Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle George Michael - MTV Replugged Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
114
4.9 out of 5 stars
Willo The Wisp [DVD] [1981]
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£7.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 30 July 2001
I had forgotten how great this series actually was. The tearful, fat fairy Mavis, Evil Edna, Arthur, Carwash and my personal favourite Moog the dog. The animation is classic and the storylines come flying back to you as you watch. Evil Edna is still a fear-inducing figure and Arthur looks a bit like one of the characters from The Magic Rounabout. With twelve episodes on one video it is definitely value for money and believe me-you will want to watch them over and over again.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
HALL OF FAMETOP 100 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 5 February 2012
Let's face it the thing that made these excellent cartoons so wonderful was Kenneth Williams Narration and his sheer skill with the voices. I had the cassette version for years and played it to death never missing the visual input one jot.
His Arthur the Caterpillar all earthy tones like the grounds he inhabits. Mavis Cruet the fat thick fairy (if it's PC to say that these days) The magnificent Evil Edna who as a witch has been transformed into a bad tempered Television, Like wise with the unfortunate former Price Beast who cannot roll his Rs and so is rejected by Mavis!
Moog the thick witted dog and the superior carwash the Cat together with the narrator Willo the Wisp who looks a lot like Kenneth Williams's nostrils a flare and all.
Sheer unadulterated joy in a box. Worth its weight in gold so don't develop a gilt complex for treating yourself to it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 July 2013
I purchased this product thinking im buying the old 1970's period one as I loved watching this as a young kid. when I got it I found out its an updated now-a-day version I just never bothered to watch it and through it in with all my other dvds.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 October 2000
If you're a thirty-something (or a twenty-something with a good memory) then think back to 5:35pm weekdays and a journey into Doily Woods to meet Arthur the caterpillar, Mavis the fairy ("You great fat, fairy person" as Edna sometimes cried), Evil Edna the television, Moog the dog, Carwash the cat, the Beast (who was once a prince), and many others. With Willo the Wisp telling the story, we saw Evil Edna's tricks as she cast her wicked spells on the creatures of Doily Woods, in a series of bizarre and wondrous situations, from Edna's secret love of a TV weatherman, to her plan to turn the gnomes into garden ornaments to sell, and to the Miss Universe competition. All narrated and voiced by the superb Kenneth Williams, Willo the Wisp will take you back to a bygone teatime era of weird and wonderful adventures for the folk of Doily Woods. One for us kids who are now big kids - show it to yours, it's better than most of the nonsense on these days.
11 Comment| 103 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 November 2008
This brilliant classic cartoon returned to the screens on Nick Jr and my little boy was in instant fan. Got him this dvd set as he loves to watch willo and his friends and fab price too!! Recommended
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 September 2007
In recent years, there has been much discussion as to whether The Sopranos, or perhaps The Wire, can claim to be The Greatest Television Ever Made.

They can't, wonderful as they are. It is a little known fact that the high-point of art on the small screen was reached in 1981, right here in the UK. And this is it.

Nothing, (I find), is quite as sublime as watching The Moog exclaim "My name is The Moog. And I...Am...An...Elephant!!!"

Kenneth Williams was a genius and this is, oddly enough, probably his finest legacy. Delicious.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 May 2010
This is the one to get. The transfer (sound and picture quality) on this disc are near-faultless. Why can't all classic kids TV programmes be given this treatment?

Willo the Wisp is great, and bizarre. What makes it are the fantastic "voices" of Kenneth Williams.

The Moog and Car Wash (the most stupid, and most clever inhabitants of Dolly Woods respectively) are classic characters. e.g. When Evil Edna had just turned Mavis Cruet into a tree...

Arthur: "I shall give Evil Edna a piece of my mind."
Moog: "Yeah, and I shall give her a piece of my mind too."
Car Wash: "Confidentially Moog, you just can't afford it."

My 3 and 5 years old children adore this series.
22 Comments| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2000
This cartoon series was elevated above the average by Kenneth Williams' narration for all the characters. Known for his campness, Williams creates a array of nicely different characters - the TV-witch Evil Edna, big-boned fairy Mavis, dim Arthur the Caterpillar, the cat Carwash and (best of all) the strange-shaped pig-dog-thing, The Moog! The exploits of this bizarre collection (in the sprawling Doily Wood) are told by the spectral Willo' the Wisp, a narrator with a definite likeness to Williams himself! Very good.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 August 2011
There are times when that little pocket money we have these days can bring so much happiness!

I remember mum renting the video for me over and over and over again. I reckon she was sick fed up of doing that, but I was hooked. That was 20 years ago!

You know what its like when you spend that much time online, you just happen to stumble stuff that you adore.. Work this out, looking at Wikipedia for an article on "Archimedes", from there I get to solar flares to plasma to st elmos flares and then will-o'-the-wisp. What came to mind then ? you guessed it, Willo! Roll in memories of the great voice of late Williams.

What a wonderful DVD to have for oneself and for the kids. Its wonderful to see them watching something else other than the usual boring stuff they are flooded with these days.

Now looking for series two, which doesn't have Williams and there are some minor changes, but I believe it still has the magical tales and spooks.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 September 2000
Who could resist the temptation - the COMPLETE Willo the Wisp. Fantastic. Cower as Evil Edna jumps out from behind the trees, laugh as Arthur tries to help Mavis fly and wonder at why Moog can't and definitely shouldn't think!
Fantastically wacky and a must for those who loved it when young. Show it to the kids too!
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse