Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Worried Blues Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
48
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£4.84+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 31 December 2010
This DVD is fantastic. This is a definitive insight in to the legend that is John Lennon. Starting off with the inception of the Beatles all the way through to his tragic murder in 1980 this documentary shows every aspect of his life from his life with Yoko, his political activities, his hiatus from public life in the mid 1970's to look after his little boy and of course his musical journey.

To me this is a definitive film that anybody interested in, not just John Lennon, but one of the greatest icons of the 20th century. With interviews with the man himself, Yoko, Sean and his aunt for whom he grew up with and of course all of his interviews given during his life this is fascinating, intruiging and quite moving all the way through.

To me John Lennon is a legend and his music both with the Beatles and his solo career will stand the test of time for many many years to come. This film is true testament to one of the greatest men of the 20th century and i cant recommend it enough. Five Stars!!!!!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 May 2017
honestly the most touching and emotional film I've seen in a while about a man I completely love and miss, definitely worth it if you're a fan
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 September 2010
This is one of the best DVDs I have received. Brings back such wonderful memories of the sixties when John's name was on everybody's lips. I can thoroughly recommend this DVD to all John Lennon fans and others who should know more about this wonderful man.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2017
Was a gift to a friend in AU, he loved it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2017
The best John Lennon documentary.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 December 2002
This video has everything you need to remember a living legend, home movies, live performances, video's, etc. I'm a John Lennon fan and found this to be one of his best videos yet!! The video is narrated by the man himself and is assembled from the private files of Yoko Ono. Its shows a great insight into his life and great footages from his campaigns for peace. LENNON LIVES ON.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 September 2010
One thing that annoys me to the core is that every time you want to watch the movie you have to sit through that anti-piracy commercial. Annoying especially that I, the owner of this disc, have to watch it and there's no way of skipping it. These things make people pirate the movies!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2003
December 8, 1980 - New York City
"John Lennon, the guiding spirit of The Beatles, dead tonight at 40."
Those immortal words at the end of the movie bring tears to everyone who was a fan of John Lennon. I remember hearing and seeing that news report from a hospital bed at 6 years old. It was and always will be a tragic memory. The man who resurfaced after a 5 year absence with a powerhouse of music destined for new life had been cut short just a few hours after an interview where he said:
"My work won't be finished until I'm dead and buried. And I hope that's a long, long time."
The long time was 2-3 hours.
The movie is an intimate portrait of Lennon's life and legacy. It exposes the chaos behind the myth, as well as the genius behind the man. With all the tales from friends, associates, Paul, George, Ringo, and George Martin on "The Beatles Anthology," this one focuses on Lennon's life in his own words and home videos. Taken directly from the archives of the man himself, there has never been a better documentary on Lennon. From Liverpool beginnings to the end in New York City, watch the boy become a superstar, the superstar into a man, and the man become a legend.
Remember John Lennon 1940 - 1980...
22 Comments| 30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 December 2005
This film is about John Lennon's life - as told through a collection of film clips, some previously seen, but many from the private archives of Yoko Ono. Actually the film is threaded together like a documentary running in chronological order from John's earliest years, through the birth of the beatles and into the solo years and uses john's voice from film clips and recordings to narrate the story of his life. This is a newly-remastered version containing extra footage and an extra disk to the original release. Recommended for anyone interested in the life of the much-missed John Lennon.
0Comment| 36 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 November 2003
This video is well worth a look for any Lennon fans out there. It helped get me into the life and music of John Lennon by giving a colourful moving look at the life of a man much missed by many.
Including home videos, rare performance footage and exclusive interviews with people that knew John Lennon, this video gets a hearty recommendation from me to you!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse