Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
40
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.22+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 December 2006
I was completely unprepared for this album to be anything other than dreadul. Her first album (which I'd been given as a gift) certainly was, with the exception of the blissfully funky 'Sweet Dreams My LA Ex'.
Thereafter, I was, not so much disappointed, but actually offended by Rachel's output. Tinny production. Whispy go nowhere vocals. Video's with an apparent budget of around three quid fifty.
So when I was offered this album, I was reticent to say the least.
Imagine my surprise therefore, to find that Rachels second album (singles asides) - was in fact, an absolute pop gem!
Rachels vocal ability (last done justice on S Club's 'Natural') were finally rediscovered. OMG! The girl can vibrato? No?!! Her performance has subtlety & tones? Get out!
Only it's true.
Having finally discovered the 'base' section of the mixing board, the production quality can also not be faulted.
A remarkably good album. Particularly great is aptly named 'So Good' - and the sumptuously sexy (yet, oddly, maligned by fans) 'Je M'Appelle'.
This album should have been HUGE, however, I suspect it's fortunes suffered due to the wrong singles being chosen - those that *were* chosen, having cheap nasty videos - and Rachels management placing a stranglehold on her ever being able to say anything remotely reminicent of actually posessing a personality, in interviews.
A great shame about that - but a great listen, none the less.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 May 2007
I've never really liked Rachel Stevens, and S Club was something that passed me by. But if you like proper pop music, well produced, with some fantastic electro production on it, then this is one of the greatest albums from the last few years. One of my friends is a professional music journo, who turned me onto this album. I didn't believe him when he told me how good it was, then I listened to it. Yes, your friends will take the pi## out of you, until they hear it.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2006
It's really a shame that this album flopped, because this album is great!
It has a mix of Kylie, Madonna and Liberty X, and it works like nothing you've heard before.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 November 2005
1. So Good - 5/5 This was the second single, excellent futuristic sounding techno dance track that is really catchy!
2. I Said Never Again (But Here We Are)- 4/5 Third single, really attitude packed track with a really catchy chorus. The video is also pretty fab set in the Bad Girls prison! "I told you never to play my new guitar.."
3. Crazy Boys - 4/5 Excellent upbeat track thats dancey and chilled out at the same time. Its yet again another catchy number simular to So Good.
4. I Will Be There - 5/5 I once read someones review that it sounded like "I Believe In You", Kylie's hit song. And they where right, This has got to be the BEST track on the album for me. its amazing. its very Autherial and very Atmospheric, the words to the song are beautiful, and the haunting beat gives you goosebumps. (in a good way!)
5. Negotiate With Love - 5/5 The first single if you dont count "Some Girls" which originally came the from Funky Dory album. This song is pure rachel its fantastic. the vocals are amazing how she changes the tone in her voice and makes it higher and higher. also the music is quite 50's style simular to a previous song "blue afternoon" which was a fans favourite from the first album.
6. It's All About Me 4/5 - Really excellent catchy song, thats got another quite grown up feel to it.
7. Secret Garden 4/5 - This is quite a sunsual and chilled out track with a catchy chorus and its pretty upbeat to. I love this song. very unique unlike any other on the album.
8. Nothing Good About This Goodbye 5/5 - Originally going to be single No4 this is a really grown up track with a very catchy chorus. And a great beat. its alittle like previous fan favourite "Breathe in, Breathe Out".
9. Some Girls - 4/5 Everyone knows this track. originally from the Funky Dory (Re-Release) album it was released for Sports Relief last year, and was one of rachels biggest hits.
10. Je M'Apelle - Rachel was quotted as saying this song is about a "French Hooker". LOL its a good song even though the lyrics are suposedly so racey. Although i can really tell to be honest.
11. Funny How 5/5 - This song is very upbeat and catchy. It will have you danceing to it if you know whats good for you!
12. Every Little Thing - 4/5 Brilliant track thats really catchy and upbeat.
13. Dumb Dumb - 4/5 This song is suposed to be about a famous dumb blonde, I wonder who that could be? A few names come to light..
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 November 2005
Rachel is back and has done what is does best created another brillant record but I must say my favorite track must be the lastest single which is brillant and the video rocks.
Rachel has done well since S Club broke up I think Hannah should consider music where she shines because i have heard anything from her acting carear since Agent Cody Banks 2. Paul the fool has vansihed also everyone seems to have vanished apart from Rachel and Jo.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 29 September 2006
i wasnt an s-club fan or even a rachel fan till i heard "negotiate with love" and bought this album on the strenght of it. It doesnt disappoint!

