Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
26
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£3.10+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 10 October 2005
I've been listening to this for the last week after getting hold of a Promo copy of the album.
It's a great debut (although there have been lots of earlier independant releases) from the trio, and evidence that they are already up there with the best in creating infectious three minute symphonies. Kicking off with the power pop/punk first single, "Nobody Move, Nobody Get Hurt" the album gets off to a ferocious start and is an indication of the quality that is to purvey throughout the record.
Dynamically the band is improving all the time, and the songs are continually interesting; "Can't Lose" showcases this. Starting with a stripped down bass/drum/vocal, then sweeping into a guitar-laden chorus, suddenly the middle 8 drops out, falling into an unexpected vocal harmony, before the trio finally storm back into the chorus refrain.
Anyone who's seen the band live will testify that the guys are consummate musicians (and amusing!). The musianship on the album is most prevalent on the trio of songs kicking off with new single, "The Great Escape". Building up from the catchy guitar intro into the drum-rolling crescendo chorus, it's a sublime slice of everything a great single should be. "Textbook" shows the band in more contemplative mood; complete with haunting guitar lick, anguished backing vocals, and matter of fact delivery of chorus, it's expertly carried off. "Lousy Reputation" completes the trilogy, and is for me the standout track of the album. Leading with Chiming guitar, fastidious bassline, and defiant intelligent vocal the song grows gradually before flourishing into an anthemic choral feast. Better is to come as the persistance following the second chorus temporarily halts, gradually the vocals intensify, the guitars slide back into mix, and the sublime drum rolls build, before the pyrotechnical final chorus refrain. A sure fire future single?
By far a one trick pony, the album also showcases other feats the band is capable of. Intelligent, interesting Indie Pop, such as "Worth The Wait", the near Punk of "Callback"...The band fuse genres as expertly and as easily as an untrained electrician fuses fuses.
A Great debut.
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 April 2006
This album is a grower. When I first listened to it I felt that it was okay and one or two tracks did stand out but relistening to it, it is a really good album. Got everything you want in music; catchy lyrics, cool dancable tunes and music that all genres of rock can enjoy, from the dreaded emo to the cool indie. They are better than the Arctic Monkeys in my personal opinion and if it wasn't from those Monkeys, everyone would be raving bout these instead.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 October 2005
this is one of those albums from a new band that you just have to buy. it is amazing as are the band. the opening track "nobody move nobody get hurt" is such an upbeat catchy song which you cant help but tap your foot along too.
all the other songs continue on this level, with the great escape and in action being standout amazing tracks.
anyone into rock music or even punk/punkrock should buy this album because their cd collection will be at loss without it.
this beats franz ferdinand any day of the week.
buy it
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 June 2006
While not divulging in the same enthusiasm as other reviewers, We Are Scientists have made an essentially 'pop' album. Every song contains a catchy riff and their music can appeal to a wide audience. What's more, With Love and Squalor is in my opinion a massive improvement on their self released EPs and the trio have a sense of humour to boot.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 January 2006
All i knew about this band before getting the album was that they were quirky men with weird dress sense. Since getting the album i have learnt that these guys will make it big.
the album is truly supurb. Bit short but amazing all the way through. Like the Kaiser Chief's Employment every track could be a single. Despite their typical indie strumming the songs are actually quite melodic due to the singers different but likeable voice. You can definately sense the NY influence such as the strokes in the music however this is different, its punkier. Easier to dance along to. Cant wait to see them live. Check out tracks "cant lose" and "inaction"
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 3 January 2006
We are scientists got rather overlooked in 2005, what with the Artic Monkeys excitement, Maximo Park and so on. A bit of a shame, as they present lively and fully-worked songs that will put a smile on your face.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 January 2006
When I first heard We Are Scientists on radio 1 I was struck by how cathcy and immediately likeable their music is. When I finally got their album a few weeks ago I found it the same. Although it needs a few listens to really tap into the fine quality of the music it is a very good, solid debut.
When ypu first hear the funky guitar riff of 'Nobody Move' you have an idea of what the album is going to be like: fast, funky, and extremly catchy. My favourite songs are 'Lousy Reputation', 'In Action' and 'Nobody Move Nobody Get Hurt', simply because this the guys at their best.
My only (if a bit picky) complaint is that it's a bit on the short side at only 37 minutes long. Despite this, if you love Franz Ferdinand, Bloc Party and/or Maximo Park then this is a highly recommended album which I feel was slightly overlooked in the excitement of all the other bands at the moment (Arctic Monkeys for instance).
I sincerly recommend this excellent piece of indie/pop/punk!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 July 2006
Like my title suggests, i really really enjoyed this album! Having best sent a mix cd with 'The Great Escape' amongst the tracks i felt compelled to hear the rest of the album and i wasn't disappointed! The album kicks off with the upbeat and edgy 'nobody move...' and keeps up a funky, danceable beat all the way through, only pausing for a breath on 'textbook'. The best songs I.M.O on the this album are Great Escape, Inaction, Cashcow and Nobody Move... however the rest are all very, very good and superb listening! Would recommend this to anyone!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 July 2007
We Are Scientists are a New York-based three-piece that released their debut album "With Love and Squalor" in 2005. As their name suggests, they look and talk like nerds. However, We Are Scientists do know how to pen songs that should prove strong commercial hits, as they cash in on the current vogue for post-punk songs that get you up on your feet and rocking.

