Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 20 August 2017
Brilliant
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 May 2017
excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 July 2016
terrific. rock as it should be & great fun
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 April 2017
love it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 May 2016
Good Read. Enjoyable.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 29 November 2005
The boys from Lowestoft return with their second album and follow up to the Mercury Prize winning debut, Permission To Land. It's been some 2 years since the release of their huge-selling debut but the long awaited new album is finally here. But is it any good?
One Way Ticket... To Hell And Back features 10 tracks in total - most are quite short; it's rare for a song on the album to last even as long as 4 minutes. So be warned, this is a very short album indeed - only 35 minutes 10 seconds long to be exact.
Most of the songs are good but the last two tracks prove to be somewhat of an anti-climax. In these final tracks The Darkness sound nothing more than a Queen tribute band and I'm not all that keen on it. The rest of the album is full of fantastic riffs, wailing vocals and also some guitar solos for good measure. Pan pipes, pianos and a string arrangement also feature but guitars are at the forefront of the album.
I'd also like to make it known that in Hazel Eyes (track 6), The Darkness have produced probably the most infectious chorus of the year - I just can't get it out of my head!
To sum up, this is an impressive album that has been very well produced but is marred only by the final two tracks being rather weak and the fact that it is so short. It's not a joke album either - the lyrics might not be all that serious but a majority of the songs are of high quality and some thought has obviously been put into creating them. If you liked the first album and haven't been put off by the bands much publicised egos then this comes highly recommended.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 7 February 2006
Seriously, am I listening to the same copy of OWTTHAB as those who are moaning about it? What is there not to like?
I'll give a rundown of the tracks one by one:
One Way Ticket: 8/10. Good opening track. Doesn't do anything special as a result, but it's catchy, upbeat and radio-friendly.
Knockers: 9/10. More like it. Justin's got his swagger going now, and there's a nice strong chorus too. A bit short, mind.
Is It Just Me?: 9/10. This is as close The Darkness get to their 'Permission To Land' roots (not that I'm suggesting that they're better off that way!). Good old fashioned high-octane rock, and definitely a grower.
Dinner Lady Arms: 7/10. Good, but not great. Feels like a break in pace too early in the album. Still fits well with the album's theme, though.
Seemed Like A Good Idea: 10/10. 'Love Is Only A Feeling''s older, sexier sister. Beautiful, powerful and with brilliant lyrics. Possible single.
Hazel Eyes: 10/10. PERFECT. No, really. You just can't help but love this euphoric, epic powerhouse of a tune that hits you every time.
Bald: 10/10. PERFECT. Again. Moody, sneering, rifftastic and massive. Demands to be heard.
Gilfriend: 8/10. Seems to suffer from having to follow-up 'Bald', but the strings work nicely, and the chorus will stubbornly remain in your head for a long time.
English Country Garden: 10/10. This is grower (excuse the pun), and just seems to sound better and better the more you hear it. Crazy, mad and quick.
Blind Man: 8/10. A wierd one this. I wouldn't listen to this on it's own, but it's certainly a fitting end to the album, and whilst sounding serious, it has the classic Darkness tongue-in-cheek humour.
Overall, I think that it's a tribute to the Darkness that they've not only survived the notorious 'second album' period, they've turned it round, pulled down it's trousers and laughed riotously at it. It's not a clone of 'Permission To Land', and it has it's own sound whilst not being too off-centre. Yet again, at 10 tracks long and 35 minutes total, you're left gagging for more, though I suppose I'd prefer a handful of sublime tracks as opposed to an armful of mediocre ones.
Well, if the Darkness churn this kind of stuff out after being physically and mentally exhausted, imagine what the they can do after a rest...
Bring on the third album!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
There was a time when I used to consider The Darkness' second studio album, 2005's 'One Way Ticket to Hell... and Back' to be superior to the Suffolk rockers' acclaimed debut Permission To Land , but now, I am of a different opinion. Whilst this is a reasonable enjoyable, fun album which doesn't move away from the style from it's predecessor, the songs are notably weaker, and less memorable.

The hit singles, 'One Way Ticket' and 'Is It Just Me?' provide this album's greatest moments of radio-friendly mediocre, along with the further highlights 'Knockers' and 'Dinner Lady Arms'. In fact, these first four tracks are amongst the strongest, and had they made up an EP, I would have no hesitation in rating it five stars.

The songs 'Hazel Eyes', and the very Queen-esque English Country Garden' are also noteworthy, especially the former which demonstrates the great vocal range of singer and guitarist Dan Hawkins. There are a few other 'good' tunes, but that's as far as I'd go in describing them. The ballad 'Seemed Like A Good Idea at the Time' provides a pleasant just over three minute moment of melodically, but is like poor-man's version of 'Love is A Only Feeling', which gave these men one of three major hits from their debut.

If you enjoyed The Darkness' first album, then you should enjoy 'One Way Ticket to Hell... and Back'. There are more than enough riffs and good choruses for me to just rate it four stars, but it wasn't on the same level as 'Permission to Land', both in terms of songwriting, and production.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 February 2006
If you are or have ever been a fan of AC/DC, Queen, Rainbow, Kiss, Aerosmith or any other O.T.T. Rock act of the last 30 yrs (Oh OK, Spinal Tap too...) then this LP will not fail to give you a giggle, and long overdue relief from the dreary, non melodic, sampled, Rap, hip hop and so called R&B 'pop' songs that the 'music' industry has bombarded us. I was unsure after reading reviews in the press and hearing comments from friends but I gave it a go anyway. AND I LIKED IT! As is the case nowadays it's old school, it's retro, but it's good. Your kids will like it and so will your Gran. It's easily on a par with there 1st LP, if anything, slightly more experimental. Expect feedbacks, chugging guitars, ultra sonic harmonies, tubular bells, brass bands and bagpipes, MARVELLOUS. Thank you and...
GOOD NIGHT AMAZON !!!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2006
Well after much anticipation, they've done it again. The dangerous second album is out and......IT ROCKS. The lads from The Darkness have done themselves proud with this very different sound. One way Ticket is the opening track which starts with pan pipes, yes pan pipes you rockers, give it 20 seconds and it blasts off into pure genius. The whole album seems to be telling a story, whether it is a personal one... who knows but it is brilliant. My personal favourite apart from the opening one is track 7, Bald. It has some astounding riffs which are reminiscent of AC/DC, and it soooo works. You must buy this if you love good rock with excellent guitar riffs and some astonishing vocals by Mr Justin Hawkins. The only drawback is it seems a tad short only about 36 minutes which if they read any of these reviews should prompt them, more lads, we want more....
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£9.17
£12.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)