Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
55
4.4 out of 5 stars
This New Day
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£3.85+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


VINE VOICEon 28 March 2006
well im not a huge indie/britpop/rock fan but i do like some of it and own some of it, i also apprecaite why alot of people love it(i just have other bigger musical loves) but i brought this album based on one hearing of natures law and the review futhur below that gives u a track by track run through. that guy is spot on and even if this album doesnt immediatly hit you it sure will once you play it a 2nd or third time. The songs are just great my fave being target,natures law,i cant come down, sainted exploding machines,the end is near and The title track....very good album and i urge people to give it a go!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 March 2006
I have been waiting for this album for a long, long time and was a bit nervious when i put it in my CD player, i mean how can you better 'Out of Nothing'? Well you cant, but you can have another album on a par with it.
If i am honest there are 3 tracks on here that really dont need to be. Sainted, Exploding Machines and Even Smaller Stones. It seems Embrace are taking on a new grungier sound and it just doesnt work boys!!! Still saying that the standout tracks, really are standout even for Embrace. 'Nature's Law' a fantastic song i cant wait to hear at the gigs this year and 'I cant come down' is just a fantastic ballad and worth buying the album for it, quite possibly my fave Embrace song ever and thats saying something - It HAS to be a single. Makes me wonder why Embrace dont do a few more Ballads as they just do them so so well without any cheesiness!
The End is Near is another fab track as is Celebrate.
Thing is with Embrace all of them are growers and you just find yourself singing along.
This CD has not left my car. BUY IT, BUY IT, BUY IT!!!!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 March 2006
Stunning. Only one word for it. Now this band will really get what they deserve. What they need to do now is get back in the studion before the purple patch of song writing dries out!
Target, Sainted, Even Smaller Stones and Exploding Machines, Can't Come Down - powerful, melodic, melancholic, masterpieces!
Target should be the England World Cup song - the lyrics sort of fit - a guaranteed No.1 !!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2006
I was a big big fan of the bands second album "Drawn from Memory" which i believe is vastly underrated. I didnt get drawn(!) into last years comeback because anything with the smell of Chris Martin around it puts me straight off. However on hearing Natures Law i was tempted into buying this album. Iam not disapointed. Its a great album for putting on and chilling out to. Danny is a great little songwriter and doesnt need Martins help. This in my opinion is everything Coldplay arent, warm,organic and from the heart.Its not groundbreaking or controversial but Embrace have never claimed to be either. If you like early Travis,Oasis,Snowpatrol and yes Coldplays debut go out and buy. You wont be disapointed. Then go out and buy "Drawn from Memory" as well if only for the outstanding title track.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2006
Embrace are one of those bands that seam to get chucked in with other "middle of the road" bands such as Coldplay, Keane etc... However to call them that does them, and this album, a great disservice.
Not one track on here is bland or boring. Every songs brims with imagination and exceptionally good lyrics. In particular the songs Nature's Law, Target and Sainted are exceptional. Sainted in perticular has a rawness and punk like energy that wouldnt seam out of place on a Green Day Album. Its variety is probably its biggest strength.
Ignore their critics - this is a fantastic album and i doubt there will be a better release all year.
Highly recommended.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 June 2006
This album is fantastic at first I wasnt sure of a few songs but when I had listened to them more, I understood them and never stopped playing them!

The DVD covers the interesting story of how they made the video for the world cup song and the lads are always a joy to watch on film, plus the song it self is a great addition to an already great album.

Some of the greatest albums of all time were misunderstood on release but even though I wouldnt say this is the greatest of all time, it is certainly very good and an essential addition to any music collection.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2014
With This New Day, Embrace created an album so middle of the road you could happily slap a white line and a cat’s eye on it. As Danny McNamara would later admit, their fifth album is the sound of a band on autopilot.

The songs are less tightly focused than previously, with the brothers McNamara having seceded song-writing duties in favour of a more organic, improvised approach. Of their two co-writes, The End Is Near packs a punch, but I Can’t Come Down is as limp as the title suggests.

Elsewhere, Nature’s Law and Target are particularly radio friendly (both selected as singles). The bass-heavy Sainted provides some much needed intensity.

Frustratingly, Youth’s production is as subtle as on Out Of Nothing - which is to say, not very - with Danny McNamara’s vocals being swamped throughout by unnecessarily overwrought arrangements (though some may consider this beneficial!).

While Embrace are generally a more dynamic and inventive band than critics are willing to concede, This New Day is the sound of a safe band playing it safe. If Embrace naysayers needed a stick with which to beat the band, This New Day is that stick.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 March 2006
This is a great album, if your into indie rock or just loved 'Out of Nothing' then this album is a must buy, its beautiful blend of classical theming inter linked with rock has worked wonders and is an essential album to any indie fan. Although there are a few miss laid tracks such as 'sainted'. It is a song style that embrace are not fitted to. It's punky element would be more suited on a Green day album. However the brilliance of tracks such as 'Natures Law' and 'I cant come down' just gives the album an over all high that will hopefully give embrace the credit they now so trully deserve.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 June 2006
This New Day is an album that no-one should miss out on now Embrace have made it better with their England song. This album will become your album of the summer!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 February 2007
Fantastic! So great I bought 2 copies (1 for the car) & have just downloaded it onto my ipod.

As good as their first album & fantastic live! Every good home needs one of these in its cd collection, uplifting, haunting & unbeatable! Can't wait for the next one, shame it will be the last.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)