Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

A Night At The Opera
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£9.98+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 10 November 2014
a great album good songs
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 May 2013
A brillient CD it shows the other side of Freddy and is a really good listen I would recomend it to anyone
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 December 2014
I already had this on at regular cd, but I'll never regret I bought this edition.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 December 2012
A Night At The Opera - Queen
Yet another fantastic album from the masters, if you have A Day At The Races then you have to have this one as well
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 April 2015
brilliant and amazing delivery times
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 November 2014
Timeless
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 July 2014
Wow not what I was expecting but brilliant all the same. Freddie you are missed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 February 2015
Excellent service, excellent item
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 September 2011
Great sound, recorded at half speed, very low noise level, the prophets song and bohemian rhapsody are amazing on this vinyl album
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 October 2002
I grew up with Queen from the age of 7 years, after first hearing 'The Seven Seas Of Rhye' on the radio one Sunday afternoon whilst helping my Dad wash his car. From then on, I ate, drank, slept and breathed their studio output and live performances until every aspect of their music became etched upon my memory. If you said I was obsessed with this band then you'd be right on the nail!
I'm 35 now, my tastes have changed a little but I still hold Queen in very high regard. The are without doubt, one of the most pioneering bands ever. Their live shows had to be seen (and heard) to be be believed. My two young daughters are now hooked, as I was all those years ago. This is a nice thing to see in the 'Pop Idol' age we now live in.
The prospect of hearing Night At The Opera again from a new listening perspective was an exciting one. After all, this new DVD-Audio release of NATO was re-constructed by Brian May and the album's original producer, Roy Thomas Baker. I have to say, I wasn't disappointed one little bit.
Two of the stand-out tracks on the album are obviously 'Bohemian Rhapsody' and 'The Prophet Song'. With their multi-layered vocals and guitars, they were almost made for surround sound and I couldn't help selecting them first before listening to the rest of the album. Although extremely impressive (you can imagine how the middle section of 'The Prophet Song' takes you to another place!), it's also surprising how many of the other tracks blossom in their new surroundings.
'Love Of My Life' is particularly stunning as the harp and vocals literally wash over you, filling the room with a warm glow. I remember being devastated when Freddie passed away, almost as though a large chunk of my childhood had been annihilated. Hearing him on this release is almost like having him back again, only this time, he's actually recording the vocals live in your living room! Every nuance and characterization of his voice can be heard quite clearly, as it was meant to be. This is perhaps, for me, is the crowning glory of the album. It's testament indeed to Freddie's highly unique voice and vocal delivery.
'Good Company' is another number that shines brightly on the DVD-A release. Amazingly, Brain May recorded all of the 'wind instruments' on this track with guitars, one note at a time! Well, all his hard work is now showcased brilliantly in this format, as the different 'instruments' attack your senses from all corners of the room. As you can well imagine, 'Seaside Rendevous' and 'Lazing On A Sunday' are similarly wonderful in their delivery, especially the special authentic brass and vocal effects that are peppered throughout the tracks. '39' takes on a whole new meaning too, sounding extremely lush and giving the acoustic guitars great separation and a sense of space.
Before closing, I must add that I listened to the album on a standard DVD player in 5.1 sound, not a dedicated DVD-Audio player. Now that would be a trip. If you're a Queen fan with a surround sound set-up, why are you still reading this review when you should be hitting the 1-Click button? This release is a "must-have" for you.
As Freddie would have no doubt exclaimed; Magnifico Dears!
11 Comment| 37 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)