portion of beauty to help the trasition.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 November 2013
To provide some definitive clarification of the different versions:

Firstly, it's worth noting that Amazon posts the same review across all versions of Framed - making it tricky to figure out which version the review is referring to!

So, if you are looking at...

The DVD with 3 of the characters and ITV on the cover - FULL VERSION
The VHS with handcuffs on the cover - FULL VERSION
The DVD with a speedboat on the cover - INFERIOR CUT VERSION

The original, full version is around 200 minutes long. It was originally aired as 4x 1-hour episodes (50 mins each, plus commercial breaks. The credits are included after each episode on the DVD.

The cut version is a bit pointless really. I saw it in Hong Kong after watching the full mini-series on ITV in the UK. The story doesn't suit a movie-length cut, with the depth of plot suffering. The cover is clearly aimed at Dalton Bond fans, but misrepresents the story.

Considering this production is 20 years old, I still found it entertaining and it holds attention. The style has dated, but not too badly in my opinion. My wife begs to differ, although she has herself dated unfavourably.

Shameless claim to fame - my Aunty Doreen appeared on stage with Dalton, whist growing up in Belper, Derbyshire.
11 Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2005
This DVD release is heavily edited in order to squeeze the film into a shorter version. The original film was made for TV and run in 2 parts - and the original VHS relase was put on to two tapes. It is hard to come by but if you can get the original you will be treated to the entire production. It is well worth it!
Undoubtedly one of Dalton's finest film appearances.
22 Comments| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2005
This post bond effort from Timothy Dalton, is an enjoyable story of corruption, manipulation and greed.Dalton looks like he's really relishing the role here and gives a possible career best performance in a somewhat unusal role for him (that of a manipulative super grass). The story sees a presumed dead Dalton, being caught by chance by a rookie detective whilst he's on holiday , who is then deported back to the UK and imprisoned as the police try to squeeze him for information. The rookie is assigned to babysit Dalton (at his request), and from then on its a masterclass as Dalton slowly manipulates and then corrupts the youngster into his way of thinking, all the while staying one step ahead. Dalton is very convincing and its a fascinating watch that keeps you enthralled till the credits roll. This is highly reccomended, and just goes to show what a misuse of talent Daltons career over the last 10 years has been.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 December 2007
I saw this many years ago on TV. It seems to be neglected which is a shame as it is an intelligent thriller that does hold the attention.
David Morrisey plays a ambitious young police officer, Lawrence Jackson, who by a stoke of luck has an opportunity to advance himself by being responsible for the capture of a major criminal in hiding on the costa del crime.
Timothy Dalton plays Eddie Myers, the charismatic crook, who manages to slowly win the admiration of Jackson, who has to be his interrogator. Myers begins his game.
When this first was shown, Penelope Cruz was relatively unknown.
Timothy West as a beer swilling, chain smoking cop is very good.
There is a good twist at the end.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 September 2008
I bought this DVD because I am a big fan of T. Dalton. I watched it all in one night, even though it is over 3 hours long. I thoroughly enjoyed it. I like the psychological twists and games, and the action, the drama, the final surprise.
If you want to see an intellingent movie, this is it!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 March 2011
Timothy Dalton plays a fantastic bad guy in this mini-series. I don't want to reveal to much about the plot but if you like mystery and suspense with a touch of action this is for you.

This DVD does NOT have subtitles and as a hearing impaired person i found it hard to follow in some scenes where the camera is not always on the speaker but after watching it a few times i caught most of it.

Definitely worth watching. i'm giving it 4 stars because of the lack of subtitles.
22 Comments| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 January 2011
I thoroughly enjoyed watching Framed on DVD, so much so that I watched all four episodes in one go. This was a thriller packed with plenty of action that was intelligently penned by Lynda La Plante, and brilliantly produced by Anglia Films in association with Arts and Entertainment Network, along with some great performances from Timothy Dalton, Sir Timothy West and David Morrissey. This, along with many other classics, is TV at its very best as it really grabbed my attention and I'm sure it would do so to other people watching this programme. Very highly recommended indeed.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 April 2016
I was so pleased that Timothy Dalton got such a great role in a film following his premature departure from The James Bond Series. And this is top entertainment. It's so good that you find yourself routing for the bad guy. Is it because it's Dalton, though, and you want him to succeed? Either way it's a cracking plot, and very well acted. Over 3 hours long, but you'll still want more. Will watch it again very soon. I was looking for a SIXTH star, but 5 Stars was the top score.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 September 2016
Brilliant film with the brilliant acting of the charming Timothy Dalton. It's a great storyline and as usual Lynda la plante does not disappoint. Timothy never fails to entertain and can tackle any type of role from Shakespeare to comedy and always entertains superbly. To me he surpasses all others and really has been overlooked in the awards handed out to much lesser talented actors. David morrissey also wonderful.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)