Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
89
4.0 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£9.90+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 March 2006
I'd say that room on Fire is the most accesible strokes album howver it isnt as gd as is this it or first impressions, they both are growers and take a bit of perseverance, but after a few listens i guarentee ull b hooked
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 October 2010
Condition was described as Very Good - although paper cover of disc was ripped at two places.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2006
Im Not really happy with this new style The Strokes have taken, and this album is their worst. There aren't any songs that will have the same impact as Hard To Explain, Reptila or Someday. I really Hope they don't make the fourth album like this one!! its not worthy of 4 stars but they are the Strokes....true rating 3 stars. Buy it! but don't think it will be like Is This It or Room On Fire
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2006
anyone who criticises this album has very little musical appreciation or ear. this is the best band ever to grace our ears for at least a decade. total unwitheld accolation for this band. total invention and simplistic genuis from start to finish for 3 albums straight. kick back and relax. its all ok. we live , we die. we listen to the strokes.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2006
I still listen to both the first 2 albums a few times a week. Sadly this album will not be joining them.
The tracks feel constructed, souless, and without inspiration.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 January 2006
I'm sorry but I don't think this album is as good as the reviews have suggested. Having tried to get into after 3 listens, it's not easily accesible. Mainly because yer man Julian's vocals border on the boring, as are the lyrics ("I've got nothing to say" - Indeed you haven't). I never expected the music to be ground breaking, but a couple of nice riffs thrown in here or there could have helped but by the time you get to the end of some of the songs, you'll find yourself mumbling "Thank god for that"
Not even the splendous You Only Live Once can save this album from 2 stars.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 March 2006
although people seem quite negative about this album, ive been hooked, ive listened to it a few times and it just really grows on you(especially if the songs are on shuffle), i think its less in your face and benefits from that, you can really get involved in it and the songs are all unique. (i havent heard the second album though).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 26 January 2006
I've listened through this album, read the reviews and can only surmise that once you're a Strokes fan you can no longer objectively comment on their output.
This, to me is a very lazy piece of work. The core Strokes elements are there pretty tight song construction, decent tunes, but no more than that. They change direction in places a bit, but I think, to disasterous effect.
They still have promise, but when you've heard the Arctic Monkeys new record and compare it with this you'll understand what a poor piece of work this is.
Very dissapointing.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2006
The Strokes have done it again! From the Very first song (in my opinion, the best) 'You Only Live Once' this album doesn't fail to dissapoint. I never review anything, but this is just faantastic.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2006
I have just finished listening to this record and will not do the whole blow-by-blow/track-by-track appraisal but instead will sum my opinion in one word: Tedious. And then another: Lazy.
It starts off in departure mode, tilts nicely into the Theme From The Munsters single, bizarrely steals the hook of the chorus on the third song from 'Mandy' by Barry Manilow, then plummets right back into the metronomic guitar comfort zone accompanied by Casablancas sore throated whelp of old for the rest of the whole sorry affair. There is a brief interlude of the heartfelt vocal/noodling synth-only track which features the words 'coconut' and 'shy' in it's squirm inducing lyrics but the least said about that nugget of cack the better.
The Strokes were an interesting band four or five years ago but ultimately seem to have inspired more bands with their sound who in turn have outstripped their efforts and left them to churn out artistically and emotionally redundant work such as 'First Impressions Of Earth'.
And if there are any alien life forms out there who have picked up a copy of this please don't let get the wrong idea, Earth really isn't this bloody awful.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£5.97

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)