Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited 4 months for £0.99 Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£21.80+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 August 2014
Producer and film music lover James Fitzpatrick, highly regarded and admired in the circles of movie music fans, has finaced by his own a serie of recordings focused on composers such Miklos Rozsa, Maurice Jarre, Franz Waxman, Basil Poledouris and Jerry Goldsmith among others. In present days he represents the very best excellence in film music re-recordings along with the duo John Morgan-William Stromberg of Tribute Film Classic label.

This powerful recreation of the powerful Dimitri Tiomkin score for classic war movie "The Guns of Navarone" was one of the first albums produced by Tadlow.
Here you can hear in the best sound the complete large scale of symphonic and choral marterpieces of the eclectic russian composer.
Not to be confused with the original soundtrack or any other easy-listening or "pop" album like some other reviewers do, this cd offers the very first opportunity to listen to the complete film score, as conceived by Tiomkin, without cuts or editing to match music and images in the film.
The choral arrangements of "Yassu" and the "Legend of Navarone" songs, penned by Tiomkin, are really remarkable; but the full symphonic score is a real discovery: the raucous and dark orchestra of Tiomkin, a master in orchestration in the best russian tradition of Rimsky-Korsakov, is full of power and is absolutely enjoyable as a symphonic tone poem, away from the film.

Talented and expert conductor Nic Raine leads the City of Prague Philharmonic Orchestra and the Crouch End Festival Chorus.

A short but satisfactory suite from the film "The Sundowners" completes the set (James Fitzpatrick conducts).

Excellent and rich booklet notes.

Track list:

1. Prologue (2:54)
2. The Legend of Navarone (2:35)
3. Can You Do It? (1:50)
4. On to Castelrosso (2:48)
5. Caique Leaves Harbour (1:41)
6. Ship Ahoy! (5:03)
7. Sea Scene and Storm (10:05)
8. Climbing Navarone (3:50)
9. The Cliff is Conquered (2:36)
10. Intermission Music (1:50)
11. Anna (3:44)
12. The Brooding Guns (4:04)
13. Destroyers on the Way (5:02)
14. Decoys Destroyed (2:02)
15. Mission Accomplished (6:49)
16. The Legend of Navarone - Exit Music (4:35)
17. Yassu (3:26)

18. Main Title (3:27)
19. Mad Dog (2:21)
20. The Fire (2:03)
21. Sundowner / End Credits (2:33)
22. Yassu (Vocal Version) (3:26)

Playing time: 79:12

Stereo DDD
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2013
This CD opens up Dimitri Tiomkins energetic score for Carl Foreman's famous film. Fresh from penning his magnificent music to "The Alamo" the master set about writing themes to a more recent conflict , albeit a fictional incident in WW2.

Missing is the opening narration from James Robertson Justice, plus the sequence in which the main titles appeared on film, otherwise this is a comprehensive selection from a memorable score. The Intermission is included, which was never used in the upteen screenings I attended at various venues. However, I seem to recall they blew this film up to 70mm at one point, and they may have had music then - although I could be absolutely wrong. Pedantic note: when I first saw this film in 1961 there was a drum beat just before the Intermission, when the child had given Gregory Peck the flowers. After the fade out the title card read "Interval", rather than "Intermission". In all recent video and DVD versions the drum beat is missing, and the title reads "Intermission". The 1960s version, in both sound and vision was more effective.

This presentation by the City of Prague Philharmonic Orchestra with the Crouch End Festival Chorus, conducted by Nic Raine is superb. Also featured are four tracks from Tiomkin's score to Fred Zinnemann's "The Sundowners".

This is a "Limited Edition" release, available at the moment at a reasonable price. Highly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 April 2009
The Guns of Navarone is my Favourite War-time Action Adventure film of all time. Since its release back in 1961 I must have seen it countless numbers of times and have TWO copies of it on DVD in my collection and never tire of watching it, even if I almost know the dialogue that is coming up ! The stirring music from the film is an integral part of the film itself. Although an LP was release back in 1961 of the OST, several sections of the score were left out. Some sections were shortened even in the film itself, but HERE you have the complete works as composed by Dimitri Tiomkin in superb DOLBY SURROUND SOUND - believe me, it's wonderful stirring stuff! If you liked the film - you will love this, and want to have it in your collection. It consists of 17 tracks from the film, followed by 4 bonus tracks (about 10 minutes) from "The Sundowners", another Tiomkin composition, and finally a vocal version of "Yassu".
If I could make one slight criticism, I would not have included the "Sundowners" tracks - good as they are, but personally, I found that they were a bit of a distraction to the main object of this CD - ie. a wonderful and long overdue recording of the fine music from an equally fine film.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)