Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 April 2015
Arrow wins for giallo Blu-ray / DVD of the year! I have bought at least four versions of this film, with the finest of the DVD versions being the German one (Blutige seide). This easily surpasses them all, due to meticulous sound and image restoration. It is almost like seeing a new film, because images hidden in the murk before become clear, while at the same time the brighter, sharper picture does not take away from the magic of the film. One Blu-ray and two DVD discs are included, along with a great booklet with essays and a review (of the included film Yellow). I've not gone through all the extras yet, but a short "neo-giallo" film is included, Yellow, as well as interviews, a panel discussion, a documentary, and a new commentary by Tim Lucas. All giallo fans and Bava fans must have this! It is a work of art. All that remains now is for Kill,Baby,Kill to be remastered.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 100 REVIEWERon 12 September 2016
I must say Arrow have done a wonderful job with the Blu-ray transfer, and Blood and Black Lace has never looked so good, it gets a huge 5/5.

You get three discs and a great little booklet about the film, plus their are loads of bonus features including Psycho Analsis - a new documentry on Blood and Black Lace and the origins. Which i have seen and its very good. All in all a great release and my personal best.
review image review image review image review image review image review image review image review image
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 10 June 2015
This is a stylish, thrilling film from the great Mario Bava. What makes it even better is Arrow Films wonderfully restored Blu Ray edition. The colouring is fantastic, deep shadows and pastel like colour, really bring this film to life.

The plot is a thriller with nods to Hitchcock. A psycho killer is on the loose taking out models from a fashion studio one by one. Its quite visceral in its killings (for the time) and adult themes are not covered up by censors as you would expect in a American made film (again of the time). The 'giallo' style, invented by Bava, is on full display here.

A highly entertaining films, great acting, amazing photography and direction. Now with Arrows remastered Blu Ray this is a must for any film fans collection.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 April 2017
A psycho-chiller about a sadistic masked assailant killing off models at a fashion house in gruesome ways. Voyeuristic and erotically charged, but
atmospheric and cleverly directed.
Made in 1964 and supposedly a very influential film for later directors .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 May 2017
Simly one of the best giallo ever made with fantastic colours and photography.Top quality blue ray
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 June 2015
Excellent. No issues.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 December 2015
Excellent.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 April 2015
While my favourite Mario Bava films are still the Gothic horrors, this one is quite alright, and looks gorgeous, especially in this new restoration by the fine folk at Arrow. The colours are immensely rich and deep, detail is exquisite, with a pleasingly fine layer of grain that adds texture without subtracting from the clarity, and Bava's trademark tracking shots are more atmospheric than ever.
There are a ton of extras on the disc. Of these I saw Mike Mackenzie's video essay Gender and Giallo - I find his remarks on the giallo's relation to the social/political atmosphere of the time a tad unconvincing, I feel it is a case of drawing too much inference. But he makes some very interesting points on the differences between giallos with male and female protagonists.
In short, if you like this film and can play blu-rays, this is the definitive version of B&BL to get. The version currently available supports both A&B regions so even folks in the USA can buy and play this blu-ray.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 November 2000
At long last an oppurtunity to appreciate Mario Bava's masterpiece in it's complete unexpurgated format. For years the only version of this classic giallo or thriller has been a toned down American market orientated print - now at long last it is there to be enjoyed for the gruesome masterpiece that it is.
Bava, a maestro for simple visuals and effects designed to sock and surprise his audience set the pre-cursor with Blood and Black Lace - which later was to influence Dario Argento, and across the pond Martin Scorcese, Tim Burton and Brian De Palma. At long last Bava, 20 years after his death, is being appreciated, for his talent. Hopefully more of his works will become available to a wider audience to be enjoyed.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 August 2016
Not a horror film fan, I ordered this DVD solely for the del Valle interview with Cameron Mitchell, which I had been trying to get hold of for ages. I was not disappointed - the hour-long interview is brilliant and includes clips from some of his films. This interview, together with the article on Cameron in the DVD booklet, plus the Tim Lucas commentary on the film, are worth the price of the DVD on their own. The film is great quality, but I would thoroughly recommend this special edition DVD to Mitchell fans for the extras alone.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)