Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited 4 months for £0.99 Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

3.8 out of 5 stars
17
3.8 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£8.98+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 1 July 2006
This is a fairly good film in that it has quite good actors and an ok story but it's far from great. I had not heard of it before and had hoped for a good English teen horror to rival all the American ones. If your expecting anything like House of wax or Scream you will be disappointed. It's not scary or gory but it has a good story. Only rented at first because I was surprised I had not heard of Billie Piper doing a recent horror film.

The plot follows 5 students who all end up in a rather large decaying house, typical student accommodation! Then it soon appears that the house has a dark past and there are other reasons the 5 students have been picked to be there. Not a classic but it could have been far worse and given the smallest of budgets this is ok for a nights viewing.

The DVD has a couple of extras. A 10 minute interview with the 5 main cast members on the story,cast and filming. It also has a 22 minute feature on Ghosts, mediums and psychics presented by Emma Catherwood from the film. Overall 5/10
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2013
Great for a creepy night in I normally collect 60s 70s style british horror but this is really quite good well worth a couple of quid to add to a collection no gore just good oldfashioned creepyness
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 October 2009
Five students are told about a house that they will share with eachother. One of them meddles with an old clock in the hallway, which is in fact a spirit trap. Soon they are all experiencing strange events, and soon all their lives are in danger, as they discover dark secrets about eachother, and their sanity starts to disintergrate
I've watched many good British horror films recently. This isnt one of them. I wanted to like it, but I found the characters either boring or annoying, and I struggled to stay awake as the story plodded along to its uninspired conclusion.
Their are a couple of occasions when its looks like the film is going to come to life and deliver the goods, notably the scene with the planchette, or Jennie's flashbacks of the house's dark history, but then it just shifts back into third gear.
Billie Piper is okay as the psychic Jennie, but Sam Troughton sleepwalks his way through the role of Nick, and Emma Catherwood and Luke Mabley are in turns irritating, or just plain O.T.T as drug dealing lovers Adele and Tom.
Very dissapointing, and as dull as dishwater. 2 out of 5
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2012
An icey and grim ride of terror. Five students are given accomodation for their nearby studies at a college. The rent is cheap..but are they going to get alot more than what they had bargined for? Unjammed by a curious Nick, a sinister looking spirit clock starts to count down...but to what? Chilling things have happened in this house and soon Jenny, played by Billie Piper has to uncover a past much like her own. Will they escape the spirit trap before its too late? I highly reccomend this film!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2012
Considering Billie Piper went on to become a Doctor Who companion, I was shocked at how poor her acting was. The film is bearable for the first 30 minutes or so, but then I was throughly bored, the story became predictable, and the rest of the cast was awful. It is more of a ghost story than horror, but even with that in mind it wasn't particularly chilling. Not sure I would recommend this one.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 October 2014
Really good fun...in a scary way. Billie Piper is surprisingly good. The film looks great and delivers.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2013
Good film especially Billie piper and was fascinated by bonus extra with the spiritual guy at the end explaining the history of the location
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 December 2012
Low cost film. Great plot and I am giving it 5 stars for an interesting film. It's not great, but it;s very good and well worth a watch.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 July 2013
saw most of this film on tv, it looked really good from what little I saw
Hence my buying the Dvd
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 July 2006
this film has a very good solid story. it has lots of surprises. the acting is superb (billie looks fantastic as always)a film not to be missed with good special features.
11 Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)