Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

3.8 out of 5 stars
21
3.8 out of 5 stars


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 29 April 2013
i got this for my hubby as he had an opp & was laid up for a week, both he & our son are boxers & enjoyed watching these bouts, some were found alot more interesting than others, some theyed seen before but most they hadent, you get alot of viewing for your money, well worth the price, especially as it ment i didnt have to baby sit him ( sorry keep him company) all the time, ha.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2011
The DVD has clips of old fights, in -as expected- poor poor quality.

It sells cheap, yet I'm giving it 3 stars (instead of 5) for disclosure reasons: the title should be "45 (not full) fights".

Beyond the 3-pound mark, Youtube clips become a winning alternative.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 January 2011
Unfortunately the newsreel clips used in this dvd are very old and, in some cases, so dark that the tops of the fighters cannot be seen. The post-war clips are better and I have enjoyed watching a number of fights which I had previously only listened to on the wireless (that word gives my age away). If you are an enthusiast or researching a PhD in pugilism, it's a good buy.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2014
The gloves were lighter, the rounds were longer and every one in the crowd wore a hat. A worthy nod to a great era.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 June 2012
Overall this DVD is a little disappointing but for boxing fanatics like myself you do get the ease of having a vast range of quality fighters all in one place.
Yes at times the picture quality is poor and some of the clips are rushed and badly edited including the Jack Johnson Stanley Ketchel title fight.
You see neither punch that knocked down both fighters, the knock down's are what made this fight legendary.
However the DVD redeems itself with coverage of the Jack Dempsey Jess Willard world title fight from 1919.
The fight is almost completely covered with some decent commentary.
Most of the other fights are brief and the picture quality varies between bouts.
Having said that the DVD covers the early years of boxing so what do you expect?
Overall not bad value but there is better out there.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 December 2012
reminds of old days and history in making on some good boxers we have had reasonable ........recommended dvd for boxing fans,......
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 February 2012
This DVD was great to watch and well worth the money, this is one I will definately be keeping, it was all I hoped it would be
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 July 2010
These fights are in fact of the best. Ienjoy watching it. I'll buy more of this.

You can see how poor heavyweight-division is today. Can't compare it to the old masters at all!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 April 2009
I FOUND THIS DVD OK,BUT IT FAILED TO HOLD MY ATTENTION FOR THE FULL DURATION OF THE DVD,IT WAS NOT BAD BUT CHAMPIONS FOREVER SERIES IS ALOT BETTER IN MY OPINION
22 Comments| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 January 2011
Unless you are a scholar of old fights I doubt you'll enjoy this. Logie Baird had only just invented the TV when these fights were filmed. The quality is terrible. JP
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)