Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Paloma Faith Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
56
4.7 out of 5 stars
Quincy M.E. - Seasons 1 And 2 [DVD]
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£9.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 21 May 2006
I was thrilled too bits when i saw quincy dvd set had been released as this is one of my favourite TV shows ever!! I can remember watching it on bbc in the early afternoon I think the way Jack Klugman played Quincy was brilliant which was what made the show as good as it was!! I was just amazed at how long it took for it to be released on dvd! have been been waiting so long for the release and i cant wait till further seasons 3,4 etc...to be released which i hope will be soon!! If u have never watched it and are a fan of crime and investigation type shows too me this is an absolute essential collection ,which is a lot better than the more modern shows like CSI!! Buy it now u wont be disappointed!
0Comment| 31 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 August 2015
Great TV. Interesting to see how the series develops - Q's girlfriend and yacht hardly feature after the first few episodes (a good thing) and the content becomes darker, more hard-hitting and based on real social issues. As a social record it's a fascinating window into the prevailing views of the time, e.g. Quincy and Monahan are passionate (as only they can be) about rescuing a physically abused child. We're led to believe today that people didn't really care about those things as much in the 1970's. There was a total absence of safeguarding procedures right enough, but the writers built statistics and important social messaging into the script, as well as recent scientific developments, such as the Stockholm syndrome. (A documentary on how they wrote the episodes would be worthwhile). These were always the strengths of Quincy for me: great, over-the-top acting, with tight screenplays which draw from social reality and medical advancements. It's annoying that series 3 and beyond box-sets are more expensive, but I just might have to save up for them.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 22 August 2006
first of all I want to point out that I think quincy is no predecessor to Shows like CSI etc. Personaly I feel it was one on it's own a true original that no other crime show has come close to.

unlike csi Quincy is real, Human , warm and is not afraid to talk about tough issues.

Jack Klugman is superb as quincy M,E the los angeles county coroner with a heart. his long suffering boss Dr robert Asten 9John s Ragin) relys on quincys professionalism to get results and he hangs on to the bitter end to get them.

Sam (Robert Ito)is Quincys assistant and best friend. always there for Quincy when it matters most.

Danny (Val Bisoglio) is always there with the food and the listening ear. The stories usualy finish off in his retaurant. The humour nicely balances out the serious issues dealt with in the series.

lieutenant Monahan (Garry Whalberg) is the hardworking cop. Mildy irritated by quincy's thoroughness he is always glad to have his friend on hand to help the investigation.

Sgt Brill (Joseph roman) is monaghans assistant and partner as hardworking but not involved in as many big story lines.

seasons 1&2 are great. the highlight? Go fight city hall to the death. finds quincy fighting his boss and other cynics to prove that the strange murders that have been going on are connected. The discovery of a girls body killed by having her neck broken starts a chain of events that leads to mexico and more intruige.

there are more wonderful episodes a good smack in the mouth involves Dr Astens wife when she picks up a small frightened boy who is wandering around at night. quincy soon has to figure out why the boy had run away and which one of his parents has been hitting him .

I'm thrilled seasons 1&2 are out on DVd now more please! pretty please..
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 May 2017
Love this stuff. Great value for this 6 discs set. I wont be buying the rest of the seasons owing to the price.
The remastering is very good.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 September 2017
I am very happy with my DVDS I ordered
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 June 2017
Very enjoyable. Very entertaining.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 June 2017
Quincy ME. Loved by all.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 November 2017
Very good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2017
Love it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 May 2017
Great theme tune superb acting and the episodes are as gripping as ever with guest star appearances by,Kim Cattrall,Robert Foxworth,Robert Colbert,William Windom
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)