Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

3.8 out of 5 stars
36
3.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£3.97+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 4 March 2017
This is a good collection of Nirvana "rarities". I gave it four stars as it is a good example of the rare recordings, demos etc from one of the greatest bands in rock history. However, one thing I would say is that it could have been a better definitive Nirvana rarities album if they had stayed away from including demo versions of the hit songs (Smells Like Teen Spirit, Lithium, Sliver Heart-Shaped Box, All Apologies, About a Girl etc). I think it would have been better if they had included the actual rare songs from the boxset that were not just demo versions of the hit songs. I mean they could have included Here She Comes Now which is the Velvet Undergound cover, which is a great performance or Clean Up Before She Comes another rare yet classic Nirvana tune. Why include two versions of Rape Me ? and why include that live version of Floyd the Barber when there are other more stronger rarities on the box: Token Eastern Song and Verse Chorus Verse for example. So while it is good that they included the demo version of Come as You Are that wasn't on the box, it really should have been on the box anyway. I think they missed the chance to make the definitive Nirvana rarities album by going with all those demo versions of the hit songs.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 March 2017
I'm biased admin a die hard nirvana fan top album
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 May 2017
ALBUM
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 November 2014
Probably ok if you have all Nirvavan albums already, but the sound quality is pretty poor
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 October 2015
This compilation is absolutely awful
My take would have taken all the gems
(which can go on a single disc)
Off the with the lights out boxset
and put them on this. But they didn't
because it would of made the boxset
pointless.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 April 2016
Awful! Just like a bunch of 3 year olds playing guitar and drums in a garage!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 December 2014
The quality was good, just when I transferred the cd onto my phone it came up with an irrelevant picture as the background so I was unimpressed. :(
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2012
if you want a best of nirvana then get the cd album entitled "nirvana" as this is actually a best of a box of recordings - mostly home and demos.
i think it's worth it to hear the alternative versions - another version of rape me which has the same words but sounds so different because of the recording; the version of sliver has some different words; as does spank thru which is also sung in another key; sappy sounds different (one of the better versions of it) and the one i think is worth getting the album for (or at least downloading the track) is you know you're right which has a different feel and sound altogether from the studio recording as well as some different wording.
there's also a number of lesser known songs on this but unfortuneatly being live/demos/home recordings the sound quality is inconsistent; this is especially so with smells like teen spirit which is almost unhearable. overall this album is a little treasure for nirvana fans, especially if you don't have the box set (with the lights out) or other collections, and for those few who only know the main albums it's an enlightenment as to just how versitile/eclectic the sound of nirvana was(the recordings appear to span their entire musical career).
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 May 2006
It's not easy being one of the most influential popular music bands, especially when the lead singer is dead! Even so Nirvana still have more to release! 'Sliver - The Best of the Box' gives a concise version of the box set 'With the lights out'. The raw sounding demos along with three previously unreleased tracks, 'Spank Thru' (yes it is a sexual pun!), 'Come As You Are' and 'Snappy' give you an early Kurt Cobain in development. There are some appealing tracks on this compilation including 'Clean Up Before She Comes' that incorporates soulful harmonies along with an acoustic guitar, as well as the classic 'Smells like Teen Spirit'. This is a very rugged sounding compilation, and I would not advise you to start out with this CD if you are new to Nirvana. Although I was quite impressed with the tracks on this album the austerity of it didn't grab me, but for any Nirvana fan it is well worth a listen.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 July 2016
This is a collection of mostly live tracks and demos - only one track is a proper finished track ("Old Age", which was left off Never mind). It will always interest hardcore fans to hear alternate or early versions of well known tracks but the quality of the recordings will not interest anyone encountering the band for the first time. I was able to get this CD cheaply through marketplace, would have felt hard done by had I paid full price.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)