Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars
123
3.9 out of 5 stars
Platform: Xbox 360|Edition: Normal|Change
Price:£12.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 December 2015
Brilliant
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 June 2015
Awesome!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2016
All good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 January 2007
i had seen screenshots for this game the day the xbox 360 was released, and a year on from that it was finally released. am i satisfied that it is a fair videogame translation of the dawn of the dead movie? no i'm not. your character is first and foremost a babysitter for all the other pathetic survivors, and gameplay is pretty much "find weapons, kill zombies with weapons, help survivors, kill more zombies". repeat infinately. the graphics weren't the best the 360 could offer, but this wouldn't have been so bad if the characterisation was more interesting and generally the gameplay more engrossing. if you want intelligent gaming, go for oblivion, if you want a beat em' up frenzy, go for gears of war.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 September 2007
This game is sorely missing a fast travel mode. true, the zombies are slow but having to travel so far to and back from places is very annoying, and the feeling of isolation soon gets to you, even though it's only a game.
I would have preferred a game like the Dawn of the Dead remake, with the emphasis on guns and fast-paced action, but I suppose it doesn't matter.
The point is, have amate round and spend the time exploring new ways to kill zombies. Having a few friends their really shakes the virtual dread.

Also, it's WAY TOO DIFFICULT once you get to the real missions.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 April 2015
love it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 May 2008
this game can get VERY annoying due to its stupid save system. you can wander around for ages looking for a save point, and just not find one. then you die.... otherwise, this game is awsome. i love hacking up the zombies in a sea of blood :) its just a shame that there is this one major flaw
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2007
Let me be the first to admit my scoring should probably be taken with a pinch of salt.. i've not put any more than a few hours into this game and i acknowledge that there is a hell of alot that i haven't seen so my rating isnt entirely informed...

However, let me cite a few reasons why i haven't been able to bring myself to invest any more of my time into this game. Namely it is chock full of bewilderingly stupid design flaws that it leaves me a very bitter gentleman indeed.

The game has all the hallmarks of a little package of awesome. Zombies, humour, great death animations, styalistic cutscenes and barrels of mindless skull crushing fun. Its seems that some highly placed designer man is borderline special needs judging by a few decisions he's made.

Ive never in my life played a game where "Save and Quit" actually meant "Save your character level but lose all your game progress" (watch out for that one), Or where the start button alternates in function between 'Pause' and 'Skip this entire sequence'.

The control system is a joke its so clunky. The otherwise impressive opening sequence where you hover above the town taking photos of the zombie riot is destroyed because you have to stretch your thumb for the take photo button whilst handling zoom and more often than not hit 'start' therefor skipping the whole lot... When this happens you have to manually restart your Xbox because OBVIOUSLY there is no need for a main menu and hence the ability to restart your game in dead rising...

In summary then, i like decapitating a mass of zombies with a boomerang as much as the next man.. If you think you can put up with the most basic level of design retardedness you may actually get enjoyment out of this... If you just cant let the fact that text is completely illegible on a standard TV slide however when all the design lead had to say was "maybe it would be a good idea to increase the font size".. WELL DURGH!!! youll probably give up after a couple hours like i did.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 November 2006
Yes, like the titles says, up until this point (GTA4 WAS NOT OUT WHEN I WROTE THIS), DeadRising is my favorite game. By far!

But, that is mainly because i am a massive zombie/gore fan. So this film was probably better than it will be for me than it would be for most other people. Yet if there are any other zombie fans who love gore and bloody violence, then this game will be huge fun!

But even if you dont like this kinda thing then you will probably agree that this is one impressive game.

The action never stops and there is plently of blood and gore to keep you entertained. Plus there are many many features in this game and the graphics are pretty good. There is also a pretty good story behind this game considering it WAS based upon Dawn of the Dead (they only say its not because of legal reasons).

Some of the best and most unique.memorable things about this game is the fact that you can use so many different kinds of furniture, toys, knives, guns, tools ect ect (literally from lawnmowers to chainsaws to hammers to axes to pick axes to assult rifles) to kill as many zombies as you want with. And as for the zombies, there are sooo many and thousands can be on screen at one time, which is now an infamous feature of this game. The sound effects are brilliant, the blood effect is great and there are many different melee moves your character can learn plus 3 modes you play in throughout the game. These modes are a mode where you simply survive for a certain amount of time which is easy but if you want to complete the game properly then you need to complete the missions given, and these are set at pretty strict times so you need to be on your feet and always aware of what could be in your path next. Then you have another mode, and after that unlimited mode which is basically the free roaming mode where you have the mall to yourself, so basically your job is to get weapons, kill zombies and if you wish earn points and do a few little extra things scatterd around the mall. And talking of the mall, i guess i better mention this game is set in a mall if you dont aleready know so there are stores where you can grab some intense weapons and use them on the intesnse hourdes of zombies to sloughter! And the mall is reasonably big considering the game length and amount of features crammed into it. Plus if you are familiar with the Grand Theft Auto games (which most people who own a console are) then you may be able to think of this as a Grand Theft Auto game set in a mall, eccept there are no civilans, just zombies, and less missions and a less complex story, wel its not much like a Grand Theft Auot game but you see my point when i say its a pretty large free roaming game where you can brutally (more brutally than GTA in this games case) kill anyone (pretty much anyway) and everyone and everything!

Now THAT goes into the fun factor, Because oif you are going to enjoy this game to its fullest potential then you need to be the kind of person who would enjoy killing hundreds of thousands of zombies with gardening tools and heavy machine guns. So if your the kind of strategical game fan then this game will almost definetly not be as good as it could be through your eyes. MAKE SHURE when buying this game, that you will like and get a fun experience from killing lots of zombies and producing lots of puddles of blood, otherwise this game will get boring reasonably quickly. ANOTHER THING, that is probably this games MAIN FLAW!!!; IS THAT IT CAN BE PRETTY FRUSTRATING AT TIMES, as there is only 1 game save slot and with this fault, if you dont have the right weapons to get past a boss or you have been left in a hopeless situation then you may have to start the game form the beggining and go throught the long intro again and again, so if you are also the kind of person who is likely to throw their Xbox360 at your nextdoor neighbours daughter whilst their in the garden skipping down the pathememnt out of anger, then you may find this game a bit too much. But if you can keep your cool or if you are a pretty hard core or 'proffesional' gamer than you should find this game okay. For it is the frustration tactic that got the MarioBrothers series where it is today.

So, overall ill tell you this, DeadRising is a damn impressive game and should be baught by anyoen who can withstand the fury from bieng killed a trillion times or by watching the same into over and over or if you like games that include little more than gore and death and action upon action upon action upon action!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2016
Okay
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See one answered question


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)