Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 June 2017
Thanks so much
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 December 2016
Great fun film. Great service, highly recommended
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 2017
Excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 May 2017
Hilarious. A real tonic when you need to laugh.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2010
Big Steve Martin fan, this is one of his better films which any Steve Martin fan would have seen by now.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 June 2017
I watched it with my other half. The film is too good to be true. The ending was unexpected. The two main characters of the emotional performance of people laughing. The plot is very subtle. In those days, the movie was pretty good.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 April 2011
I've wanted to really like this movie but previously it's not clicked with me. I thought it started good but lost steam after the first half hour, and then dragged on with too few jokes too far apart. There was a lack of forward motion to it which annoyed and bored me. I considered it to be an overrated dud with some signs of quality here and there.

This time, for no obvious reason, it clicked with me. I found it to be engaging from the start to the very end. Perhaps it worked this time because I was paying proper attention to the "dramatic" story and not just thinking of it as an excuse they were using to string some jokes along?

It's a gloriously silly film and Steve Martin is excellent. It really is a puzzle how he stopped being funny from about the early 90s onwards (a very notable exception being the brilliant Bowfinger in 1999)?

The film could certainly be better (quicker pace, more jokes, nicer visuals) but it's good enough for some easy laughs. Not a masterpiece but a good film.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 March 2004
This film is simply hilarious. Why? Because right from the very start we are drawn into a world of the sublimely ridiculous. Steve Martin and others act the part brilliantly. The jokes are the zaniest and most urinatingly funny you will ever see. This is a classic film and has been overlooked by many. You will not regret buying this film if you love silly and crazy humour. It is the kind of film to watch with a new girlfriend and laugh yourselves stupid!
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 March 2016
This just has to be Steve Martin's funniest and most original film; even better than the brilliant 'Dead Men Don't Wear Plaid.' It is not really a 'laugh out loud' film; however, the zany humour, with a dark vein running through it, will keep you chuckling from beginning to end. Kathleen Turner as the wicked leading lady is, as ever, drop dead gorgeous and a terrific actress. Highly recommended film for evening viewing with a bottle of wine to hand.
11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2012
I vaguely remembered the action of this movie I had partly seen on TV as a child and when I saw the Amazon offer for 2.99 I said "why not?" and went ahead and bought me the DVD.

the old movie is extremely funny, and the plot is close to insane, but the whole magic of the movie resides in the fact that it is not pompous, serious and demanding critical acclaim: you can genuinely feel that the actors loved what they were doing, having fun with the roles and the storyline.

For you to get an idea of the plot: the doctor with an unpronounceable name, played by Steve Martin, falls in love with a female brain and does not know how to make the woman/ brain of his dreams be a part of his life. Does it sound believable? No...and it shouldn't...that's the whole fun of it!

In this fantasy world, a man can actually fall in love just with a woman's brain and not her appearance, thus solving the dilemma a lot of women have had: yes, we care about your thoughts more than you think!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)