Shop now Shop now</arg> Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
43
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£6.16+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 December 2005
After nearly eight years of albums that collected comments such as "good", "OK", or "I like KoRn so I like this" KoRn come charging out with an album that shows how they crated an genre of music in the first place
Sounding like nothing they've done before, I would call this a "Must Have" to anyone who even slightly likes KoRn and a big "Try it" to people who like freaky dark music. If you like something happy sounding...erm...there's always the Darkness.
I cannot fault this album.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 December 2005
Yep, Korn did it again. With every album they change their sound and yet you always now it's Korn. It's their most experimental album since "Follow The Leader". And it's purely exhilarating.
There was a mojor loss within the band as guitarist Brian "Head" Welch decided to leave the band due to personal reasons. Remaining members said that breaking up was never an option and that they tried to turn this loss into an oportunity. An oportunity to "reinvent" their sound. And they did... they really did.
They all stepped up as musicians. Especially Munky who is now the only guitarist in Korn. He produced some wonderful riffs (very popular first single "Twisted Transistor", "Liar", "Coming Undone", "For No One"). David presents his skills most clearly on "10 Or A 2-Way" and on "SYOTOS" you can hear Fiedly's spectacular bass playing again. If it comes to Jonathan, his vocals have greatly improved over the years. The band produced a lot of catchy songs that just won't get out of your head. The album is heavy and at the same time very melodic. Some of the songs have a very epic feel in them. And I can guarantee that you'll be stunned when you hear "Tearjerker".
The more I listen to this album the more I adore it. My personal favourites are:
"Liar", "Love Song", "Tearjerker", "Coming Undone", "Souvenir", "Open Up" and "Throw Me Away".
The limited edition comes with a second CD - it has three really good bonus songs, two remixes of "Twisted Transistor" (one being extremely great) and two live videos. And the package is the best I've ever seen (with a pop-up artwork!).
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 January 2007
I approached this album with caution. Korn have released some pretty average albums over the last few years and the album art for this one raised my suspicions that this would be another attempt at radio-friendly sound bites under the guise of a radical new experiment. The first song, Twisted Transistor, did nothing to dispel these fears.

However, as I got further into the album I began to be impressed. Jonathan Davis seems to have put a lot more effort into the lyrics on this album than he did in Korn's other recent offerings, and the vocals are honed almost to perfection, with passionate singing and angry blasts of venom in appropriate measures. The departure of Brian 'Head' Welch is hardly noticeable as Munky's guitar has been amped up to the max, and the bass is as clunky and viscious as it ever was.

Although 'See You on the Other Side' is a far cry from the days of 'Korn' or 'Life is Peachy' there is definitely a distinctive vibe about this album - it couldn't be anyone but Korn. Songs like 'Coming Undone' and 'Hypocrites' carry the trademark bass-driven sound most associated with the 'Issues' album, while 'Politics', for example, is a melodious rant that would sit nicely with 'Got the Life' on 'Follow the Leader.'

This is a good album and I recommend it. The only reason I haven't given it five stars is because I know that Korn are capable of better, and this just isn't as vital as 'Follow the Leader' or 'Korn.'
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 December 2005
after recent dissapointing releases i was not expecting a lot from this but having lisened to it i am pleased to say its a stunning return to form. the albums first four tracks are faultless and paves the way for an album of both high quality songwriting and deversity . its very much a studio album with lots of effects and different styles to each song . its true feildys bass isnt as domonite as usaual but its more appeciated when he does let rip later on . there is a sense of commicialism to the album but i think its just each song is a possible classic anthem . with the reurn of bagpipes and ram batter ram vocals this should please all korn fans.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 June 2006
Thought it was only fair to post a review stating that my first review was wrong (one star). I first stated that this album was soft and nothing like their other albums. So two weeks ago i decided to give it another listen. I put my ipod in and listened to it on repeat for half the day while sitting at my desk at work... it grew on me in a big way. I actually really really like this album now. Apologies for the lousy initial review... It definitely is one of those albums that has to grow on you. Dont' expect the old Korn when you hear it.
Listen to it like it's a completely new band and it then sounds good.