Every song is full of retro 80s power...its impossible to find a bad song!

the album has a very retro feel in the same way as girls aloud..the production is fantastic..the songs strong..and miss stevens sounds great!

from "so good" (one of the best tracks) to "dumb dumb" it is pure pop magic..!!!

im not sure about "i said never again" as its a bit gary glitter meets samantha fox..and a couple of the other songs go down this route but the rest of the album makes up for it.

there are so many strong tracks i wont even try and start!

POP LUXURY!!!!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 June 2007
If only all pop albums were like this!No ballad rubbish, just excellent excellent pop songs.I love the Adam Ant style drums on 'I said Never Again', the cheeky Cure sample (who samples the Cure?!) on 'All About Me', the fizzy bounce of 'Some Girls'...oh its just a belter of an album with no duff tracks on it. With this album Rachel has moved well away from the dreadful Sixth-Form Musical style pop she peddled as part of S Club,and made a giant leap in terms of quality and production from her first album.It easily matches anything the sugababes and girls aloud have managed and is only outclassed by Goldfrapp.Simply Amazing.I cannot recommend this album highly enough, its that good!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 October 2005
Yes, Rachel may have the personality of a dishcloth and if you've heard the 3 or 4 singles that have been released from the album and didn't think much of them, you're unlikely to be in any rush to buy this album, however, you would truly be missing out on what I'm sure will become a lost electro-pop gem of an album!
The album is packed with brilliantly produced electronic pop-dance songs that are catchy as hell, and better than the majority of all the Girls Aloud songs put together. Highlights include the Kylie-esque 'So Good', the electro-balld 'Nothing Good About This Goodybe', the gorgeous uplifting 'Every Little Thing' and the Richard X produced 'Crazy Boys', and last years hit 'Some girls' is thrown in for extra measures, while 'I Will Be There', despite the rather chessy lyrics (Is it OK if I meet you in Heaven?), sounds like a distant cousin to Kylie's 'I Believe In You', only slower.
While there's a few low points, the rather messy and dull 'Secret Garden' and the boring 'Its All About Me', on the whole it's a solid album, with at least 3-4 songs which could easily be singles. I just hope the record company have a little faith in the project and chose the next single carefully after 'I Said Never Again' didn't make the Top 10, and not give up on the album.
The fact is, no matter what you think of Rachel, this is a brilliant pop album, easily the best of 2005 so far. I really can't imagine Girls Aloud releasing anything half as good (certainly not if their last 2 singles are anything to go by), and I've barely heard a negative word said about the album in all the reviews Ive read. This would have been the perfect follow up to Kylie's 'Fever', instead of the low-key and rather dire 'Body Language'. Kylie's management could do with listening to this album and taking a few tips from it!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 November 2007
That's it, really: all great songs, production and delivery. This album is testament to the strength of a brand name. If Kylie had released this 2 years ago it would have sold by the bucketload and been hailed as the great pop album it is. Even though Rachel's vocals are a little anonymous, I'm sorry we haven't heard anything from her since, because Come And Get It is so assured it seems to promise a stellar career. Get it, it's truly great.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2006
this is the best album ive heard in a VERY long time, her vocals are excellent and the funky electro pop is at its best. This is one brilliant album, its a shame it was a bit of a flop, as it has totally done her great vocals justice, buy it , its SOOOO much better than funkydory and tell all your friends about it!! its great!!!!!!!! 10/10
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£11.23
£6.99
£6.44

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)