Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited 4 months for £0.99 Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
40
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£8.50+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 February 2006
Devotees of Northern Exposure will treasure this collection as being, without doubt, the best of the best. For those new to this cult American series about a New York doctor's enforced employment in small-town Alaska, this collection of 23 episodes (which includes six that were nominated for or won Emmys) will provide an introduction that will ensure the purchase of the earlier series. All the characters are finely drawn and well developed, the interactions between them are borne of a familiarity that can only be achieved when cast, crew and writers have worked together for a number of years. The comedy is warm and witty, the observation of life astute and the homespun philosophy which underpins each story thought-provoking. Watch an episode before you go to work, and spend all day with a smile on your face!
0Comment| 59 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 January 2017
All my favourite characters - and some great storylines. See the 'thing that got flung' not to metion Holling and Maurice go wild in the country....
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 February 2007
I have been a fan of Norhern Exposure since its first UK showing on Channel 4. However, there were many episodes that I missed first time round. Including most of this series.

The first two series of NE are excellent. This, however, takes it to a new level. Some of the bit-part characters from former episodes come more into their own. In particular, Bernard Stevens, the unexpected brother of Chris from Season 1's "Aurora Borealis", makes several appearances.

There is also more of a sense that Cicely is not just a different place, but a different. We get to know the history of this "Paris of the North", founded by the eponymous heroine and her lover Roslyn as a place where the human spirit can develop free. Cicely is the sort of place where a poetry-writing truck driver is a success, while the investment banker is a vague disappointment to his mother. The ex-astronaut often plays the bad guy, while an ex-con is the local sage. The capitalist world is turned on its head, and human values are placed on their feet.

This is a series is genuinely funny, but with greater depth than most serious dramas, touching on many issues with warmth and insight. "One day she vanished altogether... rumour has it that Roslyn went to Europe and finally died in Spain fighting the fascists as a member of the Lincoln Brigade"
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2006
Simply the best programme ever!

Delightfully quirky, wonderfully written and the greatest characters I've ever come across.

I love this show, it should be compulsory:-)

Regards

Ali
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 April 2006
The beauty of Northern Exposure is it hasn't dated a bit. Considering this is over ten years old, it feels so fresh. There's been nothing as good as it on our screens since.

I used to watch this programme every week and it is truly wonderful to have it back in my life. The subject matter tackled and the way each episode makes you happy to be alive is rare indeed. Some of the episodes are a bit surreal but never too weird to alienate you from the characters. The programme makes you connect with the weirdness in your own life situations which is why it works so well. The landscapes and music are a sublime mix that makes each brilliant episode (there are no duds) pass by all too quickly.

Northern Exposure is the best programme to come from the States and is maybe the best TV show ever. Five stars out of five without a doubt.
0Comment| 29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 June 2013
It is the utmost cruelty for us deaf people to have the first two series subtitled and then provide none for the successive series. Soooo disappointed.
22 Comments| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2006
What can I say? Like all the slightly quirky US comedy series that manage to strike a chord over here in the UK, NE has deservedly built up a avid following despite not having graced our screen for years. It's timeless in it's simplicity and one of the few series I happily watch again and again. For the first time we get a decent number of episodes in the third series (20 or so as opposed to 6 in 1 &2), almost enough to tide us over till they release series 4 over here. Oh, and we pay less that the Yanks do for it!
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 March 2006
I went to work in Zimbabwe for a year when this was originally airing and made my then girlfriend (upon pain of death) record every episode and then sat for hours catching up on my return. Nothing has changed. From Ed's film making, Maurices' take on just about everything, Shelley's love for Hollin, Joel and Maggie's love/hate relationship, Adam & Eve and everyone else in between, this beautifully acted series on DVD kept me indoors for a whole weekend. Neither 6 nation rugby matches or calls to to visit the local could shift me from my viewing platform. In a way, I'm glad that (to my knowledge) this show has never been subject to constant re-run hell. A joy
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 September 2010
Brought direct from Amazon. Well packaged product that arrived in good time...I reside in the Falkland Islands.

I am working my way through this brilliant series from the 90's...6 DVD's and 23 episodes make up series 3!!! Have since also brought Series 4 from Amazon.
There were 7 series made.
If you like eccentric small town characters then this is a great watch.Scenery is brilliant also.
The lead characters Dr Joel Fleischman (Rob Morrow) and Maggie O'Connell (Janine Turner)have a good chemistry and spark off each other well. Add in a wacky DJ from the radio station (Chris), an ex NASA Astronaut local businessman (Maurice) and you have just some of the line up of characters who inhabit Cicely Alaska. .
Opening credits and music are also unforgettable.
Guess I will just about get through my southern hemisphere winter DVD watching on a diet of Northern Exposure!!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2011
Brilliant - full of the quirkiness of life in Cicely Alaska!
I enjoyed watching this on TV x years ago and am enjoying it more the second time around.
It feels like meeting old friends! Ruth Ann in the store - Holling & Shelley at The Brick (wish it was my local!) Ed and his ideas for being a famous film maker/director, Joel the Doctor and 'the will he won't he' relationship with Maggie.
Plus all the other characters who crop up - Maurice the Astronaut who appears to own practically everything in town! Marilyn the quiet Indian who hardly says anything but who can say more with a look or a shrug!
Adam the weirdo chef - almost legendary like BigFoot!
Not to mention Chris-in-the-morning the DJ with his homespun philosophy drawing on many faiths, ideologies etc.
Plus the brilliant Alaskan scenery.
Northern Exposure real escapism!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)