Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
22
4.1 out of 5 stars
John Peel - A Tribute
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£4.94+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 18 October 2005
This is on the surface a rather admirable attempt to gather together a history of music that has been championed by the late great DJ over his remarkable career.
This works on one level but fails on another. As compilations go its pretty good. The proceeds will apparently go to charity which also another good reason to buy.
However it seems to have completely overlooked several of the genres that John himself loved. So whilst theres no denying the tunes here are classics there is no Grime, Death metal, Hip hop, Happy hardcore, Drum and bass, World music,etc represented here.
Surely the essence of the Peel show was the ecletic mix he provided. This was the way the listener got drawn into types of music that may otherwise have passed them by.
Perhaps the people behind this compilation have plans to follow it up and I guess to get all of the stuff that John loved across a 2 cd set is a bit of a tall order. It would have been nice to have included the session versions of these songs where possible too.
John famously said that he got fed up of his listeners festive 50's because it was filled primarily with white boys (and girls) with guitars when he was always giving airtime to such a bigger variety of artists from around the world. I think he would have said the same of this compilation (Culture and Elmore James being the exceptions here).
So by all means buy this compilation but do consider that the great man himself would have found this a somewhat safe and pedestrian collection.
Something on the lines of his own DJ set at Fabric would have been a far more fitting tribute and a box set at least.
The man may be gone but there is still music out there waiting to be found so lets try and 'Keep it Peel!' Peace and love to his family.
0Comment| 208 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2006
The selection of tracks on this album confirms to me that noone who has any control over this post-peel deluge really "gets" what John Peel was about. Where's the Drum and Bass? The Grindcore and Death metal? The just plain crazy?!
Only ONE electronic act - Orbital - features here. The rest is guitar-based through and through.That's not to say that there are no good tracks on this. Most in fact, are classics. But herein lies the problem. The track list reads like a cynical and commercial "Most Sucessful Bands = Most Profit/Charity Revenue" venture.
That doesn't necessarily equate to good value for the listener.
Put this on, and I doubt you'd think you were listening to one of his shows. It's nowhere near eclectic enough. I also doubt very much that this is how the track list would have been had John Peel put it together himself. Therefore I don't think it's good value for money.
I realise Peel liked the Undertones (an under-statement perhaps!), but he also liked such a stupidly large amount of other stuff too. I realise you could effectively make a 200 CD set and still not please everyone, but this album puts him across like a straight-forward alternative rock fan. The proof? I know lots of people who like the kind of music on here and little else. This just scratches the surface of Peels' tastes.
I wish someone would do a really good off-the-wall tribute John Peel (maybe with a few of the tracks on here) because noone listened to his show for just the (now) listenable stuff. You wanted to be surprised not lulled into a safe little corner of catchy hits.
Unfortunately that is what this album does.
0Comment| 43 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 8 August 2015
There are at least two double albums of "Peel" selections ( the other I know of is John Peel “ Right time , wrong speed “ , also on the Warner label)
I am fascinated by some of the reviewers who say that the selections are "Not Peel enough" meaning that their favourite obscure band was not featured in this selection.
I doubt that even 5 double CD's would cover all of the bands who he "promoted" by simply playing on his programmes
John Ravonscroft Peel ( Wargrave of the Marshes) was in a unique position where , unlike many other DJ's (who plugged the "known bands" in the charts) was allowed to select music he liked , possibly music he expected you to like ( or at least to listen to) thereby giving air time to many unknowns who went onto greatness , cult status ( or who sank - thankfully - into obscurity). We gained exposure to some new musical options - to accept or reject as we liked.
The 2 CD's here give examples of 40 bands ranging from Lonnie Donnegan (1956) to Belle and Sebastian (and includes the Peel favourite Teenage Kicks –The Undertones ).
( The other double CD " Right time , wrong speed - covers 1977-87)
So , for those who already listened to Peel's offerings and made their choices - a chance to revisit some other bands
Those like me ( a child of the 60's) - a chance to explore some new bands ( before they became famous) and perhaps to select some to explore further ( At least to check out in the "All Music Guide to Rock" or even “The Rough Guide to Rock” for discussions of individual albums or selections )
You can read the detailed track listings on the Amazon website . . As said before - some made it to the dizzy heights - others didn't - but they all were Peel's musical children in a way.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 March 2017
It's a good selection of the bands John championed, but as others have already said there is a lot missing. A glaring omission for me is the very brilliant Ivor Cutler, who over the years did many sessions for Peely.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2017
It was nice to hear these songs but I felt that the track listing, for an homage to a man who was infamously unpredictable or eclectic in his tastes, was extraordinarily discernible. There were very few surprises here, though 'Be Careful There's A Baby In the House' was a beautiful discovery.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 November 2005
Here is a complete bag of artists and music spanning several decades of Peelability presenting both quality and quantity. Within this 2 CD 40 track collection you'll find some old favourites mixed with inspired finds that fit the enormous Peel profile. With little effort it's possible to listen both to the music and the imaginary narratives, good and bad, that has escorted us through many a musical broadcast landscape. John himself might have cautioned such a commercial compilation as being nostalgically twee, but then again all profits do go to charity!
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 November 2005
While it's true that many of the artists included here would have disappeared without trace had Peel not promoted them on his radio show, this CD would have been more befitting of the great man had it mirrored the outrageous eclectism for which he was famous and which made his show such a joy to listen to. With a few exceptions (the Faces, Beefheart), it also appears to have missed out the period when I was a regular listener from the mid-to-late 70s and it seemed that no programme would be without a track from Status Quo! I'm no fan of the Quo, and I realise the absurd constraints imposed by having to select only 40 songs from over three decades, but there is simply no excuse for leaving them out - somehow, without them, it's just NOT Peel. Not to mention Ivor Cutler, Vivian Stanshall, Roxy Music and Family. If you don't have the majority of these tracks or would like to give a friend or younger relation a great gift, buy this CD - you'll also be helping some of Peel's favourite charities - but if you want a true memento of the most important British DJ of all time, this is sadly not it.
22 Comments| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2017
John Peel was the most laid-back bloke ever, but his taste in music was peerless. A brilliant compilation and a great reminder of a truly unique person. Love it !!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2016
A brilliant eclectic track selection. Really enjoyed the album.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2016
It is ok, there are better compilations from the JP stable
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)