Songs that i like:
*Hypocrates
*Souvenir
*Throw me away
*Open Up
*Coming Undone

Buy it!
11 comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 December 2005
Yep, Korn did it again. With every album they change their sound and yet you always now it's Korn. It's their most experimental album since "Follow The Leader". And it's purely exhilarating.
There was a mojor loss within the band as guitarist Brian "Head" Welch decided to leave the band due to personal reasons. Remaining members said that breaking up was never an option and that they tried to turn this loss into an oportunity. An oportunity to "reinvent" their sound. And they did... they really did.
They all stepped up as musicians. Especially Munky who is now the only guitarist in Korn. He produced some wonderful riffs (very popular first single "Twisted Transistor", "Liar", "Coming Undone", "For No One"). David presents his skills most clearly on "10 Or A 2-Way" and on "SYOTOS" you can hear Fiedly's spectacular bass playing again. If it comes to Jonathan, his vocals have greatly improved over the years. The band produced a lot of catchy songs that just won't get out of your head. The album is heavy and at the same time very melodic. Some of the songs have a very epic feel in them. And I can guarantee that you'll be stunned when you hear "Tearjerker".
The more I listen to this album the more I adore it. My personal favourites are:
"Liar", "Love Song", "Tearjerker", "Coming Undone", "Souvenir", "Open Up" and "Throw Me Away".
I recommend you to get the limited edition that comes with a second CD - it has three really good bonus songs, two remixes of "Twisted Transistor" (one being extremely great) and two live videos. And the package is the best I've ever seen (with a pop-up artwork!).
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2006
Korn are the one nu-metal band that I could cope with and to be honest I really like them. Their first two albums are my favourite ones and I thought that 'Untouchables', for all its flaws, was the best thing they had done since those albums. I am quite glad that Head has left since I believe he was beginning to hold his band back towards the end and nowhere is that more apparent than on their new offering.
Those Korn fans who thought that 'Untouchables' was rubbish will more than likely hate this too. But for everyone else this is a truly great album and the only one since 'Life is Peachy' without a bad track, at least in my opinion.
Korn have really experimented here and when I first heard this I was taken aback by how different it sounded to their previous album (which I thought was quite poor for the most part). Even my non-metal friends loved this. One of them, who loves System of a Down, used to have 'Mesmerize' and 'Hyponitize' as his favourite albums of the year until he heard this and now we can't stop playing 'See You on the Other Side'.
The instruments sound really cool and different, particularly the drums, and Jon gives perhaps his best performance ever. I am still not sure if I have favourite songs off of this yet since it is all fantastic. I really enjoyed the instrumental passages worked into the end of some of the tracks (kind of like on 'Issues' but not as separate tracks) as well since they display that more chilled out aspect of Korn's sound well, like 'Porno creep' before them.
On an end note I am really glad that Korn have never repeated themselves, even though I loved their earlier stuff the best, because we never would have got to hear this. Nice artwork too.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 December 2005
This album is going to divide a lot of opinions. If you liked KoRn before you might not necessarily like this, but on the other hand, if you were never interested before now you should give it a listen and see what you think.
As always, the heavy KoRn groove is present but it's tempered with an industrial vibe. Imagine the band taking a step into Nine Inch Nails territory.
The songs have a more diverse feel, and although the lyrics are more straightforward in meaning there is still a lot of power in them. The band have done a great job with this album, although fans of heavy music might not be happy with the clean, almost pop approach of the producers.
If you're a KoRn fan the extra songs are worth paying for, and the packaging is really cool. If you're not you're probably best purchasing the regular edition.
Overall I would say it is a strong return from a classic band, and promises well for KoRn's furture as a four-piece.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 May 2006
Yes, yes, yes! It's about time too! Everyone has had the guilty pleasure of liking a Korn song and rightfully so, Korn have had a fantastic history. But recent releases haven't done the lads any favours. Issues, Untouchables and their average greatest hits collection haven't presented us with anything as engaging and fantastically experimental as their first 3 releases but See You On The Other Side really does show a return to form.

Since the departure of 'Head' a lot of us were wondering what the band were going to sound like from then on. Would we see a new guitarist? Well the answer is no. All the guitars on this album are written completely by Munky. That way Korn are still, in essence, the same band and it really shows. But Munky hasen't fobbed us off with anything below average, the guitar work on this album is astounding. The riffs are truly experimental and you'll never hear anything like this on any other Korn album.

Stand out tracks include the modern-classic and instant dancefloor hit; Twisted Transistor with it's thumping drums, grinding riffs and ridiculously catchy lyrics. Politics and Hypocrites just go to show that even if Jonathan Davis doesn't have anything to moan about, he can still do it with style and present a thoughtful (but harsh) approach to the issues of politics in general and the departure of Head. The new single, Coming Undone just shows how Korn can bring back the original edge they had as a new band but present it in a new and exciting way.

Be warned though, this album may not be to everyones' taste, not even past Korn fans. The songs I've mentioned are bound to get you dancing but the album is still vastly experimental and does turn very ambient and industrial in various places. Fans of Rammstein, The Prodigy and Mortiis will definately love this new material but for us Korn fans, it is a bit of a step forward.

But this is not necessarily a bad thing! Take a chance and get this album, you won't regret it. And with an extra disc of unreleased studio material, remixes and live video clips, you're money isn't being invested on 1 audio disc with 14 tracks on it. This is a fantastic package for any Korn fan. Buy now!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 May 2006
Whether you like this album or not depends largely and what you want from it. If you're expecting raw-ness then you'll be disappointed - Korn haven't done raw for a while. However if, like me, you're looking for songs with melodies so layered that you'll hear something new every time you listen then this is definitely for you. Korn have really changed over the years and their music has matured as they have, with more emphasis on melody than lyrics. This album contains songs that are just fun (Twisted Transistor), fast and exciting (Liar) or heart-achingly beautiful (Throw Me Away). The lyrics might not be as powerful as they were when the band were young but they're still smart and interesting. I also don't think the absence of James "Head" Welch has effected the band for the worst. Losing one guitar has seemed to make them expand into the use of other instruments - e.g. keyboards, violins - with great success and, of course, Korn's sound is always going to be different as long as they have Jonathan Davis' incredibly unearthly beautiful voice.

Overall I am extraordinarily pleased with this album - my favourite since Issues - and I hope Korn continue to make this kind of music for a long time to come.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)