The album clocks in at a pretty fast 12 tracks in 37 minutes and does not pause for breath at the start until the fourth track "Can't Lose". The record is heavily guitar-laden, with nearly all of the tracks containing hooks that are well worth hearing. Murray is on lead guitar and vocals and does both quite well, while Cain (complete with the dodgey 1980s 'tache and glasses) on bass is capable of producing a strong and distinct sound, without dominating. Although American, they do occasionally sound like one of their peer bands from the UK though, e.g. The Editors or Kaiser Chiefs.

The big themes on the album are the pressing issues of the day - birds and booze. Well, lets face it, they were for most blokes when they were students and this is clearly where this band wants to pitch its tent right now.

"With Love and Squalor" opens with "Nobody Moves, Nobody Gets Hurt", a jeu-de-mot of a title which makes the track sound like something the Fun Loving Criminals would offer up, but is really about pleading with a girlfriend to stay. Its a catchy guitar-driven song, which has the feel though of being a paint-by-numbers approach to how to achieve a commercial hit at present. Take the chorus as an example of instantly memorable, but preferably forgettable lyrics:

Because my body is your body

I won't tell anybody

If you wanna use my body

Go for it, yeah

Similarly, "The Great Escape", later in the album, has a superb heavy bass sound that really gets you moving to it, whilst Murray succeeds in being able to sing quite well over the throbbing sound. However, the lyrics are once more disappointing with a chorus of:

I got a great idea

I'm gonna wait right here

I got a great idea

I'm gonna wait right here

While everything is adding up, up, up

Everything is adding up, up, up

The song I like the most though is "Textbook". It could easily be mistaken for a number off The Editors' "The Back Room". However, as a song, it shows We Are Scientists in a different light with respect to how they sound and the type of song they are capable of, with lyrics such as "smitten but not stupid" and "having every question answered isn't going to help at all" achieving a resonance for me that the other songs on the album do not. Similarly, its not quite as good, but much the same can be said of the subsequent track "Lousy Reputation", a song about a guy persuading himself not to be led by other people's low opinions of a girl that he has just met.

My overall feeling is that We Are Scientists will prove to be a popular part of the current scene of post-punk dance bands without proving to be innovators within it. This does not make them a bad band. On the contrary, there is much there to rock along to and, having seen them live twice, I can vouch for the energy they give their set.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2006
I bought this album after hearing the singles "Great Escape" and "its a hit" for a bargain £8.99. After one listen theres a couple of stand out tracks, by the third you'll notice theres no unlistenable songs, they're all at minimumly great, others are spectacular (such as the two they've released) and the others are masterpieces (Ie. Textbook and Lousy Reputation). Buy this album and worship them as Indie Gods!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£9.99
£6.07
£9.96

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)