Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars
33
3.9 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£8.17+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 16 March 2017
Bought for present for friend. All good. Posted direct and arrived on time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 April 2017
Great film
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
They stopped making silent movies eons ago -- or as my brother puts it, "Movies with no talkin'."

But Mel Brooks revived the genre somewhat with the hilarious "Silent Movie," which spoofs two things: those over-the-top old silents, and the nastiness of the movie industry. Full of slapstick and star cameos, this is Brooks stretching his comedic talents... and nobody can hear it.

Former alcoholic Mel Funn (Brooks) is seeking a comeback, and he pitches a silent movie idea to the president of Big Picture Studios, who unsurprisingly rejects it. But Funn swears he can get some stars to star in the movie. So he and his friends Marty Eggs (Marty Feldman) and Dom Bell (Dom DeLuise) go on a slapstick recruiting drive, relentlessly pursuing Liza Minelli, Burt Reynolds, James Caan, and Anne Bancroft.

But they still have a problem -- the evil Engulf & Devour is planning a takeover of Big Picture Studios, and so they don't want Funn's movie to succeed. So they send sultry nightclub singer Vilma Kaplan (Bernadette Peters) to seduce and distract Funn. Will he fall off the wagon? Will the movie get made?

Since obviously there's no dialogue (except a "non" from Marcel Marceau), Mel Brooks has to drop most of his verbal gags in here, in favor of lots of visual ones. Instead, a lot of the comedy comes from that wild, overdramatic acting style that people used before movies had sound. And giant chocolate bars.

So, it's slapstick galore -- pratfalls, wild exaggeration, and crazy reactions to everything. And there's some mockery of the cold-blooded way Hollywood moguls act. Nobody wants Funn's new movie because it's wildly different and risky, much the way "Silent Movie" probably was -- and it leaves you wondering just how Brooks recruited all these actors.

And Brooks spoofs other stuff related to movies, such as theatres (note the "Trash Can Size" popcorn, with butter poured on by a GAS PUMP). In fact, it doesn't take long for Brooks to cross the line into total craziness, as evidenced by the climactic battle between the good guys and bad guys -- it involves throwing soda pop grenades. Who'd have thunk it?

Brooks, Feldman and DeLuise are all obviously having a great time, playing these relentlessly over-the-top characters, especially when they're doing things like lurching around in suits of armor. And the cameos by various actors are fun, especially Reynolds and Brooks' real-life wife Bancroft.

If comedy had a sound, "Silent Movie" would shatter all the windows. While Brooks can't exert his verbal comic skills, he almost makes up for it with all the delicious spoofery of old movies and Hollywood. Non!
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 November 2000
What can i say? I expected this film to be a barrage of silly slapstick gags. And it was. And it was hilarious. The plot is that a director and his 2 chums ( played by Mel Brookes who also dircted it, Dom Deluise and Marty Feldman ) set about making a silent movie to save a film studio from a takeover. The beauty is that the actual film is silent as well. The only person who says anything is Marcel Marceau - a famous french mime artist. Not being old enough to witness it first time round, the special guests are kind of a mystery to me. This is why the film only gets four stars. But the use of the old speech cards is exploited to perfection. I have never seen anything else like it, and it's a pity. There are many memorable moments including a wheelchair race, a coke can bomb attack, and many more. I don't think i'll get bored of this very quickly, and even though it is quite dated it still has a touch of genius. LONG LIVE MEL BROOKES.
11 Comment| 26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 February 2013
Mel Brooks in his pomp! Keep an eye on the late and fantastic Marty Feldman throughout. The expression "genius" is a little overworked these days. There's something irreverent and visceral happening scene by scene. Enjoy
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2006
Made thirty years ago and one of Brooks' less well-known films, it deserves to be known better.
The plot revolves around Brooks' character, Mel Funn, a movie director who has fallen from grace due to his drink problem. Assisted by Marty Feldman and Dom DeLuise, he pitches an idea to studio exec Sid Caesar for a silent movie. Caesar, who gives a good comic performance, rejects the notion until Funn promises to recruit major stars to appear in it. The recruitment of those stars forms most of the remainder of the plot and Funn & co try many slapstick ruses to acquire the services of Burt Reynolds, Paul Newman, Liza Minelli, James Caan, Marcel Marceau and Ann Bancroft, all of whom appear as themselves in the movie.
As with most of Brooks' films, there is too little incidental music, which would seem even more necessary in a silent film, but aside from that it has fairly good pace and some excellent comic moments, James Caan with boxing gloves and faulty trailer is among the best.
DVD quality is excellent.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 May 2009
This is one of the oldies I wanted to see again. It certainly can be very funny, and of course most of it (indeed doubtless all of it) is tongue in cheek, but I did find some of the grosser slapstick just too much: the "tolerance" in the title here is to make allowances for the inevitable overdoing of almost everything made in Hollywood films. But I doubt that big names like Paul Newman, Liza Minelli, Burt Reynolds, James Caan and Anne Bancroft (wow, can that lady squint!) would have put in a cameo appearance if they didn't have confidence in the film, and I would still recommend this one for a good laugh, providing you like that sort of thing...
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 March 2014
The 4th funniest film of Mel Brooks, showing that silent can still be the best. His funniest films are, in order, The Producers, Blazing Saddles and Young Frankenstein. A very funny man that lost his way in later films.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 June 2008
I confess I never saw the amazon page for this movie since I bought my old videotape copy in a shop when amazon likely didn't exist yet. But I came across it and just wanted to check why such a humorous, funny, hilarious and brilliant movie was rated so poorly. And I found out.

Found out that my shoes smell of wee. Didn't know that, double checked and still nothing. Somehow I don't feel insulted, just surprised how a comment like that is not against policies.

Anyway, back to the topic. It's an alternative, unconventional and even daring movie that can entertain even using just one audible word: "Non!", unpredictably said, or stated, by somebody that's not supposed to speak at all in real life. But this is not real life, it's the realm of crazy nonsense, and everything can be acceptable when you get sucked into it. Insane things keep on happening at a forced pace and you just think -why, that's natural.

90 minutes laugh. Definitely worth watching.
Enjoy it! :)

Appendix: If people like this Wagowan can write here, my guess is that anybody can. And most likely it's a troll, seeing the other comment, by the by. Unfortunately, a voting troll, spoiling some overall results for something that deserves way better.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 January 2014
Mel Brooks can do no wrong in my eyes, so maybe i am the wrong person to review his work. It speaks volumes for his humour
when the only person to speak in the film is a mime artist
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)